× Home Journeys Romanesque in Alsace shell symbol Ways of St. James
shell symbol Way of St. James Alsace
Overview Speyer Speyer - Germersheim Germersheim - Herxheim Herxheim - Klingenmünster Klingenmünster Klingenmünster-Wissembourg Wissembourg Wissembourg - Surbourg Surbourg - Haguenau Haguenau Marienthal Monastery Marienthal - Vendenheim Vendenheim - Strasbourg Strasbourg Strasbourg - Molsheim Molsheim - Barr Barr - Châtenois Châtenois - Kaysersberg Kaysersberg
History and Stories Interesting things What's new ?
  ☰ Menue Drapeau allemand Drapeau français British flag

Haguenau's history began with a moated castle built here by the Staufer Frederick the One-Eyed at the beginning of the 12th century. His successor, Emperor Frederick Barbarossa, held Haguenau in high esteem, chose the castle as the repository for the imperial regalia and elevated Haguenau to the status of a town. The town was badly damaged in the Thirty Years' War and razed to the ground in the 17th century on the orders of Louis XIV. Of the town's fortifications, only 3 of the former 40 towers remain, namely the Fishermen's Tower, the Knights' Tower and the Weissenburg Gate. The oldest bells in France can be found in the Romanesque Church of St George (Saint-Georges). The former chancery (to the town hall) with its astronomical clock now houses the Musée Alsacien.

Haguenau is located in one of the largest closed forest areas, the Haguenau Forest.

The Way of St James took us into the town at the Weissenburg Gate. There, to Gerhard's delight, is a statue of Nepomuk. We visited St Nicholas' Church and walked across the town to St George's Church, from where we followed the Way of St James towards Marienthal.
A description and pictures of the Georgenkirche (St. George's church) can be found here:



Here are some photo impressions of Haguenau:

  • Wissembourg Gate
  • Wissembourg Gate
  • St. John Nepomukat the Wissemburg Gate
  • St. Nicholas
  • Saint Nicholas, interior view
  • Saint Nicholas, Choir
  • St. James
  • Christ in the wine press
  • Hop Hall
  • old mill
  • Alsatian Museum
  • Astronomical clockDas Gebäude stammt aus dem 15. Jh.
  • Former citizens' hospital
  • Fisherman's TowerRemainder of the city fortification
  • Historical MuseumOn the way out of town we passed this neo-Renaissance building.
Mission africain

The further way to Marienthal leads through suburbs and is not very interesting. Here we pass the Collège des Missions Africaines.

× Home Reisen Muschelsymbol Jakobswege
Muschelsymbol Jakobsweg Elsass
Übersicht Speyer Speyer - Germersheim Germersheim - Herxheim Herxheim - Klingenmünster Klingenmünster-Wissembourg Wissembourg Wissembourg - Surbourg Surbourg - Haguenau Haguenau   Georgenkirche Marienthal - Vendenheim Vendenheim - Strassburg Strassburg Strassburg - Molsheim Molsheim - Barr Barr - Châtenois Châtenois - Kaysersberg Kaysersberg
Geschichte(n) Interessantes Was gibt's Neues
  ☰ sélection Drapeau allemand Drapeau français

L'histoire de Haguenau commence avec un château entouré de douves que le Staufer Frédéric le Borgne y fit construire au début du XIIe siècle. Son successeur, l'empereur Frédéric Barberousse, a tenu Haguenau en haute estime, a choisi le château comme lieu de stockage des insignes impériaux et a élevé la ville de Haguenau au rang de ville. Pendant la guerre de Trente Ans, la ville fut gravement endommagée et au XVIIe siècle, elle fut rasée par ordre de Louis XIV. Il ne reste que 3 des 40 anciennes tours des fortifications de la ville, à savoir le Fischerturm, le Ritterturm et le Weißenburger Tor. Dans la Georgenkirche romane (Saint-Georges) on trouve les plus anciennes cloches de France. Le Musée Alsacien est aujourd'hui situé dans l'ancienne chancellerie (à l'hôtel de ville) avec son horloge astronomique.

Haguenau se trouve dans l'une des plus grandes zones forestières fermées, la Forêt de Haguenauer.

Le Chemin de Saint-Jacques nous a conduits dans la ville au Weißenburgertor (porte de Wissembourg). Il y a une statue de Népomuc à la joie de Gerhard. Nous avons visité l'église Nikolauskirche et traversé la ville à pied jusqu'à l'église Georgenkirche, d'où nous avons suivi la Jakobsweg vers Marienthal.

Une description et des photos de l'église de St. George que vous pouvez trouver ici :



Voici quelques impressions photographiques de Haguenau :

  • Porte de Wissembourg
  • Porte de Wissembourg
  • Saint John Nepomukà la porte de Wissembourg
  • Église Saint-Nicolas
  • Eglise Santa Claus, vue intérieure
  • Église Saint-Nicolas, chœur
  • Jacques en pèlerin et tueur mauresque dans les stalles de la chorale
  • Le Christ dans le pressoir
  • hall de saut
  • ancien moulin
  • Musée d'Alsace, ancien cabinet d'avocats
  • Musée alsacien avec horloge astronomiqueLe bâtiment date du 15ème siècle
  • ancien hôpital public
  • tour de pêcheLe reste des fortifications de la ville
  • Musée historiqueEn quittant la ville, nous sommes passés devant ce bâtiment néo-renaissance.
Mission africain

Le chemin qui mène à Marienthal traverse les banlieues et n'est pas très intéressant. Nous passons ici le Collége des Missions Africaines.