× Home Journeys Romanesque in Alsace shell symbol Ways of St. James
shell symbol Way of St. James Alsace
Overview Speyer Speyer - Germersheim Germersheim - Herxheim Herxheim - Klingenmünster Klingenmünster Klingenmünster-Wissembourg Wissembourg Wissembourg - Surbourg Surbourg - Haguenau Haguenau Marienthal Monastery Marienthal - Vendenheim Vendenheim - Strasbourg Strasbourg Strasbourg - Molsheim Molsheim - Barr Barr - Châtenois Châtenois - Kaysersberg Kaysersberg
History and Stories Interesting things What's new ?
  ☰ Menue Drapeau allemand Drapeau français British flag

Haguenau's history began with a moated castle built here by the Staufer Frederick the One-Eyed at the beginning of the 12th century. His successor, Emperor Frederick Barbarossa, held Haguenau in high esteem, chose the castle as the repository for the imperial regalia and elevated Haguenau to the status of a town. The town was badly damaged in the Thirty Years' War and razed to the ground in the 17th century on the orders of Louis XIV. Of the town's fortifications, only 3 of the former 40 towers remain, namely the Fishermen's Tower, the Knights' Tower and the Weissenburg Gate. The oldest bells in France can be found in the Romanesque Church of St George (Saint-Georges). The former chancery (to the town hall) with its astronomical clock now houses the Musée Alsacien.

Haguenau is located in one of the largest closed forest areas, the Haguenau Forest.

The Way of St James took us into the town at the Weissenburg Gate. There, to Gerhard's delight, is a statue of Nepomuk. We visited St Nicholas' Church and walked across the town to St George's Church, from where we followed the Way of St James towards Marienthal.
A description and pictures of the Georgenkirche (St. George's church) can be found here:



Here are some photo impressions of Haguenau:

  • Wissembourg Gate
  • Wissembourg Gate
  • St. John Nepomukat the Wissemburg Gate
  • St. Nicholas
  • Saint Nicholas, interior view
  • Saint Nicholas, Choir
  • St. James
  • Christ in the wine press
  • Hop Hall
  • old mill
  • Alsatian Museum
  • Astronomical clockDas Gebäude stammt aus dem 15. Jh.
  • Former citizens' hospital
  • Fisherman's TowerRemainder of the city fortification
  • Historical MuseumOn the way out of town we passed this neo-Renaissance building.
Mission africain

The further way to Marienthal leads through suburbs and is not very interesting. Here we pass the Collège des Missions Africaines.

× Home Reisen Muschelsymbol Jakobswege
Muschelsymbol Jakobsweg Elsass
Übersicht Speyer Speyer - Germersheim Germersheim - Herxheim Herxheim - Klingenmünster Klingenmünster-Wissembourg Wissembourg Wissembourg - Surbourg Surbourg - Haguenau Haguenau   Georgenkirche Marienthal - Vendenheim Vendenheim - Strassburg Strassburg Strassburg - Molsheim Molsheim - Barr Barr - Châtenois Châtenois - Kaysersberg Kaysersberg
Geschichte(n) Interessantes Was gibt's Neues
  ☰ Auswahl

Die Geschichte Haguenaus begann mit einer Wasser­burg, die der Staufer Friedrich der Einäugi­ge zu Beginn des 12. Jahrhunderts hier errichten ließ. Sein Nachfolger Kaiser Friedrich Barbarossa schätzte Haguenau sehr, wählte die Burg als Aufbewahrungsort für die Reichs­insignien und erhob den Ort Haguenau zur Stadt. Im dreißig­jährigen Krieg wurde die Stadt schwer beschädigt und im 17. Jahrhundert auf Befehl Ludwigs XIV. dem Erdboden gleich gemacht. Von der Stadt­befestigung sind nur noch 3 der ehemals 40 Türme erhalten, nämlich der Fischerturm, der Ritterturm und das Weißen­burger Tor. In der romanischen Georgen­kirche (Saint-Georges) findet man die ältesten Glocken Frankreichs. In der ehemaligen Kanzlei (zum Rathaus) mit seiner astro­nomischen Uhr befindet sich heute das Musée Alsacien.

Haguenau liegt in einem der größten geschlos­senen Waldgebiete, dem Haguenauer Wald.

Der Jakobsweg führte uns beim Weißenburger­tor in die Stadt. Dort befindet sich zur Freude von Gerhard eine Nepomukstatue. Wir besich­tigten die Nikolauskirche und wanderten quer durch die Stadt zur Georgenkirche, um von dort dem Jakobs­weg folgend, Richtung Marienthal zu pilgern.

Eine Beschreibung und Bilder von der Georgenkirche finden Sie hier:



Hier einige Fotoeindrücke von Haguenau:

  • Weissenburger Tor
  • Weissenburger Tor
  • Hl. Johannes Nepomukbeim Weissenburger Tor
  • Sankt Nikolaus
  • Sankt Nikolaus, Innenansicht
  • Sankt Nikolaus, Chor
  • Jakobus als Pilger und Maurentöter im Chorgestühl
  • Christus in der Weinpresse
  • Hopfenhalle
  • alte Mühle
  • Elsässisches Museum, ehemalige Kanzlei
  • Elsässisches Museum mit astronomischer UhrDas Gebäude stammt aus dem 15. Jh.
  • ehem. Bürgerspital
  • FischerturmRest der Stadtbefestigung
  • Historisches MuseumAm Weg aus der Stadt passierten wir dieses Neorenaissance Gebäude

Der weitere Weg nach Marienthal führt durch Vororte und ist nicht sehr interessant. Hier kommen wir am Collège des Missions Africaines vorbei.