× Home Journeys shell symbol Ways of St. James
shell symbol Way of St. James in Alsace
Overview Speyer

.....

Marienthal Marienthal - Vendenheim Vendenheim - Strasbourg Strasbourg Strasbourg - Molsheim Molsheim - Barr Barr - Châtenois Châtenois - Kaysersberg Kaysersberg Kaysersberg - St-Marc St-Marc - Guebwiller Guebwiller Guebwiller - Thann Thann Thann - Bellemagny Bellemagny - Belfort Belfort Belfort - Héricourt
History and Stories Interesting things What's new ?
  ☰ Menue Fahne deutsch Drapeau français British flag
Rue du Sudel forest path

From Guebwiller we marched uphill through the "Rue du Sudel", which soon became a forest path.


cross

At the highest point of our first mountain crossing was this cross.


timber im Wald

JNow it's a brisk downhill walk again to Jungholz.


Jungholz

We cross the village of Jungholz ...


resting place in Jungholz

... and march bravely past the rest area.

In the distance you can already see the pilgrimage site of Thierenbach.


Notre-Dame de Thierenbach

Notre-Dame de Thierenbach


Notre-Dame de Thierenbach is one of the oldest pilgrimage sites in Alsace. According to a report kept in the archives in Colmar, the Marian pilgrimage dates back to the 8th century. The church and monastery, founded by Irish monks from the Benedictine monastery of Murbach, became a Benedictine priory in the 12th century, subject to the abbey of Cluny. Since the French Revolution the monastery no longer exists. Revolution, the monastery no longer exists. The Romanesque monastery church from the 12th century was enlarged in the 14th century. The monastery and church were partially destroyed in the 30 Years' War and rebuilt by the Vorarlberg master builder Peter Thumb in 1717-1723. A new baroque tower was built in 1932.

A miraculous healing was significant for Thierenbach: in 1125, a nobleman of Sulz was cured of a serious illness. In thanksgiving, he gave all his goods to the Mother of God and retired to Cluny to become a monk. Abbot Petrus Venerabilis then established a priory in Thierenbach.

Sculptures of the Romanesque predecessor church are preserved under the entrance to the bell tower. The image of grace, a magnificently carved Pietŕ (around 1350), is venerated as the "Helper of Christians". From the old furnishings we can still see the Samson pulpit from 1510, the statues of Saints: Benedict, Margaret, Barbara, Catherine from the beginning of the 16th century, pictures from the life of Mary from the 18th century and above all many votive tablets on the walls.
As with many places of pilgrimage, there is also a legend about Thierenbach, namely about the naming: children are said to have discovered an object while playing by the stream and exclaimed: "Animal in the stream!", but it was an image of Mary.


1 / 7
Thierenbach
2 / 7
Cloister
3 / 7
Thérèse von Lisieux
4 / 7
5 / 7
Samson Pulpit
6 / 7
Votive plaques
7 / 7

in the wood

Another long stretch of forest follows. It goes uphill and downhill.

We stop briefly at a pilgrim's stele to be inspired by the beautiful text.


Pilgrim Stele

PILGRIM

get up and eat
the way is otherwise too far for you
every day brings you something new
the sun's rays will caress you
and rain will cleanse you
accept it as it is
and remember
that for your soul down here
there is an above

PILGRIM

get up and drink
sometimes you'll get drunk
lose your grip
but praying
you will become a better man

PILGRIM

get up and walk
get up and get up again
your faith is your faithful companion
Go on go on
Above all do not forget
that you did not give yourself
you did not give yourself
one day this pilgrim
this so precious
and probably never forgotten pilgrim.

Ultreďa

Marcel l'Alsacien (Marcel the Alsatian)


way along vinyards

The trail continues along the edge of the forest and along vineyards.


cross

At our lunch stop we find this cross.


Inscription by the cross

The cross comes from the cemetery of the Hartmannswill fortress and is dedicated to all pilgrims of the N.D. de Thierenbach and St. James of Compostela. H.H.H. August 2006


Bunker from world war 1

Bunker from the First World War


On the way through the forest near Wattwiller, you pass a series of concrete bunkers that are silent witnesses to the tragic events of the First World War. Here you circle the Hartmannsweilerkopf, where 30,000 soldiers of both nations, France and Germany, fell within a few weeks. The number of wounded is estimated to be three to four times that number.

The 957 m high Hartmannsweilerkopf dominates the exit of the Burgundian Gate into the Upper Rhine Valley due to its strategically important location. It became the most contested mountain on the Western Front during WW1. The battle for the summit began on 31 December 1914 and lasted until the end of 1915. In the 4 years of war until 1918, the hilltop changed hands 4 times. From about the middle of 1916, both sides reduced their troops; essentially only artillery duels took place. Both sides, "bunkered" in the redoubt trenches, confined themselves to holding their lines.

Today, only the many memorial stones on the heights and the military cemeteries, where the dead of both nations rest, remind us of that murderous struggle with its bloody battles.


Bunker

Another bunker


Weg nach Wattwiller

We leave the forest and walk towards Wattwiller.


Kirche von Wattiller

We pass the church of Wattwiller.


Weg durch Weingärten nach Uffholz

The route leads through vineyards to Uffholtz.


church of Cernay

In the background we see the church of Cernay. However, we only pass through the town on the outskirts


Gruppe bei der Pause in Cernay

Break in Cernay


Weg durch Weinberg

The route continues through forests and vineyards towards Thann.


chapel St. Urban

Chapel of St. Urban in the vineyard outside Thann.

The Rangen is the southernmost vineyard in Alsace. Since 1983, the Rangen has had its own appellation as Alsace Grand Cru, making it one of the 51 potentially best sites in Alsace. A total of 18.81 hectares of vines have been approved.

On an asphalt road (Rue du Vignoble), you walk along the river Thur until you reach the bridge that leads to Rue des Pčlerins and the town.

See next page: Thann

× Home Reisen Jakobswege
Jakobsweg Elsass
Übersicht Speyer

.....

Marienthal Marienthal - Vendenheim Vendenheim - Strassburg Strassburg Strassburg - Molsheim Molsheim - Barr Barr - Châtenois Châtenois - Kaysersberg Kaysersberg St-Marc - Guebwiller Guebwiller Guebwiller - Thann Thann Thann - Bellemagny Bellemagny - Belfort Belfort Belfort - Héricourt
Geschichte(n) Interessantes Was gibt's Neues
 ☰ Auswahl

Von Guebwiller marschierten wir bergauf durch die "Rue du Sudel", die bald zu einem Waldweg wurde.


Am höchsten Punkt unserer ersten Bergüberquerung stand dieses Kreuz.


Jetzt geht es wieder flott bergab nach Jungholz.


Wir durchqueren den Ort Jungholtz ...


... und marschieren tapfer am Rastplatz vorbei.

In der Ferne sieht man schon den Wallfahrtsort Thierenbach.


Notre-Dame de Thierenbach


Notre-Dame de Thierenbach gehört zu den ältesten Wallfahrtsorten des Elsass. Gemäss einem Bericht, der im Archiv in Colmar aufbewahrt wird, geht die Marienwallfahrt bis aufs 8. Jh. zurück. Kirche und Kloster, gegründet von irischen Mönchen des Benediktinerklosters Murbach, wurden im 12. Jh. ein Benediktinerpriorat, das der Abtei Cluny unterstand. Seit der Franz. Revolution besteht das Kloster nicht mehr. Die romanische Klosterkirche aus dem 12. Jh. wurde im 14. Jh. vergrössert. Im 30-jährigen Krieg wurden Kloster und Kirche teilweise zerstört und 1717-1723 vom Vorarlberger Baumeister Peter Thumb neu aufgebaut. 1932 wurde ein neubarocker Turm gebaut.

Eine Wunderheilung ist für Thierenbach von Bedeutung gewesen: 1125 wurde ein adliger Herr von Sulz von schwerer Krankheit geheilt. Zum Dank schenkte er der Gottesmutter alle seine Güter und zog sich nach Cluny zurück, um Mönch zu werden. Abt Petrus Venerabilis richtete darauf in Thierenbach ein Priorat ein.

Skulpturen der romanischen Vorgängerkirche sind unter dem Eingang des Glockenturms erhalten. Das Gnadenbild, eine prachtvoll geschnitzte Pietà (um 1350), wird als „Helferin der Christen“ verehrt. Von der alten Ausstattung sehen wir noch die Samson-Kanzel von 1510, die Statuen der Heiligen: Benedikt, Margaretha, Barbara, Katharina aus dem Beginn des 16. Jh., Bilder aus dem Marienleben aus dem 18. Jh. und vor allem viele Votivtafeln an den Wänden.

Wie bei vielen Wallfahrtsorten rankt sich auch um Thierenbach eine Legende, und zwar um die Namengebung: Kinder sollen beim Spielen am Bach einen Gegenstand entdeckt und ausgerufen haben: „Tier im Bach!“, aber es handelte sich um ein Marienbild.


1 / 7
Thierenbach
2 / 7
Kreuzgang
3 / 7
Thérèse von Lisieux
4 / 7
5 / 7
Samson Kanzel
6 / 7
Votivtafeln
7 / 7

Ein weiteres langes Waldstück folgt. Es geht bergauf und bergab.

Bei einer Pilgerstele machen wir kurz Halt, um uns von dem schönen Text inspirieren zu lassen.


Pilger Stele

PILGER

steh auf und iss
der Weg ist sonst zu weit für Dich
jeder Tag bringt dir Neues
die Sonnenstrahlen werden dich umkosen
und Regen wird dich reinigen
nimm es an wie es ist
und denk daran
dass es für deine Seele hier unten
ein Oben gibt

PILGER

steh auf und trinke
manchmal wirst du betrunken
deinen Halt verlieren
doch betend
wirst du ein besserer Mensch werden

PILGER

steh auf und geh
steh auf und wieder auf
dein Glaube ist dein treuer Begleiter
Geh weiter geh nur weiter
Vergiss vor allem nicht
dass du dir dieses grenzenlose Glück
nicht selbst gegeben hast
eines Tages dieser Pilger
dieser so wertvolle
und wohl nie vergessene Pilger gewesen zu sein

Ultreïa

Marcel l’Alsacien (Marcel, der Elsässer)


Der Weg führt weiter am Waldrand und entlang von Weingärten.


Bei unserem Mittagsrastplatz finden wir dieses Kreuz


Inschrift


Bunker aus dem 1. Weltkrieg

Bunker aus dem ersten Weltkrieg


Auf dem Weg durch den Wald bei Wattwiller kommt man an einer Reihe von Betonbunkern vorbei, die als stumme Zeugen an die tragischen Ereignisse des Ersten Weltkriegs erinnern. Man umrundet hier den Hartmannsweilerkopf, wo innerhalb weniger Wochen 30‘000 Soldaten beider Nationen, Frankreich und Deutschland, gefallen sind. Auf das Drei- bis Vierfache schätzt man die Zahl der Verwundeten.

Der 957 m hohe Hartmannsweilerkopf beherrscht durch seine strategisch wichtige Lage den Ausgang der Burgundischen Pforte ins Oberrheintal. Er wurde im 1. WK zu dem am meisten umkämpften Berg der Westfront. Die Schlacht um den Gipfel begann am 31. Dezember 1914 und dauerte bis Ende 1915. In den 4 Kriegsjahren bis 1918 wechselte die Bergkuppe 4 Mal ihren Besitzer. Ab etwa Mitte 1916 reduzierten beide Seiten ihre Truppen; es fanden im Wesentlichen nur noch Artillerieduelle statt. Beide Seiten, in den Schanzengräben „eingebunkert“, beschränkten sich darauf, ihre Linien zu halten.

Heute erinnern nur noch die vielen Gedenksteine auf den Höhen und die Soldatenfriedhöfe, wo die Toten beider Nationen ruhen, an jenes mörderische Ringen mit seinen blutigen Schlachten.>


Ein weiterer Bunker


Wir verlassen den Wald und wandern Richtung Wattwiller.


Wir passieren die Kirche von Wattwiller.


Durch Weinberge geht es nach Uffholtz.


Im Hintergrund sehen wir die Kirche von Cernay. Den Ort durchqueren wir aber nur am Rande


Pause in Cernay


Weiter geht es durch Wälder und Weinberge Richtung Thann.


Kapelle St. Urban im Weinberg vor Thann.

Auf einer Asphaltstrasse (Rue du Vignoble) geht es am Fluss Thur entlang bis zur Brücke, die in die Rue des Pèlerins und in die Stadt führt.

Siehe nächste Seite: Thann