A beautiful day and a beautiful stage await us. We visit the Romanesque church in Andlau. A separate page is dedicated to it. (Please note the link "St. Peter and Paul"!) The little towns of Dambach and Châtenois also have their own pages!
The first village after Barr is called Mittelbergheim. From here, the route goes over a vineyard to Andlau.
It is uniquely beautiful to walk through the vineyards. Slowly we gain height and the view of the Rhine valley widens.
On the other side of the vineyard, we can already see the silhouette of Andlau.
Roofs of Andlau
Through the city gate we come to the church.
We visited the Romanesque church of St. Peter and Paul.
St. Richardis and her bear are omnipresent here.
Place in Andlau with Richardis Column
The Way of St. James leads out of Andlau through such picturesque alleys.
Soon the path goes steeply uphill in a forest and at a vineyard there is this view. The church of St. Peter and Paul is already quite small.
Once the hill has been crested, the route is almost flat along this picturesque path.
A beautiful wayside cross in the vineyards
After crossing the next hill, you can see Bernardvillé.
One of the many trail signs of the well-marked trail.
We approach the Baumgarten monastery. In the picture you can see the Nothelferkapelle. It is a former Cistercian monastery and today a convent of Trappist nuns. St James is in the entrance area to the monastery.
Devotional room in the monastery
Inner courtyard of the Baumgarten monastery complex
The trail continues through a wooded area and vineyards to the next town.
It's called "Nothalten". The translation of this name means "emergancy stop"
Again and again we come across such beautiful crosses along the path in the vineyards.
Only the two lower Romanesque levels of the 12th century bell tower remain of the church "of the Innocent Saints" in Blienschwiller, which was already mentioned in a document in 1230. The church was unfortunately destroyed by the Armagnacs in 1444. The present church dates from the 18th century.
View back to Blienschwiller
The town gate of Dambach-la-Ville
The way continues over vineyards again and we admire castle ruins.
We take a break in the Taennelkreuz Chapel (dating from 1906). Time for a few songs.
We have reached the city limits of Châtenois, our stage destination. The pictures of Châtenois are on a separate page.