× Home Family Travelling Monasteries
Camino Francés shell symbol
Bayonne Saint Jean - Cizar Minor Cizar Minor - Viana Viana - Logroño Logroño Logroño - Najera Najera - Santo Domingo
Najera - Belorado Pilger
Najera - Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo del Calzada St Domingo del Calzada - Belorado Beldorado - Burgos Burgos-Carrión Carrión de los Condes - Leon Leon - Rabal del Camino Rabanal - Vega de Valcarce Vega de Valcarce - Sarria Sarria - Arzúa Arzúa - Santiago Santiago de Compostela
History and stories Interesting things Whats new?
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

Santo Domingo de la Calzada, with a population of around 6000, is one of the most remarkable towns on the Pilgrim's Way to Santiago, especially because of the chicken coop in the cathedral. The town is named after St. Domingo Garcías, who in the middle of the 11th century worked for the well-being of pilgrims by improving the roads and building a hospice.

The Gothic cathedral was built over a previous Romanesque building and was consecrated in 1106. In the 12th century the cathedral was enlarged to include the tomb of Domingo García. The tomb has a Romanesque alabaster figure under a late Gothic construction, the sides are decorated with miraculous scenes from the life and work of Domingo García. The chicken miracle also attributed to him is honored with a late Gothic chicken cage, which is inhabited by a (periodically changing) chicken couple. The high altar in the Spanish Renaissance style was built into the Romanesque choir around 1540 and was later moved to the side to make the choir visible in its original state. The prominent tower dates from the 18th century and looks very similar to the Cathedral of Santa María la Redonda in Logroño, since it was built by the same constructor (Martín de Beratúa).

Fotos: Gerhard Eichinger

× Home Familie Reisen Jakobswege
Camino Francés
Bayonne Saint Jean - Cizar Minor Cizar Minor - Viana Viana - Logroño Logroño Logroño - Najera Najera - Santo Domingo
Najera - Belorado Pilger
Najera - Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo del Calzada St Domingo del Calzada - Belorado Beldorado - Burgos Burgos-Carrión Carrión de los Condes - Leon Leon - Rabal del Camino Rabanal - Vega de Valcarce Vega de Valcarce - Sarria Sarria - Arzúa Arzúa - Santiago Santiago de Compostela
Geschichte(n) Interessantes Was gibt's Neues
 ☰  Auswahl

Vor allem wegen des Hühnerstalls in der Kathedrale präsentiert sich das rund 6000 Einwohner zählende Santo Domingo de la Calzada als eines der bemerkenswertesten Städtchen am Jakobsweg. Benannt ist der Ort nach dem heiligen Domingo (eig. Domingo Garcías), der sich Mitte des 11. Jh. für das Wohlergehen der Pilger engagierte, indem er die Wege ausbaute und ein Hospitz errichtete.

Die gotische Kathedrale wurde über einem romanischen Vorgängerbau errichtet und 1106 geweiht. Im 12. Jh. wurde die Kathedrale zu der Aufnahme des Grabmals Domingo Garcías erweitert. Das Grabmal liegt eine romanischen Alabasterfigur unter einem spätgotischen Aufbau, die Seiten sind mit Wunderszenen aus dem Leben und Wirken Domingo Garcías verziert. Das ebenfalls ihm zugeschriebene Hühnerwunder wird mit einem spätgotischen Hühnerkäfig gewürdigt, der von einem (periodisch wechselnden) Hühnerpaar bewohnt wird. Der Hochaltar im Stil der spanischen Renaissance wurde um 1540 im romanischen Chor eingebaut und später auf die Seite gesetzt, um den Chor in seiner Ursprünglichkeit sichtbar zu machen. Der markante Turm stammt aus dem 18. Jh. und sieht dem der Kathedrale Santa María la Redonda in Logroño sehr ähnlich, stammt er doch vom selben Baumeister (Martín de Beratúa).

Fotos: Gerhard Eichinger