× Home Family Journeys Ways of St. James
Camino Francés shell symbol
Camino Francés, overview Bayonne Saint Jean - Cizar Minor Cizar Minor - Viana   Eunate Viana - Logroño Logroño   Cathedral   Iglesia Santiago   San Bartolomé   Puerta del Revellin Logroño - Najera Najera - Santo Domingo Santo Domingo de la Calzada St Domingo - Belorado Beldorado - Burgos   San Juan de Ortega Burgos Burgos-Carrión Carrión de los Condes - Leon Leon Leon - Rabanal del Camino Rabanal - Vega de Valcarce Vega de Valcarce - Sarria Sarria - Arzúa Arzúa - Santiago Santiago de Compostela
Stories / History Interesting things What's new ?
  ☰ Menu Flagge Deutsch British flag
Puente sobre El Toroñ

At the exit of Belorado we drove on this bridge over the Toroñ (Puente sobre El Toroñ).


Tosantos

Tosantos


Eremita

Up to the Eremita Virgen de la Peña, the pilgrimage route for pedestrians ran more or less parallel to that for cyclists (on the BU710 road). Then the paths diverged and we took a huge diversions around all the beautiful oak forests to San Juan de Ortega. There we met up with the Camino again.


This is how the area looks to the cyclist after the Hermitage.


Continue on foot through the oak forests of Villafranca de Oca to San Juan de Ortega


San Juan de Ortegawith the chapel San Nicolas.

More about San Juan de Ortega


There is a nice story in the guidebook: according to it, in 1477, Saint San Juan de Ortega freed Queen Isabella, the Catholic, from her infertility after seven childless years of marriage, because she made a pilgrimage to his tomb here.

But said Isabella was not so barren.

She had ten children with her husband, Ferdinand II, King of Aragon. The first child (also Isabella) was born in 1470. One of the children was "Joan the Mad", (*1479; 1555) ∞ Philip I, called the Fair, son of the later Emperor Maximilian I.

This makes Isabella the Catholic the grandmother of Charles V.


After San Juan de Ortega, we drove on the hated N120 through many villages at hellish speed to Burgos. The entrance to Burgos turned out to be a bit difficult until we finally ended up in the Paseo del Espolón.


Paseo del Espolon

Paseo del Espolón, promenade in Burgos along the Rio Arlanzón. It leads to the Arco Santa Maria.

From now on in the avenue we enjoyed the wonderful ride to the city centre of Burgos.


Photos: Gerhard Eichinger

× Accueil Voyages Les chemins de Saint Jacques
Camino Francés Muschelsymbol
Bayonne Saint Jean - Cizur Menor Cizur Menor - Viana   Eunate Viana - Logroño Logroño Logroño - Najera Najera - Santo Domingo Santo Domingo de la Calzada St Domingo - Belorado Beldorado - Burgos   San Juan de Ortega Burgos Burgos - Carrión Carrión de los Condes - Leon Leon - Rabanal del Camino Rabanal - Vega de Valcarce Vega de Valcarce - Sarria Sarria - Arzúa Arzúa - Santiago Santiago de Compostela
Histoire(s) Intéressant Quoi de neuf ?
  ☰ Menu Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag
Puente sobre El Toroñ

À la sortie de Belorado, nous avons emprunté ce pont sur le Toroñ (Puente sobre El Toroñ).


Tosantos

Tosantos


Eremita

Jusqu'à l'ermitage Virgen de la Peña, le chemin de pèlerinage des piétons et celui des cyclistes (sur la route BU710) étaient à peu près parallèles. Ensuite, les chemins se sont séparés et nous avons fait un énorme détour par toutes les belles forêts de chênes jusqu'à San Juan de Ortega. Là, nous avons retrouvé le Camino.


Voilà à quoi ressemble la région après l'Ermitage pour les cyclistes.


Continuer à pied à travers les forêts de chênes de Villafranca de Oca jusqu'à San Juan de Ortega


San Juan de Ortega avec la chapelle San Nicolas.

En savoir plus sur San Juan de Ortega


Le guide touristique raconte une belle histoire : selon lui, Saint Jean d'Ortega a libéré la reine Isabelle la Catholique de sa stérilité en 1477, après sept ans de mariage sans enfant, parce qu'elle est venue en pèlerinage sur sa tombe.

Mais ladite Isabelle n'était pas si stérile que cela.

Avec son époux, Ferdinand II, le roi d'Aragon, elle a eu dix enfants. Le premier enfant (également Isabella) est né dès 1470. L'un des enfants était "Jeanne la Folle", (*1479 ; 1555) ∞ Philippe Ier, dit le Beau, fils du futur empereur Maximilien Ier.

Isabelle la Catholique est donc la grand-mère de Charles Quint.


Après San Juan de Ortega, nous avons emprunté la N120 tant détestée, traversant de nombreux villages à une vitesse infernale, jusqu'à Burgos. L'entrée dans Burgos s'est avérée un peu difficile, jusqu'à ce que nous atterrissions enfin dans le Paseo del Espolón.


Paseo del Espolon

Paseo del Espolón, promenade à Burgos le long du Rio Arlanzón. Elle mène à l'Arco Santa Maria.

À partir de maintenant, nous avons profité de la magnifique promenade jusqu'au centre-ville de Burgos.


Photos : Gerhard Eichinger