× Home Journeys   Countries and Cities Ways of St. James Thoughts on Pilgrimage Görlitz - Leipzig (on foot)
Leipzig - Constance (Bicycle) shell symbol
  Train to Leipzig Leipzig Leipzig- Freyburg   Merseburg Freyburg - Erfurt Erfurt   Naumburg Erfurt - Eisenach   Friedenstein castle, Gotha   Wartburg Eisenach - Tann Tann - Fulda Fulda Fulda - Kreuzberg Kreuzberg - Schweinfurt Schweinfurt - Ochsenfurt
Würzburg Kilian Cathedral Würzburg Marian Chapel Würzburg Neumünster Würzburg Residence Marienberg Fortress
Ochsenfurt - Rothenburg Rothenburg-Wasseralfingen Wasseralfingen - Ulm Ulm Ulm - Biberach Biberach Biberach - Bad Waldsee Bad Waldsee - Constance   Ravensburg Constance
Stories / History Interesting things What's new ?
  ☰ Menu Flagge Deutsch British flag
Neumünster Stift

The church of the Neumünster Abbey (originally a Romanesque basilica of the 11th century) was built over the burial place of St. Kilian and his companions, who were murdered here as missionaries in 689. In 1250, after extensive remodeling, the octagonal bell tower was added, and in 1614 the church was vaulted. After the demolition of the western part in 1711, the baroque dome and the concave facade made of red sandstone were created, which is considered one of the greatest works of the German baroque.

During the air raid on Würzburg on March 16, 1945, the structural substance was preserved. Most of the interior furnishings burned, but there are still some outstanding individual works from the Middle Ages and the Baroque period.


Kilian

Kilian, Kolonat and Totnan, copies of the Riemenschneider wooden figures by Heinrich Schiestl in the Neumünster church, Würzburg

Kilian, of Iro-Scottish descent, came to Würzburg in 686 AD with his companions Kolonat and Totnan, He preached and missionized. In the process, he also converted the pagan Franconian Duke Gozbert and his entire family. He even got Gozbert to separate from his companion Gailana, because she had been married to Gozbert's brother before. The latter, enraged by the separation, hired an assassin and had the bishop murdered along with his companions (ca. 689). Their bodies were buried along with the sacred utensils and the precious Kiliani Gospels.

In 788, in the presence of Charlemagne, his bones were transferred to the cathedral built as a burial place in Würzburg, whose successor building is today's Neumünster with Kilian's tomb.

In the Lusamgärtlein (a small walled courtyard, formerly called Grashof) behind the Neumünster is the grave monument of Walther von der Vogelweide.

1 / 4
Lusamgärtlein
2 / 4
Pieta
3 / 4
former cloister of the Neumünster monastery
4 / 4
Tomb Walter von der Vogelweide

Here is a selection of sights I visited in Würzburg.

shell symbol

× Home Reisen Länder Jakobswege Gedanken zum Pilgern Görlitz - Leipzig (zu Fuss)
Leipzig - Konstanz (Fahrrad)
Leipzig Leipzig- Freyburg Freyburg - Erfurt Erfurt Erfurt - Eisenach Eisenach - Tann Tann - Fulda Fulda Fulda - Kreuzberg Kreuzberg - Schweinfurt Schweinfurt - Ochsenfurt
Würzburg Neumünster Würzburg Marienkapelle Wuerzburg Kiliandom
Ochsenfurt - Rothenburg Rothenburg-Wasseralfingen Wasseralfingen - Ulm Ulm Ulm - Biberach Biberach Biberach - Bad Waldsee Bad Waldsee - Konstanz Konstanz
Geschichte(n) Interessantes Was gibt's Neues
☰ Auswahl
Neumünster Stift

Die Kirche des Neumünster Stifts (ursprünglich eine romanische Basilika des 11. Jahrhunderts) wurde über der Grabstätte des Hl. Kilian und seiner Gefährten errichtet, die hier als Missionare im Jahre 689 ermordet wurden. 1250 wurde nach einer weitgehenden Umgestaltung der acht­eckige Glocken­turm angefügt, 1614 wurde die Kirche eingewölbt. Nach dem Abbruch der Westpartie 1711 entstanden der barocke Kuppelbau und die konkave Fassade aus rotem Sandstein, die als eines der grössten Werke des deutschen Barock gilt.

Beim Luftangriff auf Würzburg am 16. März 1945 blieb die bauliche Substanz erhalten. Die Inneneinrichtung verbrannte grossenteils, doch sind noch einige her­vorragende Einzelwerke aus dem Mittelalter und aus der Barockzeit vorhanden.


Kilian

Kilian, Kolonat und Totnan, Kopien der Riemenschneider-Holzfiguren von Heinrich Schiestl in der Neumünster-Kirche, Würzburg

Kilian, iroschottischer Abstammung kam 686 n. Chr. mit seinen Begleitern Kolonat und Totnan nach Würzburg, Er predigte und missionierte. Dabei bekehrte er auch den heidnischen Franken Herzog Gozbert und dessen gesamte Familie. Er brachte Gozbert sogar dazu, sich von seiner Gefährtin Gailana zu trennen, weil sie vorher mit Gozberts Bruder vermählt gewesen war. Diese heuerte aus Wut über die Trennung einen Mörder an und liess den Bischof mitsamt seinen Gefährten ermorden (ca. 689). Ihre Leichen wurden mitsamt den heiligen Geräten und dem kostbaren Kiliani-Evangeliar verscharrt.

788 wurden seine Gebeine in Anwesenheit von Karl dem Grossen in den als Grablege erbauten Dom in Würzburg überführt, dessen Nach­folgebau das heutige Neumünster mit dem Kilians-Grab ist.

Im Lusamgärtlein hinter dem Neumünster befindet sich das Grabdenkmal von Walther von der Vogelweide.

Hier eine Auswahl an Sehenswürdigkeiten, die ich in Würzburg besucht habe.