× Home Journeys   Countries and Cities Ways of St. James Thoughts on Pilgrimage Görlitz - Leipzig (on foot)
Leipzig - Constance (Bicycle) shell symbol
  Train to Leipzig Leipzig Leipzig- Freyburg   Merseburg Freyburg - Erfurt Erfurt   Naumburg Erfurt - Eisenach   Friedenstein castle, Gotha   Wartburg Eisenach - Tann Tann - Fulda Fulda Fulda - Kreuzberg Kreuzberg - Schweinfurt Schweinfurt - Ochsenfurt
Würzburg Kilian Cathedral Würzburg Marian Chapel Würzburg Neumünster Würzburg Residence Marienberg Fortress
Ochsenfurt - Rothenburg Rothenburg-Wasseralfingen Wasseralfingen - Ulm Ulm Ulm - Biberach Biberach Biberach - Bad Waldsee Bad Waldsee - Constance   Ravensburg Constance
Stories / History Interesting things What's new ?
  ☰ Menu Flagge Deutsch British flag
Kilians Cathedral in Würzburg
×
Kiliansdom, Westfront

My first impression of the interior of the cathedral left me very confused. The simple Romanesque structure of the nave does not fit at all with the Baroque choir richly decorated with white stucco.

In its present basic form and external appearance, St. Kilian's Cathedral dates back to a reconstruction begun by Bishop Bruno (1034-1045) and completed in 1188. With a total length of 105 meters, it is the fourth largest Romanesque church in Germany and a major work of German architecture at the time of the Salian emperors. The famous Baroque architect Balthasar Neumann added the Schönborn Chapel to the northern transept in 1718-1736. The interior of the church underwent drastic changes: the vaulting of the nave and transept at the beginning of the 17th century was followed by stuccoing by Pietro Magno in the style of the Italian High Baroque in 1701-1705.

During the air raid on Würzburg in 1945, the cathedral was completely burned out; one year later, the nave collapsed. Reconstruction lasted until 1967; the stucco in the choir and transept was restored, while the nave received a flat ceiling.

The cathedral still has a wealth of important works of art, including a 13th-century Epiphany group and a Renaissance pulpit. Particularly impressive is the sequence of bishop's tombs that began in 1190. Among the stately row are masterpieces made by Tilman Riemenschneider with images of bishops Rudolf von Scherenberg (d. 1495) and Lorenz von Bibra (d. 1519). To the south is the Gothic cloister and the sepulture chapel with modern stained glass by G. Meistermann.

Epitaph Scherenberg
×
Epitaph Bibra
×

Left picture: Tomb monument of Prince-Bishop Rudolph von Scherenberg. On the right, the epitaph of his successor, Prince-Bishop Lorenz von Bibra, also a work by Riemenschneider.


cloister

Cloister at St. Kilian's Cathedral


Epitaph Bibra
×

A view into the nave. In front the bright choir with white stucco and behind it the sober reconstructed Romanesque nave. Click on the picture to enlarge it!

Merowingian cross

Merovingian cross in the crypt

Here is a selection of sights I visited in Würzburg.

shell symbol

× Home Reisen Länder Jakobswege Gedanken zum Pilgern Görlitz - Leipzig (zu Fuss)
Leipzig - Konstanz (Fahrrad)
Leipzig Leipzig- Freyburg Freyburg - Erfurt Erfurt Erfurt - Eisenach Eisenach - Tann Tann - Fulda Fulda Fulda - Kreuzberg Kreuzberg - Schweinfurt Schweinfurt - Ochsenfurt
Würzburg Neumünster Würzburg Marienkapelle Würzburg Residenz
Ochsenfurt - Rothenburg Rothenburg-Wasseralfingen Wasseralfingen - Ulm Ulm Ulm - Biberach Biberach Biberach - Bad Waldsee Bad Waldsee - Konstanz Konstanz
Geschichte(n) Interessantes Was gibt's Neues
☰ Auswahl

Mein erster Eindruck vom Inneren des Doms hat mich sehr verwirrt. Die schlichte romanische Struktur das Lang­hauses passt so überhaupt nicht zu dem mit weissem Stuck reich verzierten barocken Chor

In seiner heutigen Grundform und äusseren Erscheinung geht der Kiliansdom auf einen von Bischof Bruno (1034-1045) begonnenen Umbau zurück, der 1188 abgeschlossen war. Er ist mit einer Gesamtlänge von 105 Metern die viertgrösste romanische Kirche Deutschlands und ein Hauptwerk der deutschen Baukunst zur Zeit der salischen Kaiser. Der berühmte Barockarchitekt Balthasar Neumann baute 1718-1736 die Schönbornkapelle an das nördliche Querhaus an. Einschneidend waren Veränderungen im Kircheninnern: Auf die Wölbung von Langhaus und Querschiff zu Beginn des 17. Jahrhunderts folgte 1701-1705 die Stuckierung durch Pietro Magno im Stil des italienischen Hochbarock.

Beim Luftangriff auf Würzburg 1945 brannte der Dom vollkommen aus; ein Jahr später stürzte das Langhaus ein. Der Wiederaufbau dauerte bis 1967; in Chor und Querhaus wurde der Stuck restauriert, während das Langhaus eine Flachdecke erhielt.

Noch immer besitzt der Dom eine Fülle bedeutender Kunstwerke, darunter eine Dreikönigsgruppe aus dem 13. Jahrhundert und eine Renaissance-Kanzel. Besonders eindrucksvoll ist die 1190 einsetzende Folge der Bischofsgrabmäler. Unter der stattlichen Reihe befinden sich die von Tilman Riemenschneider gefertigten Meisterwerke mit Abbildern der Bischöfe Rudolf von Scherenberg (gest. 1495) und Lorenz von Bibra (gest. 1519). Südlich befindet sich der gotische Kreuzgang und die Sepulturkapelle mit modernen Glasgemälden von G. Meistermann.

 

Im Dom befindet sich das Grabdenkmal des Fürstbischof Rudolph von Scherenberg. In dreijähriger Arbeit entstand Ende des 15. Jahrhunderts ein Meisterwerk gotischer Detailfreude, für die kein Geringerer als Tilman Riemenschneider bekannt ist.


Kreuzgang beim Kiliansdom


Kilian Dom Innen

Ein Blick in das Kirchenschiff. Vorne der helle mit weissem Stuck versehene Chor und dahinter das nüchterne rekonstruierte romanische Langhaus.

Merowinger Kreuz in der Krypta

Hier eine Auswahl an Sehenswürdigkeiten, die ich in Würzburg besucht habe.