× Home Family Journeys Ways of St. James
Le Puy - Conques shell symbol
Overview Le Puy-en-Velay Le Puy - Saint Privat Saint Privat - Saugues Sauges-Domaine du Sauvage Domaine du S. - Les Estrets Les Estrets - Finieyrols Finieyrols - Aubrac Aubrac - Saint-Côme'd-Olt Saint-Côme-d'Olt Saint-Côme-d'Olt - Estaing Estaing - Senergues Senergues - Conques Conques Conques - Decazeville
further stages shell symbol
Conques - Moissac
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

The village was built in the early Middle Ages around a hospice named after Saints Côme and Damien (Kosmas and Damian). Saint-Côme-d'Olt has a beautiful medieval centre with three town gates. It seems as if time has stood still.

We visited the parish church of Saint-Côme-et-Saint-Damien (16th century) The twisted spire of the church tower is remarkable. The church was built in 1522 and is also dedicated to the holy twin brothers Kosmas and Damian. According to tradition, they both worked as doctors in Pheremma near Kyrrhos (Syria) in the 3rd century. They treated the sick free of charge and thus converted many people to Christianity until they suffered martyrdom.

  • IMGP0713
  • CIMG0570
  • CIMG0571
  • CIMG0576korr
  • CIMG0577
  • CIMG0583
  • Frankreich 041
  • IMGP0715
  • CIMG0579
  • IMGP0832
  • IMGP0717
  • IMGP0718
  • IMGP0719
  • IMGP0720
  • IMGP0721
  • IMGP0723

× Home Familie Reisen Jakobswege
Le Puy - Conques
Übersicht Le Puy-en-Velay Le Puy - Saint Privat Saint Privat - Saugues Sauges-Domaine du Sauvage Domaine du S. - Les Estrets Les Estrets - Finieyrols Finieyrols - Aubrac Aubrac - Saint-Côme'd-Olt Saint-Côme-d'Olt Saint-Côme-d'Olt - Estaing Estaing - Senergues Senergues - Conques Conques Conques - Decazeville
weitere Etappen
Conques - Moissac
  ☰ Auswahl

Der Ort entstand im Frühmittelalter rund um ein Hospiz, das nach den Heiligen Côme und Damien (Kosmas und Damian) genannt wurde. Saint-Côme-d'Olt hat einen wunder­baren mittelalterlichen Altstadtkern mit drei Stadt­toren. Es kommt einem vor, als wäre die Zeit stehen geblieben.

Wir besichtigten die Pfarrkirche Saint-Côme-et-Saint-Damien (16. Jahrhundert). Bemerkens­wert ist die gedrehte Spitze des Turmes der Kirche. Die Kirche wurde 1522 erbaut und ist ebenso den heiligen Zwillings­brüdern Kosmas und Damian geweiht . Die beiden wirkten der Überlieferung nach im 3. Jh. als Ärzte in Pheremma bei Kyrrhos (Syrien). Sie behan­delten die Kranken kosten­los und bekehrten dadurch viele Menschen zum Christentum, bis sie das Martyrium erlitten.

  • IMGP0713
  • CIMG0570
  • CIMG0571
  • CIMG0576korr
  • CIMG0577
  • CIMG0583
  • Frankreich 041
  • IMGP0715
  • CIMG0579
  • IMGP0832
  • IMGP0717
  • IMGP0718
  • IMGP0719
  • IMGP0720
  • IMGP0721
  • IMGP0723