× Home Travel   Countries and Cities
Indochina
Indochina
Laos
Luang Prabang On the Mekong Vientiane
Cambodia
Phnom Penh Royal Palace Phnom Penh National Museum Udong On the road in Cambodia Angkor Thom Tha Prohm Temple Banteay Srei Temple Angkor Wat
Vietnam
Saigon Dinnercruise on Saigon River Power line chaos Halong Bay Tempel of Literature, Hanoi Walk in Hanoi Imperial City of Hue Hoi An
  ☰ Menu Flagge Deutsch British flag

From the early 17th century to the mid-19th century, this was the last centre of power of the Ankor dynasty, before the capital was moved to Phom Penh in 1866. Many historic buildings were destroyed by the Khmer Rouge in the 1970s. At the foot of the hill around which the old Khmer capital once sprawled stands the large temple monastery of Wat Udong.

Temple Wat Udong large Buddha statue Buddha sitting on a snake Wat Santevorn Figure in the pond Elephant Temple pond Assembly of the Gods A lion in front of the entrance to the temple The snake guards the staircase Stupa View of the pond from the temple View from the temple to the hill Phnom Udong Monastery building fascinating terraced staircases Detail of the door View from the temple to the entrance gate Marble Buddha inside Wat Santevorn Wall frescoes with the life of Buddha The monk and our guide

All that remains of the great past are the stupas, some of which have been beautifully restored, towering on Phnom Udong hill, visible from afar.

The first stupa is the tomb of King Monivong (reigned 1927-41). The second is said to be the tomb of King Ang Duog (reigned 1845-59). However, there is also a stupa of him next to the Silver Pagoda in Phnom Penh. The third stupa is the tomb of King Soryopor (reigned before 1618). The fourth stupa supposedly contains relics of Buddha.

Stupa on the way up There are about 500 steps to climb at 32 degrees Celsius on the upper platform Upper stupas View of Udong Stupa Chet Dey Mak Proum, Tomb of King Monivong Stupa Tray Troeng contains the urn with the ashes of King Chey Chetar II (1619 - 1625). Detail of the stupa with the elephants This newer stupa contains relics of Buddha brought here from Phonm Penh view lightbox for MACby VisualLightBox.com v5.9

Vom frühen 17. Jh. bis Mitte des 19. Jh. befand sich hier das letzte Machtzentrum der Ankor Dynastie, bevor die Hauptstadt im Jahr 1866 nach Phom Penh verlegt wurde. Viele historische Gebäude wurden in den 1970er Jahren von den Roten Khmer zerstört. Am Fuss des Hügels, um dem sich einst die alte Khmer Hauptstadt ausbreitete, steht heute das grosse Tempelkloster Wat Udong.

Tempel Wat Udong grosse Buddha Statue Buddha sitzt auf einer Schlange Wat Santevorn Figur im Teich Elephant Tempel-Teich Götterversammlung Ein Löwe vor dem Aufgang zum Tempel Die Schlange bewacht den Treppenaufgang Stupa Blick von Tempel auf den Teich Blick vom Tempel auf den Hügel Phnom Udong Klostergebäude faszinierende terrassenförmige Aufgänge Detail der Türe Blick vom Tempel zum Eingangstor Marmor-Buddha im Inneren von Wat Santevorn Wandfresken mit dem Leben von Buddha Der Mönch und unser Reiseleiter

Aus der grossen Vergangenheit blieben allein die zum Teil wunderschön restaurierten Stupas erhalten, die auf dem weithin sichtbaren Hügel Phnom Udong aufragen.

Die erste Stupa ist das Grab von König Monivong (regierte 1927–41). Die zweite soll das Grab von König Ang Duog (regierte 1845–59) sein. Allerdings gibt es auch eine Stupa von ihm neben der Silber Pagode in Phnom Penh. Die dritte Stupa ist das Grab von König Soryopor (regierte vor 1618). Die vierte Stupa enthält angeblich Reliquien von Buddha.

Stupa am Weg nach oben an die 500 Stufen bei 32 Grad sind zu bewältigen auf der oberen Plattform obere Stupas Blick auf Udong Stupa Chet Dey Mak Proum, Grabmal vom König Monivong Stupa Tray Troeng enthält die Urne mit der Asche des Königs Chey Chetar II (1619 - 1625) Detail der Stupa mit den Elefanten Diese neuere Stupa enthält Reliquien von Buddha, die aus Phonm Penh hierher gebracht wurden Aussicht jquery visual lightboxby VisualLightBox.com v6.0