× Home Journeys Monasteries Ways of St. James
Romanesque
Romanesque
Romanesque in France
Cluny Alsace Le Puy Conques Moissac Saint Pierre / Vienne Notre Dame / Yenne
Monasteries France
Marienthal, Alsace Cluny, Burgund Moissac Saint Philibert / Tournus
History and stories Whats new?
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

In the heart of Burgundy on the Saône in the city of Tournus we visited the Romanesque church of Saint Philibert. Originally there was a Benedictine monastery here. It was founded in 875 as Saint Valérien monastery (by Charles the Bald) because Saint Valerian was buried here on this site.

He had suffered martyrdom for the faith in Christ in 178.

The monks came from the monastery of Noirmoutier. There they were expelled by the Normans and brought the relics of Saint Philibert. The relics had already undergone a long journey, with stops in Déas - today's Saint Philibert de Grand-Lieu - around 819, then in Cunault - today's Chênehutte-Trèves-Cunault -, then in the Neuville-de-Poitou area, then in Auvergne. In 875, they finally reached the convent of Saint-Valérien in Tournus, which was later named after Saint-Philibert

The existing church of Tournus was enlarged for the new monastery. However, in 937 the monastery and the church were destroyed and rebuilt after 949. In 1007, large parts of the monastery burned down, and the monastery church was rebuilt around 1020. In 1120 the new church building was consecrated by Pope Calixt II.

In 1627 the Benedictine monastery was dissolved and replaced by a canonical monastery. This was also dissolved in 1785. In 1790 the property fell to the town of Tournus due to the French Revolution (1789-1799). From 1802 on, services could be held in the church again. In 1841-1851 the church was restored.

Saint Philibert, Front

Saint Philibert, Blick vom Narthex ins Langhaus

From the dark narthex ( antechurch) with its thick, solid columns, the visitor steps into the bright nave. It is certain that there were frescoes everywhere originally. Modest remains are visible.

St. Philibert, Innenaufnahme

The simple nave. The transversely placed barrel vaults above the main nave are interesting.
The side naves are covered by cross vaults..

Tonnengewölbe

Since the Middle Ages, the Madonna Notre Dame la Brune (the Brown Madonna) has been venerated in the southern aisle.

Madonna Notre Dame la Brune

The statue is made of cedar wood and dates from the early 12th century. As usual in the Romanesque period, Mary presents her son, who looks like a small adult.

Mosaik aus dem 12. Jh.

It was not until the 20th century that mosaics were discovered in the choir gallery. They date back to the 12th century and show signs of the zodiac and month works.

Reliquienschrein des hl. Philibert

Philibert was the son of a high royal court official Filibald. He grew up in Paris at the court of King Scrooge I and became a monk, then Abbot in Rebais. Because of disagreements in the monastery, he resigned this office and travelled to monasteries such as Luxeuil - today's Luxeuil-les-Bains - and Bobbio, which were ordered according to the Rule of Columban, as well as other monasteries in Gaul, Burgundy and Italy. In 655 he founded the monastery of Jumièges on land donated to him by Clovis II, then the nunnery of Pavilly, with the support of the Bishop of Rouen, Audeoenus, and Queen Bathilde. After a quarrel with Ebroin, the Housemaster of Neustria, he was exiled and spent his exile with Bishop Ansoald of Poitiers. In exile, he founded the monastery of Noirmoutier on the island of Heriou on the Atlantic coast in 677. After Ebroin's death, he returned to Jumièges and reconciled with Audoenus. Around 684, he founded the Montivilliers Monastery to the west of Pavilly and the Monastery of St Benoît in Quinçay near Poitiers.

The veneration of Saint Philibert spread quite quickly after his death in 685.

Quelle: ökum. Heiligenlexikon

St. Michaelgewölbe
×

Above the forechurch there is the chapel dedicated to the archangel Michael.


St. Michaelgewölbe
×
Gewölbe

The room has three naves and is 12 m high in the central nave. The three naves are vaulted by longitudinal barrels. Since the installation of the organ in the 17th century, the view into the church has been obstructed. Only small stained glass windows allow a view into the vault of Saint Philibert.


romanisches Kopfrelief Gerlannus

On the arcade leading to the main church there is a relief figure of a bearded man with a hammer, next to it an inscription plate with the name of Gerlannus, who is interpreted as the abbot or master builder of the church. The text of the damaged inscription probably reads: "Gerlannus Abate Isto Moneteium e ile". With another relief plate of the arch with a face, the figure is one of the oldest surviving works of Romanesque architectural sculpture.


Kreuzgang und die Kirche Saint Philibert

The cloister was unfortunately largely destroyed. But the rest is also impressive.

romanischer Kreuzgang von Saint Philibert

× Home Reisen Jakobswege
Romanik
Romanik
Romanik in Frankreich
Cluny Elsass Le Puy Conques Moissac Saint Pierre / Vienne Notre Dame / Yenne
Klöster Frankreich
Marienthal, Elsass Cluny, Burgund Moissac Saint Philibert / Tournus
Geschichte(n) Was gibt's Neues
  ☰ Auswahl

Im Herzen von Burgund an der Saône in der Stadt Tournus besuchten wir die romanische Kirche Saint Philibert. Ursprünglich war hier ein Benediktiner­kloster. Es wurde 875 als Saint Valérien Kloster gegründet (von Karl dem Kahlen), weil der Heilige Valerian hier an dieser Stelle bestattet war. Er hatte im Jahre 178 das Martyrium für den Christusglauben erlitten.

Die Mönche kamen vom Kloster Noirmoutier. Sie wurden dort von den Normannen vertrieben und brachten die Reliquien des Heiligen Saint Philibert mit. Die Reliquien hatten schon eine grössere Reise hinter sich mit den Stationen: um 819 in Déas - das heutige Saint-Philbert-de-Grand-Lieu - , dann in Cunault - das heutige Chênehutte-Trèves-Cunault -, weiter in der Gegend von Neuville-de-Poitou, dann in der Auvergne. Endlich gelangten sie im Jahre 875 ins Kloster Saint-Valérien in Tournus, das später nach Saint-Philibert benannt wurde.

Die bestehende Kirche von Tournus wurde damals für das neue Kloster vergrößert. 937 wurden das Kloster und die Kirche jedoch zerstört und nach 949 wiedererbaut. Im Jahr 1007 brannten große Teile des Klosters nieder, die Klosterkirche wurde etwa ab 1020 erneut errichtet. 1120 wurde das neue Kirchengebäude durch Papst Calixt II. geweiht.

1627 wurde das Benediktinerkloster aufgelöst und durch ein Kanoniker-Stift ersetzt. Dieses wurde 1785 ebenfalls aufgelöst. 1790 fiel der Besitz durch die Französische Revolution (17891799) an die Stadt Tournus. Ab 1802 konnten in der Kirche wieder Gottesdienste abgehalten werden. 18411851 wurde die Kirche restauriert.

Saint Philibert, Front

Saint Philibert, Blick vom Narthex ins Langhaus

Vom finsteren Narthex (Vorkirche) mit den dicken, festen Säulen tritt der Besucher in das helle Langhaus. Sicher waren hier ursprünglich überall Fresken. Bescheidene Überreste sind erkennbar.

St. Philibert, Innenaufnahme

Das schlichte Langhaus. Interessant sind die quer gestellten Tonnengewölbe über dem Hauptschiff.
Die Seitenschiffe sind von Kreuzgewölben gedeckt.

Tonnengewölbe

 Seit dem Mittelalter wird im südlichen Seitenschiff die Madonna Notre Dame la Brune (die braune Madonna) verehrt.

Madonna Notre Dame la Brune

Die Statue ist aus Zedernholz und stammt aus dem frühen 12. Jahrhundert. Wie in der Romanik üblich präsentiert Maria ihren Sohn, der wie ein kleiner Erwachsener aussieht.

Mosaik aus dem 12. Jh.

Erst im 20. Jahrhundert wurden im Chorumgang Mosaike entdeckten. Sie stammen aus dem 12. Jahrhundert und zeigen Tierkreiszeichen und Monatsarbeiten.

Reliquienschrein des hl. Philibert

Philibert war der Sohn des Bischofs und ehemaligen königlichen Hofbeamten Filibald aus einer romanischen Familie. Er wuchs in Paris am Hof von König Dagobert I. auf und wurde Mönch, dann Abt in Rebais. Wegen Unstimmigkeiten im Kloster legte er dieses Amt nieder und bereiste Klöster wie Luxeuil - das heutige Luxeuil-les-Bains - und Bobbio, die nach der Regel des Kolumban geordnet waren, sowie andere Klöster in Gallien, Burgund und Italien. Er gründete 655 das Kloster Jumièges auf ihm von Chlodwig II. geschenktem Land, dann das Nonnenkloster Pavilly, wobei er vom Bischof von Rouen, Audeoenus, und von Königin Bathilde gefördert wurde. Nach einem Zerwürfnis mit Ebroin, dem Hausmeier von Neustrien, wurde er verbannt und verbrachte sein Exil bei Bischof Ansoald von Poitiers. In der Verbannung gründete er 677 das Kloster Noirmoutier auf der Insel Heriou an der Atlantikküste. Nach Ebroins Tod kehrte er nach Jumièges zurück und söhnte sich mit Audoenus aus. Um 684 gründete er das Kloster Montivilliers westlich von Pavilly und das Kloster St. Benoît in Quinçay bei Poitiers.

Die Verehrung von Saint Philibert verbreitete sich nach seinem Tod im Jahre 685 ziemlich schnell.

Quelle: ökum. Heiligenlexikon

St. Michaelgewölbe
×

Über der Vorkirche befindet sich die dem Erzengel Michael geweihte Kapelle.


St. Michaelgewölbe
×

Der Raum ist dreischiffig angelegt und im Mittelschiff 12 m hoch. Die drei Schiffe sind von Längstonnen überwölbt. Seit der Anbringung der Orgel im 17. Jh. ist der Durchblick in die Kirche verstellt. Nur kleine Glasfenster erlauben einen Blick ins Gewölbe von Saint Philibert.


romanisches Kopfrelief Gerlannus

An der Arkade zur Hauptkirche befindet sich eine Relief­figur eines bärtigen Mannes mit einem Hammer, daneben eine Inschrift­platte mit dem Namen des Gerlannus, der als Abt oder Baumeister der Kirche gedeutet wird. Der Text der beschädigten Inschrift lautet wahrscheinlich: "Gerlannus Abate Isto Moneteium e ile". Mit einer weiteren Relief­platte des Bogens mit einem Gesicht gehört die Figur zu den ältesten erhaltenen Werken romanischer Bauplastik.


Kreuzgang und die Kirche Saint Philibert

Der Kreuzgang wurde leider grossteils zerstört. Doch auch der Rest ist beeindruckend.

romanischer Kreuzgang von Saint Philibert