× Home Journeys Monasteries Ways of St. James
Romanesque
Romanesque
Romanesque in France
Cluny Alsace Le Puy Conques Moissac Saint Pierre / Vienne Notre Dame / Yenne
Monasteries France
Marienthal, Alsace Cluny, Burgund Moissac Saint Philibert / Tournus
History and stories Whats new?
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

In the heart of Burgundy on the Saône in the city of Tournus we visited the Romanesque church of Saint Philibert. Originally there was a Benedictine monastery here. It was founded in 875 as Saint Valérien monastery (by Charles the Bald) because Saint Valerian was buried here on this site.

He had suffered martyrdom for the faith in Christ in 178.

The monks came from the monastery of Noirmoutier. There they were expelled by the Normans and brought the relics of Saint Philibert. The relics had already undergone a long journey, with stops in Déas - today's Saint Philibert de Grand-Lieu - around 819, then in Cunault - today's Chênehutte-Trèves-Cunault -, then in the Neuville-de-Poitou area, then in Auvergne. In 875, they finally reached the convent of Saint-Valérien in Tournus, which was later named after Saint-Philibert

The existing church of Tournus was enlarged for the new monastery. However, in 937 the monastery and the church were destroyed and rebuilt after 949. In 1007, large parts of the monastery burned down, and the monastery church was rebuilt around 1020. In 1120 the new church building was consecrated by Pope Calixt II.

In 1627 the Benedictine monastery was dissolved and replaced by a canonical monastery. This was also dissolved in 1785. In 1790 the property fell to the town of Tournus due to the French Revolution (1789-1799). From 1802 on, services could be held in the church again. In 1841-1851 the church was restored.

Saint Philibert, Front

Saint Philibert, Blick vom Narthex ins Langhaus

From the dark narthex ( antechurch) with its thick, solid columns, the visitor steps into the bright nave. It is certain that there were frescoes everywhere originally. Modest remains are visible.

St. Philibert, Innenaufnahme

The simple nave. The transversely placed barrel vaults above the main nave are interesting.
The side naves are covered by cross vaults..

Tonnengewölbe

Since the Middle Ages, the Madonna Notre Dame la Brune (the Brown Madonna) has been venerated in the southern aisle.

Madonna Notre Dame la Brune

The statue is made of cedar wood and dates from the early 12th century. As usual in the Romanesque period, Mary presents her son, who looks like a small adult.

Mosaik aus dem 12. Jh.

It was not until the 20th century that mosaics were discovered in the choir gallery. They date back to the 12th century and show signs of the zodiac and month works.

Reliquienschrein des hl. Philibert

Philibert was the son of a high royal court official Filibald. He grew up in Paris at the court of King Scrooge I and became a monk, then Abbot in Rebais. Because of disagreements in the monastery, he resigned this office and travelled to monasteries such as Luxeuil - today's Luxeuil-les-Bains - and Bobbio, which were ordered according to the Rule of Columban, as well as other monasteries in Gaul, Burgundy and Italy. In 655 he founded the monastery of Jumièges on land donated to him by Clovis II, then the nunnery of Pavilly, with the support of the Bishop of Rouen, Audeoenus, and Queen Bathilde. After a quarrel with Ebroin, the Housemaster of Neustria, he was exiled and spent his exile with Bishop Ansoald of Poitiers. In exile, he founded the monastery of Noirmoutier on the island of Heriou on the Atlantic coast in 677. After Ebroin's death, he returned to Jumièges and reconciled with Audoenus. Around 684, he founded the Montivilliers Monastery to the west of Pavilly and the Monastery of St Benoît in Quinçay near Poitiers.

The veneration of Saint Philibert spread quite quickly after his death in 685.

Quelle: ökum. Heiligenlexikon

St. Michaelgewölbe
×

Above the forechurch there is the chapel dedicated to the archangel Michael.


St. Michaelgewölbe
×
Gewölbe

The room has three naves and is 12 m high in the central nave. The three naves are vaulted by longitudinal barrels. Since the installation of the organ in the 17th century, the view into the church has been obstructed. Only small stained glass windows allow a view into the vault of Saint Philibert.


romanisches Kopfrelief Gerlannus

On the arcade leading to the main church there is a relief figure of a bearded man with a hammer, next to it an inscription plate with the name of Gerlannus, who is interpreted as the abbot or master builder of the church. The text of the damaged inscription probably reads: "Gerlannus Abate Isto Moneteium e ile". With another relief plate of the arch with a face, the figure is one of the oldest surviving works of Romanesque architectural sculpture.


Kreuzgang und die Kirche Saint Philibert

The cloister was unfortunately largely destroyed. But the rest is also impressive.

romanischer Kreuzgang von Saint Philibert

× Home monastères voyages symbole coquille chemins de Saint-Jacques Roman
L'art roman en France
Cluny Roman en Alsace Le Puy Conques Moissac Saint Pierre / Vienne Notre Dame / Yenne
Monasteries France
Marienthal, Alsace Cluny, Burgund Moissac Saint Philibert / Tournus
histoires points intéressants Quoi de neuf ?
  ☰ Sélection Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

Au cœur de la Bourgogne, au Saône de la ville de Tournus, nous avons visité l'église romane Saint Philibert. A l'origine, il y avait ici un monastère bénédictin. Il a été fondé en 875 comme monastère de Saint Valérien (par Charles le Chauve) car Saint Valérien a été enterré ici sur ce site. Il avait souffert le martyre pour la foi en Christ en 178.

Les moines venaient du monastère de Noirmoutier. Ils y furent expulsés par les Normands et y apportèrent les reliques de Saint Philibert. Les reliques avaient déjà fait un long voyage, avec des arrêts à Déas - l'actuel Saint Philibert de Grand-Lieu - vers 819, puis à Cunault - l'actuel Chênehutte-Trèves-Cunault -, puis dans la région de Neuville-de-Poitou, puis en Auvergne. Enfin, en 875, ils arrivent au couvent de Saint-Valérien à Tournus, qui portera plus tard le nom de Saint-Philibert.

L'église existante de Tournus a été agrandie pour le nouveau monastère. Cependant, en 937, le monastère et l'église ont été détruits et reconstruits après 949. En 1007, de grandes parties du monastère ont brûlé, et l'église du monastère a été reconstruite vers 1020. En 1120, le nouveau bâtiment de l'église a été consacré par le pape Calixt II.

En 1627, le monastère bénédictin a été dissous et remplacé par un monastère canonique. Celle-ci a également été dissoute en 1785. En 1790, la propriété tombe aux mains de la ville de Tournus à la suite de la Révolution française (1789-1799). À partir de 1802, les services religieux peuvent à nouveau être organisés dans l'église. En 1841-1851, l'église a été restaurée.

Saint Philibert, Front

Saint Philibert, Blick vom Narthex ins Langhaus

Du sombre narthex avec ses colonnes épaisses et solides, le visiteur entre dans la nef lumineuse. A l'origine, il y avait probablement des fresques partout. Les restes modestes sont reconnaissables.

St. Philibert, Innenaufnahme

La nef simple. Les voûtes en berceau transversales au-dessus de la nef principale sont intéressantes.
Les nefs latérales sont couvertes par des voûtes croisées.

Tonnengewölbe

Depuis le Moyen Âge, la Madone Notre Dame la Brune est vénérée dans le bas-côté sud

Madonna Notre Dame la Brune

La statue est en bois de cèdre et date du début du XIIe siècle. Comme d'habitude à l'époque romane, Marie présente son fils, qui ressemble à un petit adulte.

Mosaik aus dem 12. Jh.

Ce n'est qu'au XXe siècle que des mosaïques ont été découvertes dans la galerie du chœur. Elles remontent au XIIe siècle et montrent les signes du zodiaque et les travaux des mois.

Reliquienschrein des hl. Philibert

Philibert était le fils d'un fonctionnaire de la haute cour royale, Filibald. Il grandit à Paris à la cour du roi Scrooge Ier et devient moine, puis abbé à Rebais. En raison de désaccords au sein du monastère, il démissionne de cette fonction et se rend dans des monastères tels que Luxeuil - aujourd'hui Luxeuil-les-Bains - et Bobbio, qui sont ordonnés selon la règle de Columban, ainsi que dans d'autres monastères en Gaule, en Bourgogne et en Italie. En 655, il fonde le monastère de Jumièges sur un terrain qui lui a été donné par Clovis II, puis le couvent de Pavilly, avec le soutien de l'évêque de Rouen, d'Audéo et de la reine Bathilde. Après une querelle avec Ebroin, le maître de maison de la Neustria, il est exilé et passe son exil chez l'évêque Ansoald de Poitiers. En exil, il fonde en 677 le monastère de Noirmoutier sur l'île d'Hériou, sur la côte atlantique. Après la mort d'Ebroin, il retourne à Jumièges et se réconcilie avec Audoenus. Vers 684, il fonde le monastère de Montivilliers à l'ouest de Pavilly et le monastère de Saint-Benoît à Quinçay près de Poitiers.

La vénération de saint Philibert s'est répandue assez rapidement après sa mort en 685.

Source: Encyclopaedia of Ecumenical Saints

St. Michaelgewölbe
×

Au-dessus de l'antichurch se trouve la chapelle dédiée à l'archange Michel.


St. Michaelgewölbe
×
Gewölbe

La salle a trois nefs et a une hauteur de 12 m dans la nef centrale. Les trois nefs sont voûtées par des tonneaux longitudinaux. Depuis l'installation de l'orgue au XVIIe siècle, la vue dans l'église a été obstruée. Seules de petites baies vitrées permettent de voir la voûte de Saint Philibert.


romanisches Kopfrelief Gerlannus

Sous l'arcade de l'église principale se trouve un relief représentant un homme barbu avec un marteau, à côté duquel se trouve une plaque d'inscription avec le nom de Gerlannus, qui est interprété comme l'abbé ou le maître d'œuvre de l'église. Le texte de l'inscription endommagée se lit probablement comme suit : "Gerlannus Abate Isto Moneteium e ile". Avec une autre plaque en relief de l'arche avec un visage, la figure est l'une des plus anciennes œuvres conservées de la sculpture architecturale romane.


Kreuzgang und die Kirche Saint Philibert

Le cloître a malheureusement été en grande partie détruit. Mais le reste est également impressionnant.

romanischer Kreuzgang von Saint Philibert