× Home Journeys Countries and Cities symbole coquille Ways of St. James
France
Albi Conques Étretat, Normandy Giverny, Normandy Honfleur, Normandy Alsace Le Havre, Normandy Le Puy Lille Lyon Moissac Paris Rive Gauge Paris Seine Rouen, Normandy Saint Philibert / Tournus
Stories / History What's new ? Interesting things
  ☰ Menu Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

Étretat is a French commune and seaside resort in the Seine-Maritime department in the Normandy region. It is very popular with tourists. Étretat is best known for the steep cliffs with their extraordinary rock formations that frame the town on both sides. The cliffs are essentially made of white chalk and flint.

Etretat

Tour of the city

The Manoir de la Salamandre is located in the main street near the market hall. It is one of the oldest buildings in the town. It originally stood at 50 Grande rue in Lisieux. It was dismantled there in 1889 and rebuilt in Étretat and is now a hotel.

The Clos Lupin in the rue Guy de Maupassant was the home and working retreat of Maurice Leblanc. The writer bought the 19th century Anglo-Norman style villa in 1918 and lived there for 20 years. Today it houses the museum Le Clos Arsène Lupin, Maison Maurice Leblanc.

IMG_8734 Markthalle IMG_8744 IMG_8766 Manoir de la Salamandre IMG_8768 IMG_8769 IMG_8770 Le Clos Arséne Lupin, Maison Maurice Leblanc lightbox for MACby VisualLightBox.com v6.1

Chalk cliffs

IMG_8745 IMG_8748 IMG_8753 IMG_8754 IMG_8755 IMG_8759 IMG_8761 IMG_8763 IMG_8765 lightbox for MACby VisualLightBox.com v6.1

× Accueil Voyages   Pays et villes symbole coquille Les chemins de Saint Jacques
France
Albi Conques Roman en Alsace Étretat Giverny, Normandie Honfleur He Havre, Normandie Le Puy Lille Lyon Moissac Paris, Rive Gauge Paris, Seine Rouen Saint Philibert / Tournus Strasbourg
Histoire(s) Intéressant Quoi de neuf ?
  ☰ Menu Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

Étretat est une commune française et une station balnéaire du département de la Seine-Maritime, dans la région Normandie. Elle est très appréciée des touristes. Étretat est surtout connue pour ses falaises abruptes aux formations rocheuses exceptionnelles qui encadrent la ville de part et d'autre. Les falaises sont essentiellement composées de craie blanche et de silex.

Etretat

Tour de la ville

Le Manoir de la Salamandre est situé dans la rue principale, près du marché couvert. Il fait partie des plus anciens bâtiments du village. A l'origine, le bâtiment se trouvait à Lisieux, au numéro 50 de la Grande Rue. Il y fut démonté en 1889 et reconstruit à Étretat, où il est aujourd'hui un hôtel.

Le Clos Lupin, rue Guy de Maupassant, était la maison d'habitation et le refuge de travail de Maurice Leblanc. L'écrivain a acheté en 1918 cette villa de style anglo-normand construite au XIXe siècle et y a vécu pendant 20 ans. Aujourd'hui, elle abrite le musée Le Clos Arsène Lupin, Maison Maurice Leblanc.

IMG_8734 Markthalle IMG_8744 IMG_8766 Manoir de la Salamandre IMG_8768 IMG_8769 IMG_8770 Le Clos Arséne Lupin, Maison Maurice Leblanc lightbox for MACby VisualLightBox.com v6.1

Les falaises de craie

IMG_8745 IMG_8748 IMG_8753 IMG_8754 IMG_8755 IMG_8759 IMG_8761 IMG_8763 IMG_8765 lightbox for MACby VisualLightBox.com v6.1