× Home Journeys   Countries and Cities Ways of St. James Ways of St. James Germany Görlitz - Leipzig (on foot)
Erfurt
Michaelis church Cathedral and Severi church Augustiner monastery Hotel Nikolai and Tower Kaufmanns church Wenigemarkt Krämer bridge Junkersand Fischmarkt Prediger church Marktstrasse
In Bach's footsteps
Overview Weimar Eisenach Johann Sebastian Bach
Stories / History Interesting things What's new ?
  ☰ Menu Flagge Deutsch British flag
Marien-Cathedral und St. Severi church

In Erfurt we visit many carefully restored Renaissance and half-timbered houses which, together with other buildings and the famous Krämerbrücke, form one of the best-preserved medieval city centres in Germany. Once 36 parish churches, chapels and 15 monasteries and convents gave the city the nicknames "Thuringian Rome" and "Erfordia turrita" (tower-crowned Erfurt). For centuries, Erfurt's silhouette has been defined by the ensemble of two mighty sacred buildings: St. Mary's Cathedral and the Church of St. Severi.

Erfurt is criss-crossed by small rivers such as the Gera, the Bergstrom and the Walkstrom. Our hotel was located directly on the Gera near the Nikolai Tower.

Almost all the sights in Erfurt's old town are documented with pictures (yellow markings). Just move the mouse over the map. In some cases a click leads to further pictures - see also navigation bar on the left.

Text

Karte von Erfurt

Erfurt, the Thuringian state metropolis, was founded by Bonifacius in 742 and grew into a powerful trading and university city at the intersection of ancient trade routes in the Middle Ages. Its cultural life attracted great personalities such as Luther (Augustinian monastery), Adam Ries, Goethe, Schiller, Herder, Wieland, Humboldt, Czar Alexander and Napoléon to Erfurt. Johann Sebastian Bach's parents were married in the Kaufmannskirche.

× Accueil Voyages Les chemins de Saint Jacques Routes de pèlerinage allemandes Görlitz - Leipzig (à pied)   Pays et villes
Erfurt
Erfurt am Jakobsweg Michaeliskirche Dom und Severi Kirche Augustinerkloster Hotel Nikolai und Turm Kaufmannskirche Wenigemarkt Krämerbrücke Junkersand Fischmarkt Predigerkirche Marktstrasse
Sur les traces de Bach
Aperçu Weimar Eisenach Johann Sebastian Bach
Histoire(s) Intéressant Quoi de neuf ?
  ☰ Menu Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag
La cathédrale Sainte-Marie et l'église Saint-Severi

À Erfurt, nous visitons de nombreuses maisons Renaissance et à colombages soigneusement restaurées qui, avec d'autres bâtiments et le célèbre pont des épiciers, forment l'un des centres urbains médiévaux les mieux conservés d'Allemagne. Autrefois, 36 églises paroissiales, chapelles ainsi que 15 monastères et couvents donnaient à la ville les surnoms de "Rome de Thuringe" et d'"Erfordia turrita" (Erfurt couronnée de tours). Depuis des siècles, la silhouette d'Erfurt est déterminée par l'ensemble de deux puissants édifices religieux : la cathédrale Sainte-Marie et l'église Saint-Sever.

Erfurt est traversée par de petites rivières comme la Gera, le Bergstrom et le Walkstrom. Notre hôtel était situé directement sur la Gera, près de la tour Nikolai.

Presque toutes les curiosités de la vieille ville d'Erfurt sont documentées par des photos (repères jaunes). Il suffit de passer la souris sur la carte. Dans certains cas, un clic permet d'accéder à d'autres images - voir aussi la barre de navigation à gauche.

Text

Karte von Erfurt

Erfurt, la métropole du Land de Thuringe, a été fondée en 742 par Bonifacius et s'est développée au carrefour d'anciennes routes commerciales au Moyen-Âge pour devenir une puissante ville commerciale et universitaire. Sa vie culturelle a attiré à Erfurt de grandes personnalités telles que Luther (couvent des Augustins), Adam Ries, Goethe, Schiller, Herder, Wieland, Humboldt, le tsar Alexandre et Napoléon. Les parents de Jean-Sébastien Bach se sont mariés dans la Kaufmannskirche.