× Home Journeys
Romanesque in Alsace
Overview Ottmarsheim Kaysersberg Thann Guebwiller Murbach Lautenbach Rouffach Eguisheim Colmar Riquewihr Ribeauvillé Sélestat St. Foy Sélestat Epfig Andlau Rosheim Avolsheim Strasbourg Marmoutier Haguenau Walbourg Surbourg Wissembourg
History / Stories Interesting things What's new
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag
Otfried von Weissenburg

The Benedictine abbey in Wissembourg was founded as early as the 7th century and became the richest abbey in Alsace through donations of land. In 974 the abbey was elevated to imperial status. The monk Otfried of Wissembourg worked here in the 9th century. Otfried wanted to prove with his "Gospel Book", begun in 863 and completed in 871, that artistic poetry was also possible in the vernacular. The work, a rhymed, epic gospel harmony in the South Franconian dialect, describes in five books the life of Jesus on the basis of all four gospels. Otfrid is regarded as the "progenitor of German literature". He introduced the Romanic end rhyme instead of the Germanic staff rhyme. At the Zehntenscheune, Place du Saumon, a relief shows Otfried reading in the Gospels.

The town of Weissenburg developed on the river Lauter from a settlement around the monastery. 1306-1697 it was a free imperial city. It belonged to the Zehnstädtebund of Alsatian imperial cities.

The Romanesque monastery church was built in the 11th century. In the 13th century the church was largely demolished and rebuilt in Gothic style. Only the Romanesque tower has survived. The construction of a cloister was also begun. It is a pity that it was never finished, because what you see is very beautiful.

The serious, frontally depicted head of "Christ of Weissenburg" dates from around 1065 and can now be admired in the Frauenhausmuseum (French Musée de l'Œuvre Notre-Dame) in Strasbourg. It is a fragment of an older window from 1070, one copy of which can be found in the modern stained glass window of the chapter house and another hanging as a picture in the sanctuary (September 2015).

Pictures of the church St. Peter and Paul

  • Church of St. Peter and Paulseen from the town hall square
  • The abbey was founded in the 7th century by East French aristocrats
  • The abbey church is predominantly Gothic (13th century)
  • View from southwith Romanesque tower
  • Tower from the 11th centuryRest of the early Romanesque site
  • View from the northOnly an unfinished Gothic cloister remains of the old Wissembourg monastery.
  • cloister
  • cloister
  • Romanesque chapter house (1060)was later used as a chapel, today as a room for exhibitions.
  • chapter housenote the window
  • modern window in the chapter houseIt is a copy of the glass window fragment "Christus vom Weissenburg" from the year 1070.
  • interior viewSt. Peter und Paul
  • ChoirStained glass window from the 14th century and a copy of Christ of Wissembourg.
  • Organ in one of the most splendid baroque casings in AlsaceThe organ was restored to its original state in 2010/12.
  • organwas originally built in 1766 and is the work of organ builder Louis Dubois.
  • Holy grave (14th-16th century)
  • Heiliges GrabDetail
  • 11 meter high Saint ChristopherFresco from the 14th century.
  • rose window14. Jhd.

× Home Reisen
Romanik im Elsass
  Übersicht   Ottmarsheim   Kaysersberg   Thann   Guebwiller   Murbach   Rouffach   Eguisheim   Colmar   Riquewihr   Ribeauvillé   Sélestat St. Foy   Sélestat   Epfig   Andlau   Rosheim   Avolsheim   Strassburg   Marmoutier   Haguenau   Walbourg   Surbourg   Wissembourg
Geschichte(n) Interessantes Was gibt's Neues
  ☰ Auswahl

Die Benediktinerabtei in Weissenburg (Wis­sembourg) wurde be­reits im 7. Jahr­hundert gegründet und wurde durch Landschenk­ung­en zur reichsten Abtei des Elsass. 974 wurde die Abtei zur Reichs­abtei erhoben. Hier wirkte im 9. Jahr­hundert der Mönch Otfried von Weissen­burg. Otfried wollte mit seinem 863 begonnen­en und 871 fertig gestellten "Evangelienbuch" beweisen, dass kunstvolle Dichtung auch in der Volkssprache möglich sei. Das Werk, eine gereimte, epische Evangelienharmonie in südrheinfränkischer Mund­art beschreibt in fünf Büchern das Leben Jesu auf der Grundlage aller vier Evangelien. Otfrid gilt als "Stammvater der deutschen Literatur". Er führte den romanischen Endreim anstelle des germanischen Stabreims ein. An der Zehntenscheune, Place du Saumon, zeigt ein Relief Otfried, lesend in den Evangelien.

Die Stadt Weissenburg entwickelte sich an der Lauter aus einer Ansiedlung um das Kloster. 1306-1697 war sie freie Reichsstadt. Sie gehörte zum Zehnstädtebund elsässischer Reichsstädte.

Im 11. Jahrhundert wurde die romanische Klosterkirche gebaut. Im 13. Jahrhundert wurde die Kirche grossteils abgerissen und im gotischen Stil wieder aufgebaut. Nur der romanische Turm blieb erhalten. Auch wurde der Bau eines Kreuzgangs begonnen. Schade, ist er nie fertig geworden, denn das, was man sieht, ist wunder­schön.

Der ernst blickende, frontal dargestellte Kopf des "Christus von Weissenburg" stammt aus der Zeit um 1065 und ist heute im Frauenhausmuseum (franz. Musée de l’Œuvre Notre-Dame) in Strassburg zu bewundern. Es ist ein Fragment eines älteren Fensters aus dem Jahre 1070. Eine Kopie findet man im modernen Glasfenster des Kapitelsaals und eine weitere hängt als Bild im Altarraum (September 2015).


Bilder von der Kirche Sankt Peter und Paul

  • Kirche St. Peter und Paul vom Rathausplatz aus gesehen
  • Die Abtei wurde im 7. Jh. von ostfränkischen Adeligen gegründet
  • Die Abteikirche präsentiert sich vorwiegend gotisch (13. Jh.)
  • Ansicht von Südenmit romanischem Turm
  • Turm aus dem 11 Jh.Rest der frühromanischen Anlage
  • NordansichtVom alten Kloster Weissenburg ist nur ein unvollendeter gotischer Kreuzgang übrig.
  • Kreuzgang
  • Kreuzgang
  • romanischer Kapitelsaal (1060)wurde später als Kapelle, heute als Raum für Ausstellungen verwendet.
  • Kapitelsaalman beachte das Fenster
  • modernes Fester im KapitelsaalEs ist eine Kopie des Glasfensterfragments "Christus vom Weissenburg" aus dem Jahre 1070.
  • InnennansichtSt. Peter und Paul
  • ChorraumGlasfenster aus dem 14. Jh. und eine Kopie des Christus von Weissenburg.
  • Orgel in einem der prachtvollsten Barockgehäuse des ElsassSie wurde 2010/12 in den ursprünglichen Zustand zurückversetzt.
  • Die Orgelstammt ursprünglich aus dem Jahre 1766 und ist ein Werk des Orgelbauers Louis Dubois
  • Heiliges Grab (14.-16. Jh.)
  • Heiliges GrabDetail
  • 11 Meter hoher Heiliger ChristopherusFresko aus dem 14. Jhd.
  • Fensterrose14. Jhd.