× Home Journeys Wissembourg - Surbourg
Romanesque in Alsace
Overview Ottmarsheim Kaysersberg Thann Guebwiller Murbach Lautenbach Rouffach Eguisheim Colmar Riquewihr Ribeauvillé Sélestat St. Foy Sélestat Epfig Andlau Rosheim Avolsheim Strasbourg Marmoutier Haguenau Walbourg Surbourg Wissembourg
History / Stories Interesting things What's new ?
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

former monastery church St. Arbogast

The monastery of Surbourg was founded in the 6th century during the Merovingian period. In the 11th century the relics of the founder Saint Arbogast were kept here. The former abbey church is the first church in Alsace with a cruciform ground plan. The nave and the transept are the same height and width. There is also an early example of the Rhenish change of columns. The columns bear simple cube capitals. From the original building from the last third of the 11th century, the three-nave nave, the transept, the crossing tower and the apsidioles are still preserved.

Surbourg Sankt Arbogast

Surbourg Sankt Arbogast, Innenaufnahme

Arbogast, born in Ireland as Arascach, according to other tradition coming from southern France, came to Alsace around 550 as a missionary.

According to legend, he settled in the forest of Hagenau and one day brought back to life the son of King Scrooge II, who had been killed by a boar. Arbogast was appointed bishop of Strasbourg.

Older legends let Arbogast walk across a river without getting his feet wet, heal the sick, expel demons and settle disputes. He had himself buried under a gallows to honour an innocently executed man.

As Bishop of Strasbourg, Arbogast was very blessed, had churches and monasteries built and made the city flourish. Arbogast is considered the main founder of Christianity in Alsace. Already during his lifetime he was highly revered.

Some sources state the year 678 as the date of his death, which is contradicted by archaeological finds.

A monastery of his name stood later before the gates of Strasbourg. According to further legends, Arbogast first lived with Götzis in Vorarlberg in Austria as a hermit; there he is venerated in the pilgrimage church St. Arbogast.


Relief

The relief at the entrance:
shows Arbogast, King Scrooge and his son.


gate roman column

Outside, above the side entrance door, there is a Carolingian stone with flower ornaments above the front side entrance. At the main entrance a part of a Roman Jupiter column is walled in, above it an early Gothic mass. The column fragment is decorated with a scale pattern.
In Oberwinterthur there is also a Romanesque church dedicated to St. Arbogast.


Pfeil SdR Pfeil SdR

Romanesque in Alsace


Way of St James from Surbourg to Haguenau

× Home Reisen Jakobsweg: Wissembourg-Surbourg
Romanik im Elsass
  Übersicht   Ottmarsheim   Kaysersberg   Thann   Guebwiller   Murbach   Lautenbach   Rouffach   Eguisheim   Colmar   Riquewihr   Ribeauvillé   Sélestat St. Foy   Sélestat   Epfig   Andlau   Rosheim   Avolsheim   Strassburg   Marmoutier   Haguenau   Walbourg   Wissembourg
☰ Auswahl

ehem. Klosterkirche St. Arbogast

Das Kloster von Surbourg wurde im 6. Jh. in der merowingischen Zeit gegründet. Im 11. Jh. wurden hier die Reliquien des Gründers Sankt Arbogast aufbewahrt. Die ehemalige Abteikirche ist die erste Kirche im Elsass mit einem kreuzförmigen Grundriss. Das Kirchenschiff und das Querhaus sind gleich hoch und gleich breit. Auch findet sich hier ein frühes Beispiel des rheinischen Stützenwechsels. Die Säulen tragen einfache Würfelkapitelle. Vom ursprünglichen Bau aus dem letzten Drittel des 11. Jh. sind noch das dreischiffige Langhaus, das Querhaus, der Vierungsturm und die Apsidiolen erhalten.

Surbourg Sankt Arbogast

Surbourg Sankt Arbogast, Innenaufnahme

Arbogast, in Irland als Arascach geboren, nach anderer Über­lieferung aus Südfrankreich stammend, kam um 550 als Missionar ins Elsass.

Er ließ sich der Legende nach im Wald von Hagenau nieder und holte demnach eines Tages den von einem Eber getöteten Sohn von König Dagobert II. ins Leben zurück; darauf habe Dagobert II. Arbogast zum Bischof von Straßburg ernannt.

Ältere Legenden lassen Arbogast trockenen Fußes über einen Fluss schreiten, Kranke heilen, Dämonen vertreiben und Streitigkeiten schlich­ten. Er ließ sich demnach unter einem Galgen begraben, um einen unschuldig Hingerichteten zu ehren.

Als Bischof von Straßburg wirkte Arbogast sehr segensreich, er ließ Kirchen und Klöster bauen und sorgte für das Aufblühen der Stadt. Arbogast gilt als Hauptbegründer des Christen­tums im Elsass. Schon zu Lebzeiten wurde er hoch verehrt.

Manche Quellen geben als Todesdatum das Jahr 678 an, dem widersprechen die archäologischen Funde.

Ein Kloster seines Namens stand später vor den Toren Straßburgs. Weiteren Legenden zufolge soll Arbogast zuerst bei Götzis in Vorarlberg in Österreich als Einsiedler gelebt haben; dort wird er in der Wallfahrtskirche St. Arbogast verehrt.


Das Relief beim Eingang:
zeigt Arbogast, König Dagobert und seinen Sohn.



Aussen befindet sich über der seitlichen Eingangstür ein aus der karolingischen Epoche stammender Stein mit Blumenornamenten über dem vorderen Seiteneingang. Am Haupteingang ist seitlich ein Teil einer römischen Jupitersäule eingemauert, darüber frühgotisches Masswerk. Das Säulenfragment weist ein Schuppenmuster als Verzierung auf.

In Oberwinterthur gibt es ebenfalls eine dem hl. Arbogast geweihte romanische Kirche.


Romanik im Elsass


Jakobsweg von Surbourg nach Haguenau