× Home Journeys
Romanesque in Alsace
Overview Ottmarsheim Kaysersberg Thann Guebwiller Murbach Lautenbach Rouffach Eguisheim Colmar Riquewihr Ribeauvillé Sélestat St. Foy Sélestat Epfig Andlau Rosheim Avolsheim Strasbourg Marmoutier Haguenau Walbourg Surbourg Wissembourg
History / Stories Interesting things What's new
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

former monastery church Marmoutier

The Marmoutier monastery is one of the oldest in Alsace. It was founded either around 590, according to other sources around 659, probably by St. Leonhard (Liebhard) ( around 680 in Marmoutier), a pupil of St. Columban. Marmoutier is counted among the Merovingian monasteries and was an imperial abbey.

In 724 the monastery was reformed by Abbot Maurus, whose name it bears, according to the Benedictine rule. Maurus is therefore often regarded as the actual founder of this monastery.

Of the Romanesque architecture of the collegiate church, the west façade (around 1140/50) of reddish brown sandstone, which rises like a fortress from the town's town houses, as well as the vestibule and the towers from the 11th and 12th centuries, is still preserved today. The façade is crowned by three gables and flanked by two octagonal towers. In between there is a square 36 m high main tower. Although the building is only 20 m wide, it makes a powerful impression. The front with its rich decoration of figures, but also the columns and arches of the vestibule bear witness to Romanesque sculpture. The nave of the church behind the west work was rebuilt between 1225 and 1301 in Gothic forms. In 1761-1769 the monk's choir was rebuilt in Gothic style and equipped with a remarkable choir stalls. The planned replacement of the Romanesque west work by a Baroque new building in 1788 was prevented by the outbreak of the French Revolution and the abolition of the monastery.

The monastery was plundered and partly destroyed by the Protestants during the German Peasants' War (1525), but Anton von Lothringen and his troops were able to prevent the monastery from being burned at the last moment.
The monastery was also affected by the Thirty Years' War, but the abbey church remained unscathed.

Marmoutier Westfront

romanische Monster

The monster heads on the west facade. They are located to the right of the central arched window under the clock.


Silbermann Orgel in Marmoutier

The church has an organ from the workshop of the Strasbourg organ builder Andreas Silbermann (middle of the 18th century).

The organs built by the brothers Gottfried and Andreas Silbermann (and also his son Johann Andreas) are called Silbermann organs. The brothers from Saxony (Freiberg) are today regarded as the most important German organ builders of the 18th century. Johann Sebastian Bach knew Gottfried Silbermann personally and appreciated his organs.

Andreas Silbermann settled in Strasbourg in 1701 and worked mainly in Alsace.

Johann Andreas Silbermann


Pfeil SdR Pfeil SdR

Romanesque in Alsace

× Home Reisen Jakobsweg Barr-Chatenois
Romanik im Elsass
  Übersicht   Ottmarsheim   Kaysersberg   Thann   Guebwiller   Murbach   Lautenbach   Rouffach   Eguisheim   Colmar   Riquewihr   Ribeauvillé   Sélestat St. Foy   Sélestat   Epfig   Andlau   Rosheim   Avolsheim   Strassburg   Haguenau   Walbourg   Surbourg   Wissembourg
☰ Auswahl

ehemalige Klosterkirche Marmoutier (Maursmünster)

Das Kloster Marmoutier ist eines der ältesten im Elsass. Es wurde entweder um 590, nach anderen Quellen um 659, wahrscheinlich vom hl. Leobard (Liebhard) († um 680 in Marmoutier), einem Schüler des hl. Columban gegründet. Marmoutier wird zu den merowingischen Klöstern gerechnet und war eine Reichsabtei.

724 wurde das Kloster von Abt Maurus, dessen Namen es trägt, nach der Benediktinerregel reformiert. Maurus gilt daher auch oftmals als der eigentliche Gründer dieses Klosters.

Von der romanischen Architektur der Stiftskirche ist heute noch die Westfassade (um 1140/50) aus rot­braunem Sandstein erhalten, die wie eine Festung aus den Bürgerhäusern der Stadt ragt, sowie die Vorhalle und die Türme aus dem 11. und 12. Jahrhundert. Die Fassade wird von drei Giebeln gekrönt und ist von zwei Achtecktürmen flankiert. Dazwischen erhebt sich ein viereckiger, 36 m hoher Hauptturm. Obwohl der Bau nur 20 m breit ist, macht er einen mächtigen Eindruck. Die Front mit ihrem reichen Figurenschmuck, aber auch der Säulen- und Bogenschmuck der Vorhalle zeugen von der romanischen Bildhauerkunst. Das hinter dem Westwerk liegende Langhaus der Kirche wurde zwischen 1225 und 1301 in gotischen Formen neu erbaut. 1761–1769 wurde der Mönchschor im gotischen Stil wieder errichtet und mit einem bemerkens­werten Chorgestühl ausgestattet. Die 1788 geplante Ersetzung des romanischen Westwerks durch einen barocken Neubau wurde durch den Ausbruch der französischen Revolution und die Aufhebung des Klosters verhindert.

Das Kloster wurde im deutschen Bauernkrieg (1525) von den Protestanten geplündert und in Teilen zerstört, eine Brandschatzung konnte allerdings Anton von Lothringen mit seinen Truppen im letzten Moment verhindern.

Auch durch den dreißigjährigen Krieg wurde das Kloster in Mitleidenschaft gezogen, allerdings blieb die Abteikirche ohne größere Schäden.

Marmoutier Westfassade

romanische Monster

Die Monsterköpfe auf der Westfassade. Sie befinden sich rechts neben dem zentralen Rundbogenfenster unter der Uhr.


Silbermann Orgel in Marmoutier

Die Kirche besitzt eine Orgel aus der Werkstatt des Straßburger Orgelbauers Andreas Silbermann (Mitte des 18. Jahrhunderts).

Als Silbermann-Orgeln werden die von den Brüdern Gottfried und Andreas Silbermann (und auch dessen Sohn Johann Andreas) erbauten Orgeln bezeichnet. Die Brüder aus Sachsen (Freiberg) gelten heute als die bedeutendsten deutschen Orgelbaumeister des 18. Jahrhunderts. Johann Sebastian Bach kannte Gottfried Silbermann persönlich und schätzte seine Orgeln.

Andreas Silbermann liess sich 1701 in Strassburg nieder und arbeitete vorwiegend im Elsass.

Johann Andreas Silbermann


Romanik im Elsass