× Home Journeys Jakobsweg: Haguenau
Romanesque in Alsace
Overview Ottmarsheim Kaysersberg Thann Guebwiller Murbach Lautenbach Rouffach Eguisheim Colmar Riquewihr Ribeauvillé Sélestat St. Foy Sélestat Epfig Andlau Rosheim Avolsheim Strasbourg Marmoutier Haguenau Walbourg Surbourg Wissembourg
History / Stories Interesting things What's new
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

Church of St. George

St. Georg was founded in 1143. The church building shows the elemental force of the Romanesque style, but the choir and transept are the result of a reconstruction in the 13th century. Various chapels were added from the 13th to the 16th century, the net vault in the nave 1609-11 by the Molsheim Jesuits, who took over the parish in the course of the Counter-Reformation (1354-1535).
In St. George, a crucifix and two winged altars from the 15th century, a sacrament house created by Hans Hammer in 1523 and, unfortunately unmissable, the windows by Jacques Le Chevalier (1956), which do not necessarily harmonise with the room, deserve attention. The pulpit, which was designed by Veit Wagner after 1500, is remarkable, albeit heavily restored, with the loving depictions of the George legend at the staircase, as well as of church fathers and evangelists.


1 / 5
St. Georg
2 / 5
St. Georg
3 / 5
Romanesque nave with organ gallery
4 / 5
left gothic side altar
5 / 5
right gothic side altar

fountain

Flower fountain near the church

The city of Hagenau was founded by the Count of Egisheim. The town was inherited and expanded by the Staufers. Friedrich Barbarossa elevated it to the status of an imperial Pfalz.

Pfeil SdR Pfeil SdR

Romanesque in Alsace

Haguenau on the Alsatian Way of St James
shell symbol

× Home Reisen Jakobsweg: Haguenau
Romanik im Elsass
  ▄bersicht   Ottmarsheim   Kaysersberg   Thann   Guebwiller   Murbach   Lautenbach   Rouffach   Eguisheim   Colmar   Riquewihr   RibeauvillÚ   SÚlestat St. Foy   SÚlestat   Epfig   Andlau   Rosheim   Avolsheim   Strassburg   Marmoutier   Walbourg   Surbourg   Wissembourg
  ☰ Auswahl

Kirche Sankt Georg

St. Georg wurde 1143 gegründet. Der Kirchenbau zeigt die elementare Wucht des romanischen Stils, Chor und Querhaus sind allerdings das Ergebnis eines Umbaus im 13. Jh. Diverse Kapellen wurden vom 13. bis 16. Jh. angefügt, das Netzgewölbe im Mittel­schiff 1609-11 von den Molsheimer Jesuiten eingebaut, die die Pfarrei im Zuge der Gegen­reformation (1354-1535) übernahmen.

In St. Georg verdienen Aufmerksamkeit ein Kruzifix sowie zwei Flügelaltäre aus dem 15. Jh., ein 1523 von Hans Hammer geschaffenes Sakraments­häuschen und, leider unüber­sehbar, die nicht unbedingt mit dem Raum harmonierenden Fenster von Jacques Le Chevalier (1956). Beachtlich, wenngleich stark restauriert, ist die nach 1500 von Veit Wagner gestaltete Kanzel mit den liebe­vollen Darstellungen der Georgslegende am Treppen­aufgang sowie von Kirchenvätern und Evangelisten.


1 / 5
Sankt Georg
2 / 5
Sankt Georg
3 / 5
romanisches Langhaus mit Orgelempore
4 / 5
linker gotischer Seitenaltar
5 / 5
rechter gotischer Seitenaltar

Blumenbrunnen bei der Kirche


Die Gründung der Stadt Hagenau geht auf den Grafen von Egisheim zurück. Die Stadt wurde von den Staufern ererbt und ausgebaut. Friedrich Barbarossa erhob sie zur kaiserlichen Pfalz.

 

Romanik im Elsass