• IMG_0121
  • IMG_0116
  • IMG_0147
  • Emmeram_Hof
  • IMG_0143
  • PICT0044
  • TP_Regensburg_970x265
IMG_01211 IMG_01162 IMG_01473 Emmeram_Hof4 IMG_01435 PICT00446 TP_Regensburg_970x2657

St. Ulrich Regensburg

× Home Journeys Ways of St. James
Danube cycling
Danube cycling overview
Donaueschingen - Passau
Donaueschingen The Young Danube Mühlheim Mühlheim - Beuron Beuron - Sigmaringen Sigmaringen Riedlingen Obermarchtal-Ehingen Ulm Lauingen Dillingen Donauwörth Neuburg Ingolstadt Weltenburg Regensburg   Schottenkirche St. Jakob   St. Ulrich Straubing Kloster Metten Deggendorf Niederaltaich Vilshofen
Passau - Melk Melk - Vienna
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag
Pfalzkirche Sankt Ulrich

In the middle of Regensburg, between the cathedral square and the old Kornmarkt, were the Palatinate buildings where the dukes resided. The church of St. Ulrich and the fortified tower remain. When Regensburg became an immediate, free imperial city in 1245, the area of the Palatinate was excluded from this. Here was always Bavarian territory.


St. Ulrich Innenansicht

The interior of St. Ulrich. This is the home of the Diocesan Museum.


romanesque cross

One of the many treasures in the museum is this simple Romanesque Christ.


 bike symbol

Further along the Danube cycle path to Straubing


Gertrud

In search of Gertrude:

Gertrud von Supplinburg lived both with her first husband, Heinrich the Proud, and (though only for a very short time) with her second husband Heinrich Jasomirgott here in the Palatinate buildings in Regensburg. In the church belonging to it, she surely took part in a Mass celebration several times. Possibly a funeral service after her death took place here. She is not buried here.

× Home Reisen Jakobswege
Donauradwandern
Donauradweg Übersicht
Donaueschingen - Pasau
Donaueschingen die junge Donau Mühlheim Mühlheim - Beuron Beuron - Sigmaringen Sigmaringen Riedlingen Obermarchtal-Ehingen Ulm Lauingen Dillingen Donauwörth Neuburg Ingolstadt Weltenburg Regensburg   Schottenkirche St. Jakob   St. Ulrich Straubing Kloster Metten Deggendorf Niederaltaich Vilshofen
Passau - Melk Melk - Wien
☰            

Mitten In Regensburg zwischen Domplatz und altem Kornmarkt be­fanden sich die Pfalz­gebäude, wo die Herzöge residierten. Übrig geblieben sind die Kirche St. Ulrich und der Wehrturm. Als Regensburg 1245 eine unmittelbare, freie Reichstadt wurde, war das Gelände der Pfalz davon ausgenommen. Hier war immer bayrisches Territorium.


Das Innere von St. Ulrich. Hier ist das Diözesanmuseum untergebracht.


Eines der vielen Schätze im Museum ist dieser simple romanische Christus.


Weiter am Donauradweg nach Straubing


Gertrud

Auf der Suche nach Gertrud:

Gertrud von Supplinburg lebte sowohl mit ihrem ersten Mann Heinrich dem Stolzen, als auch (wenn auch nur sehr kurz) mit ihrem zweiten Mann Heinrich Jasomirgott hier in den Pfalzgebäuden in Regensburg. In der dazugehörenden Kirche hat sie sicher öfters an einer Messfeier teilgenommen. Möglicherweise fand hier ein Trauergottesdienst nach ihrem Tod statt. Begraben ist sie hier nicht.