× Home Journeys   Countries and Cities Monestaries Ways of St. Jacques
Danube cycling
Danube cycle overview
Melk - Vienna
Melk Wachau Dürnstein Krems Traismauer Ahrenberger Kellergasse Atzenbrugg Tulln Greifenstein Klosterneuburg Klosterneuburg Photos Entrance Vienna Vienna
Interesting things History / Stories What's new?
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

The Canonization of Margrave Leopold III.

Leopold III, Roland Fruehauf, Stiftsmuseum Klosterneuburg

Leopold III was already called the "mild margrave" during his lifetime, and soon after his death on 15 November 1136, the veneration of his burial place in Klosterneuburg Abbey began. Only from the beginning of the 14th century did the ducal family also promote the cult of their predecessor. Rudolf IV. (1358-65) finally supported the canonisation of the Babenberger. This fitted in with his political concept, for he strove with all means to bring increased splendour to his country and his house. A holy sovereign prince seemed particularly suitable for this. However, the early death of the duke put the canonization process to sleep.

Only Emperor Frederick III, who consciously took up the ideas of Rudolf the Founder, succeeded in resuming the process after exactly one hundred years. This was delayed by many difficulties, extended over the reign of three popes and was not concluded until 1485. On 6 January this year, Pope Innocent VIII admitted the Austrian Margrave among the saints of the Church.

The veneration of the new patron saint of the country became popular very quickly. Soon pilgrimages to Leopold's grave in Klosterneuburg began, altars and churches were consecrated in his honour.

Some important works are also connected with his canonization: the Babenberg story of Ladislaus Sunthaym, the Babenberg family tree and many depictions of the new saint. The solemn transfer of the relics did not take place until 1506, as Emperor Maximilian 1 wanted to attend it personally and this was not possible earlier. This ceremony in turn provided inspiration for several works of art. The famous cycle Rueland Frueaufs the Younger was probably created on this occasion, as was the tapestry by Dr. Fuchsmagen.

Maximilian I. clearly presented himself in public at the time as the successor of St. Leopold. Among the later Habsburgs, the cult of the patron saint of the country contributed greatly to the promotion of the Austrian state

Reliquienschrank von Leopold III und seiner Frau Agnes

Letzte Ruhestätte, Kapitelsaal Stift Klosterneuburg

Reliquie von Leopold III.

Reliquie von Leopold III, Diözesanmuseum St. Stephan, Wien

Source: Catalogue of the Lower Austrian Provincial Exhibition 1976 "1000 Years Babenberger in Austria" , F. Röhrig
Photos: G. Eichinger

Muschelsymbol


Babenberger family tree

Babenberg family tree, Stiftmuseum Klosterneuburg

× Home Reisen Länder Klöster Jakobswege
Donauradwandern
Donauradweg Übersicht
Melk - Wien
Melk Wachau Dürnstein Krems Traismauer Ahrenberger Kellergasse Atzenbrugg Tulln Greifenstein Klosterneuburg Klosterneuburg Fotos Wien
Interessantes Geschichte(n)
☰            

DIE HEILIGSPRECHUNG MARKGRAF LEOPOLDS III.

Leopold III, Roland Fruehauf, Stiftsmuseum Klosterneuburg

Leopold III. wurde schon zu Lebzeiten der "milde Markgraf" genannt, und bald nach seinem Tode am 15. November 1136 setzte die Verehrung seiner Grabstätte im Stift Klosterneuburg ein.  Erst seit dem Anfang des 14. Jahrhunderts förderte auch die herzogliche Familie den Kult ihres Vorgängers. Rudolf IV. (1358—65) setzte sich schließlich für die Heiligsprechung des Babenbergers ein. Dies paßte in sein politisches Konzept, denn er trachtete mit allen Mitteln, seinem Land und seinem Haus erhöhten Glanz zu verschaffen. Dazu schien ein heiliger Landesfürst besonders geeignet. Der frühe Tod des Herzogs ließ jedoch den Heiligsprechungsprozeß einschlafen.

Erst Kaiser Friedrich III., der bewußt an die Ideen Rudolfs des Stifters anknüpfte, erreichte nach genau hundert Jahren die Wiederaufnahme des Prozesses. Dieser wurde durch viele Schwierigkeiten verzögert, erstreckte sich über die Regentschaft dreier Päpste und kam erst 1485 zum Abschluß. Am 6. Januar dieses Jahres nahm Papst Innozens VIII. den österreichischen Markgrafen unter die Heiligen der Kirche auf.

Die Verehrung des neuen Landesheiligen wurde sehr rasch populär. Alsbald zogen Wallfahrten zum Grab Leopolds nach Klosterneuburg, Altäre und Kirchen wurden ihm zu Ehren geweiht.

Auch einige bedeutende Werke hängen mit seiner Kanonisation zusammen: die Babenberger-Geschichte des Ladislaus Sunthaym, der Stammbaum der Babenberger und viele Darstellungen des neuen Heiligen. Die feierliche Übertragung der Reliquien fand erst 1506 statt, da Kaiser Maximilian 1. persönlich an ihr teilnehmen wollte und dies nicht früher möglich war. Dieser Festakt lieferte wiederum Anregungen für mehrere Kunstwerke. Der berühmte Zyklus Rueland Frueaufs d. J. ist wohl ebenso wie der Bildteppich des Dr. Fuchsmagen aus diesem Anlaß entstanden.

Maximilian 1. stellte sich damals deutlich als Nachfolger des hl. Leopold in der Öffentlichkeit dar. Unter den späteren Habsburgern trug der Kult des Landespatrons stark zur Förderung des österreichischen Staatsbewußtseins bei.

Reliquienschrank von Leopold III und seiner Frau Agnes

Letzte Ruhestätte, Kapitelsaal Stift Klosterneuburg

Reliquie von Leopold III.

Reliquie von Leopold III, Diözesanmuseum St. Stephan, Wien

Quelle: Katalog der NÖ - Landesaustellung 1976 "1000 Jahre Babenberger in Österreich" , F. Röhrig
Fotos: G. Eichinger

Muschelsymbol


Babenberger Stammbaum

Babenberger Stammbaum, Stiftmuseum Klosterneuburg