× Home Journeys   Countries and cities Ways of St. Jacques
Danube cycle path
Danube cycling overview Donaueschingen Passau
Melk - Vienna
Melk Wachau   Castle Ruin Aggstein   Schönbühel Monestary Dürnstein Krems Traismauer Ahrenberger Kellergasse Atzenbrugg Tulln Greifenstein Klosterneuburg entrance to vienna Vienna
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

Along the Schubert Cycle Path

Atzenbrugg is located about 40km (25 miles) west of Vienna on the edge of the Tullnerfeld on the river Perschling. The Kuenringer "Azzo", has built the first bridge over the Perschling in the Middle Ages at the time of the Carolingians. In the 13th century one finds a noble family of the "Atzenbrugger". In the 14th century, the castle and landed property pass into the possession of the Klosterneuburg monastery.

Schloss Atzenbrugg

From 1820 until the year of his death in 1828, Franz Schubert stayed for a long time every summer in the Perschlingschloss at Atzenbrugg. His friend, the poet and music lover Franz von Schober, took him to his uncle Josef Dorfel (village judge of the abbey estate) in Atzenbrugg. Among the Schubertians were the painters Leopold Kupelwieser and Moritz Schwind, Anselm and Josef Hüttenbrenner, the comedy poet and peasant poet Bauernfeld, the opera baritone Vogl, the young Ernst von Feuchtersleben, the poet-painter Johann Mayerhofer and the music-lover Josef von Spaun.

Schubertiade

The Schubert Cycle Path, as an alternative to the Danube Cycle Path, leads through the villages of Heiligeneich and Schloss Aumühle, to which the Schubertians made excursions.

Schubert was certainly inspired to many melodies during his stays in the summer months. He composed for his friends under the shady lime trees or in the garden cottage belonging to the castle (today the Schubert cottage), and the "Schubertiaden" took place in the castle.

Schubert's "Atzenbrugger German Dances" were created here. In the renovated banqueting hall of the castle "Schubertiaden" take place again and in the museum in the castle you can see in 9 rooms approx. 540 exhibits that remind us of the life and work of Franz Schubert and his friends: pictures, documents, family trees, busts, death mask, first prints of Schubert's compositions, facsimile of Schubert's diary, guest lists, original testimonies, coins, medals, newspaper reports 1889, letters, documents, family photos from the circle of friends, special stamps, Biedermeier guitar, Schubert's lock of hair, Biedermeier dress.....

Schloss Atzenbrugg

Our ladies are standing in front of Atzenbrugg Castle, set up for a photo and not for a party game.

Erinnerung an Atzenbrugg, Moritz v. Schwind

The Schubertian Moritz von Schwind painted "Parlour game, memory of Atzenbrugg" after 1860. Things must have been quite cheerful then. The painting is now in the Belvedere Gallery in Vienna.

Gesellschaftsspiel in Atzenbrugg, L. Kuppelwieser

Another Schubertian, Leopold Kuppelwieser, saw the "Gesellschaftsspiel in Atzenbrugg" (Charade in Atzenbrugg) in 1821 with a somewhat more serious Schubert at the piano. This painting is in the Museum of the City of Vienna on Karlsplatz.

See also:


Atzenbrugger Dances arranged for string quartet
(electronic music)

Atzenbrugger Dances arranged for string quartet
Fahrradsymbol Fahrradsymbol

Danube cycle path

× Accueil Voyages Chemins de Saint-Jacques
Cyclisme sur le Danube
Aperçu Donaueschingen Passau
Melk - Vienne
Melk Wachau  Ruine du château d'Aggstein  Monastère de Schönbühel Dürnstein Krems Krems - Körnermarkt   Göttweig   Sankt Pölten Traismauer Allée de cave d'Ahrenberg Atzenbrugg Tulln Greifenstein Klosterneuburg Entrée Vienne Vienne
Histoire(s) Intéressant Quoi de neuf ?
  ☰ Sélection Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

Piste cyclable Schubert

Atzenbrugg est situé à environ 40 km à l'ouest de Vienne, au bord du Tullnerfeld, sur la Perschling. Les Kuenringer "Azzo" ont construit le premier pont sur le Perschling au Moyen Âge, à l'époque des Carolingiens. Au 13ème siècle, on trouve une famille noble des "Atzenbrugger". Au 14e siècle, le château et les terres sont devenus la propriété du monastère de Klosterneuburg.

Château d'Atzenbrugg

De 1820 à 1828, année de sa mort, Franz Schubert a passé de longues périodes chaque été au château de Perschling à Atzenbrugg. Son ami, le poète et mélomane Franz von Schober, l'emmène rendre visite à son oncle Josef Dorfel (juge de village du domaine de l'Abbaye) à Atzenbrugg. Le cercle des schubertiens comprenait les peintres Leopold Kupelwieser et Moritz Schwind, Anselm et Josef Hüttenbrenner, le poète comique et le poète paysan Bauernfeld, le baryton d'opéra Vogl, le jeune Ernst von Feuchtersleben, le peintre poète Johann Mayerhofer et le passionné de musique Josef von Spaun.

Schubertiade

La piste cyclable Schubert, qui est une variante de la piste cyclable du Danube, passe par les villes de Heiligeneich et le château d'Aumühle, où les Schubertiens faisaient des excursions.

Schubert a certainement été inspiré pour écrire de nombreuses mélodies lors de ses séjours en été. Il composait pour ses amis sous les tilleuls ombragés ou dans le chalet de jardin appartenant au château (aujourd'hui chalet Schubert), et les "Schubertiades" avaient lieu au château.

Les "Danses allemandes Atzenbrugger" de Schubert ont été écrites ici. Les "Schubertiades" se déroulent à nouveau dans la salle de bal rénovée du château, et le musée du château abrite 9 pièces environ. 540 pièces commémorant la vie et l'œuvre de Franz Schubert et de ses amis : tableaux, documents, arbres généalogiques, bustes, masques mortuaires, premières impressions des compositions de Schubert, fac-similés du journal intime de Schubert, listes d'invités, témoignages originaux, pièces de monnaie, médailles, articles de journaux de 1889, lettres, documents, photos de famille du cercle d'amis, timbres spéciaux, une guitare Biedermeier, une mèche de cheveux de Schubert, une robe Biedermeier......

château d'Atzenbrugg

Voilà nos dames devant le château d'Atzenbrugg, posées pour une photo et non pour un jeu de société.

Mémoire d'Atzenbrugg, Moritz v. Schwind

C'est ainsi que le Schubertien Moritz von Schwind a peint "Gesellschaftsspiel, Erinnerung an Atzenbrugg" après 1860. Les choses devaient être assez joyeuses là-bas. Le tableau se trouve actuellement à la Galerie im Belvedere à Vienne.

Jeu de société à Atzenbrugg, L. Kuppelwieser

Un autre schubertien, Leopold Kuppelwieser, a vu le "Gesellschaftsspiel in Atzenbrugg" en 1821 avec un Schubert un peu plus sérieux au piano. Cette photo se trouve au musée de la ville de Vienne, sur la Karlsplatz.

Voir aussi :


Danses d'Atzenbrugger arrangées pour quatuor à cordes
(musique électronique)

Danses d'Atzenbrugger arrangées pour quatuor à cordes
symbol velo symbol velo

Piste cyclable du Danube