• TP_Krems_970_1
  • TP_Krems_970_2
  • TP_Krems_970_3

Krems

× Home Journeys   Countries and cities nbsp; Ways of St James
Danube cycling
Danube cycling overview Donaueschingen Passau
Melk - Vienna
Melk Wachau   Castle Ruin Aggstein   Schönbühel Monastery Dürnstein Krems Krems - Körnermarkt   Göttweig   Sankt Pölten Traismauer Ahrenberger Kellergasse Atzenbrugg Tulln Greifenstein Klosterneuburg Entrance to Vienna Vienna
Interesting things History / Stories
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

By bike you can cycle along the Steiner Landstrasse past many old houses and even the Stein prison. On the other side of the Danube you see the monastery

Krems

Nepomuksäule

At the town hall square in Stein stands a column of John Nepomuk.

So Egon Schiele saw Stein with the town hall square from the other bank of the Danube:


Steinertor

Through the Steiner Tor you enter the old town of Krems. The gate is the landmark of Krems and the only one of the four former city gates that has been preserved. The main tower from the late 15th century bears a series of inscriptions on the outside, including the motto AEIOU (All the earth is subject to Austria) in memory of Frederick III. Three coats of arms dating from 1756 adorn the entrance to the city, on the left that one awarded by Emperor Frederick III and still valid today, which shows the crowned double eagle on a black background, on the right the coat of arms of Ladislaus Posthumus, and in the centre the coat of arms of Maria Theresa.

obere Landstrasse, Einkaufstrasse und Fussgängerzone

The pedestrian zone begins behind the gate. From here on: push the bicycle.

First mentioned in a document in 995, Krems became a town in 1130, received a mint and was extended and fortified several times. Remains of this are preserved, such as the gothic stone gate in the core. The Gozzoburg on the high market, built around 1257, is another 13th century building, as is the Dominican monastery on the

founded in 1236 with leading-gothic cloister and 1263 - 1265 completed church. Now it houses the town museum. Other late medieval buildings are the Piarist Church and the Bürgerspital.
 

City arms of Krems


Obere Landstrasse, Fussgängerzone Babsi in front of the gothic church in the Bürgerspital

 


Trinity Column

On top of the Trinity Column is the 'Holy Trinity', the centre of which is a Maria Immaculata. On the pedestal are the figures of saints: St. Vitus (patron saint of the city), St. John Nepomuk (patron against water hazards) and St. Charles Borromeo (patron saint against plague).

The monument was renovated in 2007/2008. The St. Nepomuk from Stein and the one from

were included in my


Our first Danube bicycle tour went from Krems to

the capital of Lower Austria, the other bike tours went on to Vienna.


Fahrradsymbol Fahrradsymbol

Danube cycle route

• TP_Krems_970_1
  • TP_Krems_970_2
  • TP_Krems_970_3

Krems

× Accueil Voyages Pays et Villes Chemins de Saint-Jacques
Cyclisme sur le Danube
Aperçu Donaueschingen Passau
Melk - Vienne
Melk Wachau   Burgruine Aggstein   Kloster Schönbühel Dürnstein Krems Krems - Körnermarkt   Göttweig   Sankt Pölten Traismauer Ahrenberger Kellergasse Atzenbrugg Tulln Greifenstein Klosterneuburg Entrée Vienne Vienne
Histoire(s) Intéressant Quoi de neuf ?
  ☰ Menu Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

En pédalant le long de la Steiner Landstrasse, on passe devant de nombreuses vieilles maisons et même devant la prison Stein. L'abbaye de Göttweig

Krems

Colonne Népomucène

Il y a une colonne de St. John Nepomuk sur la place de la mairie à Stein.

C'est ainsi qu'Egon Schiele a vu Stein avec la place de l'hôtel de ville depuis l'autre rive du Danube :


Steinertor

Par la Steiner Tor, vous entrez dans la vieille ville de Krems. La porte est l'emblème de Krems et la seule survivante des quatre anciennes portes de la ville. La tour principale, datant de la fin du XVe siècle, porte à l'extérieur une série d'inscriptions, dont la devise AEIOU (Toute la terre est soumise à l'Autriche) en mémoire de Frédéric III. Trois armoiries datant de 1756 ornent l'entrée de la ville, à gauche celle accordée par l'empereur Frédéric III et toujours valable aujourd'hui, qui montre l'aigle bicéphale couronné sur un fond noir, à droite celle de Ladislas Posthumus, au centre celle de Marie-Thérèse.

Hinter dem Tor beginnt die Fussgängerzone ist. Ab hier heisst es: Rad schieben.

obere Landstrasse, rue commerçante et zone piétonne

Krems, mentionnée pour la première fois dans un document en 995, est devenue une ville en 1130, a été dotée d'un hôtel des monnaies et a été agrandie et fortifiée à plusieurs reprises. On en a conservé des vestiges, comme la porte en pierre, qui est gothique à souhait. Le Gozzoburg sur le marché haut, construit vers 1257, est un autre bâtiment du 13e siècle, tout comme le monastère dominicain fondé en 1236 sur.

avec son cloître et son église de style gothique précoce, achevés entre 1263 et 1265. Il abrite aujourd'hui le musée de la ville. D'autres bâtiments de la fin du Moyen Âge sont l'église des Piaristes et le Bürgerspital.

Stadtwappen Krems


Obere Landstrasse, zone piétonne Babsi devant l'église gothique du Bürgerspital

 


Colonne de la Trinité

Au sommet de la colonne de la Trinité trône la "Très Sainte Trinité", au centre se trouve une Maria Immaculata. Sur le piédestal figurent les figures de saints : saint Vitus (patron de la ville), saint Jean Népomucène (patron contre le danger de l'eau) et saint Charles Borromée (patron de la peste).

Le monument a été rénové en 2007/2008. St. Nepomuk, celui en pierre et celui du

celui en Stein ont été inclus dans ma


Notre première randonnée cycliste sur le Danube nous a menés de Krems à...

la capitale de la Basse-Autriche, les autres tours à vélo allaient jusqu'à Vienne.


symbol velo symbol velo

Piste cyclable du Danube