× Home Reisen Jakobswege
Donauradwandern
Danube cycling overview Donaueschingen
Passau - Melk
Passau Engelszell Schlögener Schlinge Aschach Wilhering Linz Sankt Florian Enns Sankt Pantaleon Wallsee-Mitterkirchen Baumgartenberg Burg Clam Grein Strudengau Persenbeug Ybbs Ybbs - Pöchlarn Pöchlarn Melk
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

At the end of the first millennium, the original Bösenberg Castle was one of the early castles of the Babenberg margraviate and was owned by the Bavarian Counts of Ebersberg. In 1045 the castle was the scene of a prominent gathering which ended in a catastrophe: After the death of the last Ebersberger Adalbero, Emperor Henry III and numerous clerical and secular dignitaries of the empire met here for inheritance negotiations. During the festivities the floor of the hall collapsed to the bathing room below and several high-ranking personalities died, but the emperor remained unharmed. According to the contemporary account of the memorable event, the castle was already a representative, well-equipped seat with at least a two-storey main building.

1 / 2
castle Persenbeug
castle Persenbeug
2 / 2
castle Persenbeug 2017
castle Persenbeug, Mai 2017

In the 11th century, the castle was owned by Agnes, daughter of Henry IV, and through her marriage she came into the possession of Margrave Leopold III. From this time on, Persenbeug was a sovereign and was initially administered by burgraves and since the end of the 14th century it has been pledged to nobles. Emperor Maximilian I kept the estate as personal property from 1495 to 1519 and used the castle as a hunting lodge. In 1521 Ferdinand I, who had travelled from Spain, received the homage of the estates in Persenbeug and Ybbs.

In 1593 Emperor Rudolf II sold the dominion to the Counts of Hoyos. A few years later the village became the centre of the peasant uprising. In winter 1597 the peasants occupied the castle for five weeks and from here they conquered the town of Ybbs.

Under the Counts of Hoyos the castle was rebuilt in the early 17th century. The castle chapel, which stands out from the western front and has a late Gothic appearance due to its polygonal choir, also dates from this period. In 1800 Emperor Franz II/I acquired the castle. (Franz II. as German Emperor, resp. Franz I. as Emperor of Austria) acquired the castle, which became his favourite summer residence. Emperor Karl I (1916-1918) was born here in 1887. He was the last Austrian emperor. Through several inheritances the dominions of Persenbeug and Gutenbrunn came into the possession of Emperor Franz Josef I, who passed it on to his daughter Marie Valerie in 1916. Today the castle is inhabited by their descendants, the families Habsburg-Lorraine and Waldburg-Zeil, and is the seat of the estate administration.

The idea of building a Danube bridge near Persenbeug already existed in the 16th century; it was only realised in 1958 in the course of the construction of the Ybbs-Persenbeug power station.

Persenbeug an der Donau

The village Persenbeug

bike symbol bike symbol

Danube cycle route

× Home Voyages Chemins de Saint-Jacques
Piste cyclable du Danube
Aperçu Donaueschingen
Passau - Melk
Passau Engelszell Schlögener Schlinge Aschach Wilhering Linz Sankt Florian Enns Sankt Pantaleon Wallsee-Mitterkirchen Baumgartenberg Château de Clam Grein Strudengau Persenbeug Ybbs Ybbs - Pöchlarn Pöchlarn Melk
  ☰ Menu Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

À la fin du premier millénaire, le château originel de Bösenberg faisait partie des premiers châteaux de la marche babenbergienne et était la propriété des comtes bavarois d'Ebersberg. En 1045, le château fut le théâtre d'une réunion de personnalités qui se termina par une catastrophe : Après la mort du dernier des Eberbères, Adalbero, l'empereur Henri III et de nombreux dignitaires religieux et laïcs de l'Empire s'y sont réunis pour des négociations de succession. Lors des festivités, le sol de la salle s'est effondré sur la salle de bain située en dessous et plusieurs personnalités de haut rang ont trouvé la mort, mais l'empereur n'a pas été blessé. D'après le récit contemporain de cet événement mémorable, le château était déjà un siège prestigieux et bien aménagé, avec un bâtiment principal d'au moins deux étages.

1 / 2
Château de Persenbeug
Schloss Persenbeug
2 / 2
Château de Persenbeug 2017
Château de Persenbeug, mai 2017

Au 11ème siècle, le château était la propriété d'Agnès, fille d'Henri IV, et par son mariage, il revint au margrave Léopold III. Depuis cette époque, Persenbeug était une principauté et fut d'abord administrée par des burgraves, puis à partir de la fin du 14ème siècle, elle fut mise en gage à des nobles. L'empereur Maximilien Ier conserva la seigneurie comme propriété personnelle de 1495 à 1519 et utilisa le château comme pavillon de chasse. En 1521, Ferdinand Ier, venu d'Espagne, reçut l'hommage des états provinciaux à Persenbeug et Ybbs.

En 1593, l'empereur Rodolphe II vendit la seigneurie aux comtes de Hoyos. Quelques années plus tard, le village devint le centre de la révolte paysanne. Durant l'hiver 1597, les paysans occupèrent le château pendant cinq semaines et s'emparèrent de la ville d'Ybbs à partir de là.

Sous les comtes de Hoyos, le château a été reconstruit au début du 17e siècle. La chapelle du château, qui se détache de la façade ouest et dont le chœur polygonal est de style gothique tardif, date également de cette époque. En 1800, l'empereur François II/Ier fit l'acquisition du château. (François II en tant qu'empereur allemand, resp. François Ier en tant qu'empereur d'Autriche), le château devint son lieu de séjour préféré en été. En 1887, l'empereur Charles Ier (1916-1918) y est né. Il fut le dernier empereur autrichien. Après plusieurs successions, les domaines de Persenbeug et de Gutenbrunn sont devenus la propriété de l'empereur François-Joseph Ier, qui les a transmis à sa fille Marie-Valérie en 1916. Aujourd'hui, le château est habité par leurs descendants, les familles Habsbourg-Lorraine et Waldburg-Zeil, et est le siège de l'administration des biens.

L'idée de construire un pont sur le Danube à Persenbeug remonte au 16e siècle, mais elle n'a été réalisée qu'en 1958, lors de la construction de la centrale électrique d'Ybbs-Persenbeug.

Persenbeug sur le Danube

Le site lieu de Persenbeug

Symbole vélo à droite Symbole vélo à gauge

Piste cyclable du Danube