× Home Journeys Monasteries Ways of St. Jacques Way of St. Jacques Upper Austria
Danube cycling
Danube cycling overview Donaueschingen
Passau - Melk
Passau   Passau Mariahilfberg Engelszell Schlögener Schlinge Aschach Linz Sankt Florian Enns Sankt Pantaleon Wallsee-Mitterkirchen Baumgartenberg Burg Clam Grein Strudengau Persenbeug Ybbs Ybbs - Pöchlarn Pöchlarn Melk
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

Around 1145, the founding family, the "Lords of Wilhering", moved their residence to their newly built Waxenberg Castle and made the abandoned Wilhering Castle and the associated land in the Danube valley available to the Styrian Cistercian monastery of Rein for the founding of a daughter. The two young knights Ulrich and Kolo are described as the actual founders.

From the monastery Rein 12 monks and the newly appointed abbot came to Wilhering.

To be mentioned are two abbots who were active here:

  1. Anton Wolfradt, abbot of Wilhering 1612 - 1613
    from 1631 prince bishop of Vienna, where he resided in the castle of my Viennese home village "Ober St. Veit" and did a lot for the design of Ober St. Veit. He died in 1639 and is buried in St. Stephen's Cathedral. The Wofrath Square reminds of him.
  2. Alan Aichinger, that was the name of the abbot 1753 - 1780.
Cistercian abbey Wilhering

The Cistercian abbey was rebuilt after a fire in the 18th century. The Collegiate Church of the Assumption of the Virgin Mary was built using the Romanesque-Gothic church from 1733 and is a unique rococo jewel. The colourful ceiling painting was painted by Bartholomeo Altomonte, whom we already met in Engelhartszell.

Stiftskirche Wilhering

Those who enter the church through the simple Romanesque portal from the Gründerzeit,

Romanesque portal

can't help but be amazed. Very much in contrast to the rigid building regulations of the Cistercian Order, one experiences in the interior of the church the exuberant splendor of the rococo with hundreds of charming angels. On a banner in the ceiling fresco is written Assumpta est Maria in caelum, gaudent angeli (Assumed is Maria in heaven, above which the angels rejoice) - and how they rejoice, the angels.

interîor view Wilhering church

Detail of the interior of the church with some angels


bike symbol bike symbol

Danube cycle path

Upper Austrian Way of St. Jacques
shell symbol

× Accueil Voyages Monastères Chemins de Saint-Jacques

Haute-Autriche

Cyclisme sur le Danube
Aperçu Donaueschingen
Passau - Melk
Passau Passau, Mariahilfberg Engelszell Schlögener Schlinge Aschach Wilhering Linz Sankt Florian Enns Sankt Pantaleon Wallsee-Mitterkirchen Baumgartenberg Château de Clam Grein Strudengau Persenbeug Ybbs Ybbs - Pöchlarn Pöchlarn Melk
  ☰ Menu Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

La famille des fondateurs, les "seigneurs de Wilhering", transféra vers 1145 son domicile au château de Waxenberg qu'ils venaient de construire et mit le château abandonné de Wilhering et les terres correspondantes dans la vallée du Danube à la disposition du monastère cistercien styrien de Rein pour y fonder une fille. Les deux jeunes chevaliers Ulrich et Kolo sont considérés comme les véritables fondateurs.

Douze moines et l'abbé nouvellement nommé vinrent du monastère de Rein à Wilhering.

Il faut encore mentionner deux abbés qui ont travaillé ici :

  1. Anton Wolfradt, abbé de Wilhering 1612 - 1613
    A partir de 1631, il a été prince-évêque de Vienne, où il a vécu dans mon village natal viennois "Ober St. Veit" il résidait dans le château et a beaucoup contribué à l'aménagement d'Ober St. a fait beaucoup. Il est mort en 1639 et est enterré dans la cathédrale Saint-Étienne. La place Wofrath rappelle son souvenir.
  2. Alan Aichinger, c'est le nom de l'abbé de 1753 à 1780.
Abbaye cistercienne de Wilhering

L'abbaye cistercienne a été reconstruite après un incendie au 18ème siècle. L'église collégiale Maria-Himmelfahrt a été construite en utilisant l'église romane-gothique à partir de 1733 et est un joyau rococo unique en son genre. La peinture colorée du plafond est l'œuvre de Bartholomeo Altomonte, que nous avons déjà rencontré à Engelhartszell.

Église collégiale de Wilhering

Lorsqu'on entre dans l'église par le simple portail roman de l'époque de la fondation,

portail roman de l'église collégiale de Wilhering

on ne peut s'empêcher d'être étonné. Contrastant fortement avec les règles de construction rigides de l'ordre cistercien, on découvre à l'intérieur de l'église la splendeur exubérante du rococo avec des centaines d'anges charmants. Sur une banderole de la fresque du plafond, on peut lire : Assumpta est Maria in caelum, gaudent angeli (Marie est au ciel, les anges l'acclament) - et comme ils l'acclament, les anges.

Vue intérieure de l'église de Wilhering

Détail de l'intérieur de l'église avec quelques anges


symbole velo symbole velo

Piste cyclable du Danube

Chemin de Saint-Jacques de Haute-Autriche
symbole shell