× Home Journeys Ways of St. James
Danube cycling
Danube cycling overview Donaueschingen Ulm Regensburg Vilshofen
Passau - Melk
Passau Passau, Mariahilfberg Engelszell Schlögener Schlinge Aschach Wilhering Linz Sankt Florian Enns Sankt Pantaleon Wallsee-Mitterkirchen Baumgartenberg Burg Clam Grein Strudengau Persenbeug Ybbs Ybbs - Pöchlarn Pöchlarn Melk
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

A town with 2000 years of history at the confluence of the three rivers Danube, Inn and Ilz. The Celts and the Romans have already built their fortifications here. In the 6th century, Bavarians occupied the country and already in 739 the town was elevated to the status of a bishop's see. Thanks to this fact, the city of Passau today has the largest baroque cathedral north of the Alps, St. Stephen's Cathedral.

Passau

Passau liegt auf einer Landzunge zwischen Inn und Donau.

The Diocese of Passau and Vienna

In the year 1147, due to the contract of Mautern between the Babenberg Margrave Leopold IV and the Passau Bishop Reginmar, the first Romanesque St. Stephan's Church in Vienna was consecrated. At the beginning of the 14th century, the Gothic new building of St. Stephen's Cathedral in Vienna was begun with the construction of a three-nave choir hall. On 23 April 1340 the completed choir was solemnly consecrated by Bishop Albert of Passau. At that time Vienna belonged to the diocese of Passau.

Stephansdom Passau

Five construction periods can be distinguished for St. Stephen's Church in Passau

  • The bishop's church of Agilolfingia around 720,

  • the early gothic cathedral, built between 1280 and 1325,

  • the late gothic eastern part (1407-1560) and

  • the baroque new building, erected between 1668 and 1693. the town fire of 1662 completely destroyed the buildings of the first construction periods. Apart from the building shell of the late Gothic eastern part, nothing has been preserved.

  • The Italian master Carlo Lurago was commissioned with the Baroque reconstruction, including the remaining Gothic parts. Giovanni Battista Carlone was entrusted with the entire interior decoration, with its lavish stucco work and altar structures of the Italian High Baroque. The frescos were created by Carpoforo Tencalla. The largest Baroque church interior north of the Alps and the most important Baroque church of Italian influence on German soil was created. The Passau cathedral decoration was to become a trend-setter for decades for the Danube art space off the Alps.

  • St. Stephen's Cathedral Passau
  • Interior view
  • The gilded pulpitwas built in Vienna in 1726.
  • AltarpieceSaint Stephen
  • Dome
  • side aislewith left side organ
  • Organ
  • right side organ
  • The high altar
  • baroque decorationon the main nave
  • cloister
  • cloister
  • Fountainin the cloister courtyard
  • cloister
  • Trennbach ChapelHigh grave of bishop Urban von Trennbach (1561 - 1598)

The Passau Cathedral Organ

is the largest cathedral organ in the world. It consists of five spatially separated works: the main organ, epistle and gospel organ on the western temples, the choir organ at the entrance to the chancel and the long-distance organ in the attic in the cathedral nave. In the latter case, the sound comes into the church room through the "Heiliggeistloch". All five organ works can be played from the main console in the gallery, a technical marvel in itself.
In total the organ has 17774 pipes and 233 stops.
Organ concerts take place every weekday at 12.00 and every Thursday at 19.30.

Passau Cathedral seen from the Mariahilf Church
×
Passauer Dom

The cathedral seen from Mariahilf church. Click on the picture, the view from the viewing platform on Mariahilf Mountain (Mariahilferberg) can be enlarged.

Learn more about the church on the

and the Mariahilf painting there.

Walk in the old town

  • Residence Square
  • Wittelsbacher Fountain
  • Steiningergassefrom Residenzplatz to the Danube
  • Baroque housesat the Residence Square
  • City Hall Square
  • Hotel Wilder Mannwho finds the small Nepomuk statue (facade niche)
  • Scharfrichterhauswith Nepomuk sculpture
  • Marahilf picture on the facade
  • Lucas Kern Children's Home
  • Veste Oberhaus
  • Veste OberhausOberhausmuseum

Gerhard, Stefan and Babsi in Passau

The city entices you to linger, but the Danube cycle path is waiting.



Fahrradsymbol Fahrradsymbol

Danube cycle route

× Accueil Voyages Pays et Villes Chemins de Saint-Jacques
Cyclisme sur le Danube
Aperçu Donaueschingen Ulm Regensburg Vilshofen
Passau - Melk
Passau Passau, Mariahilfberg Engelszell Schlögener Schlinge Aschach Wilhering Linz Sankt Florian Enns Sankt Pantaleon Wallsee-Mitterkirchen Baumgartenberg Burg Clam Grein Strudengau Persenbeug Ybbs Ybbs - Pöchlarn Pöchlarn Melk
  ☰ Menu Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

Une ville avec 2000 ans d'histoire au confluent des trois rivières Danube, Inn et Ilz. Les Celtes et les Romains y ont déjà construit leurs fortifications. Au 6e siècle, les Bavarois ont occupé le territoire et la ville a été élevée au rang de siège épiscopal dès 739. C'est grâce à ce fait que la ville de Passau possède aujourd'hui la plus grande cathédrale baroque au nord des Alpes, la cathédrale Saint-Étienne.

Passau

Passau se trouve sur une langue de terre entre l'Inn et le Danube.

Le diocèse de Passau et Vienne

En 1147, sur la base du traité de Mautern entre le margrave Leopold IV de Babenberg et l'évêque Reginmar de Passau, la première église romane Saint-Étienne a été consacrée à Vienne. Au début du 14e siècle, la nouvelle construction gothique de la cathédrale Saint-Étienne de Vienne a commencé par l'érection d'un chœur à trois nefs. Le 23 avril 1340, le chœur achevé est solennellement consacré par l'évêque de Passau, Albert. À cette époque, Vienne faisait partie du territoire diocésain de Passau.

Stephansdom Passau

Cinq périodes de construction peuvent être distinguées à l'église Saint-Étienne de Passau

  • L'église de l'évêque d'Agilolfing vers 720,

  • la cathédrale de style gothique précoce, construite entre 1280 et 1325,

  • la partie orientale du gothique tardif (1407-1560) et

  • le nouveau bâtiment baroque, construit entre 1668 et 1693. L'incendie de la ville de 1662 a complètement détruit les bâtiments des premières périodes de construction. A part le gros œuvre de la partie orientale de style gothique tardif, il ne reste rien.

  • Le maître italien Carlo Lurago a été chargé de la reconstruction baroque, en intégrant les parties gothiques restantes. L'ensemble de la décoration intérieure, avec ses somptueux stucs et ses retables du haut baroque italien, a été confié à Giovanni Battista Carlone. Les fresques ont été réalisées par Carpoforo Tencalla. Le résultat fut la plus grande église baroque intérieure au nord des Alpes et la plus importante église baroque d'influence italienne sur le sol allemand. La décoration de la cathédrale de Passau allait définir la tendance de la zone artistique du Danube avant les Alpes pendant des décennies.

  • Cathédrale Saint-Étienne de Passau
  • Vue intérieure
  • La chaire doréea été fabriquée à Vienne en 1726.
  • RetableSaint-Étienne
  • Dôme
  • Couloir latéralavec organe du côté gauche
  • Organe
  • Organe du côté droit
  • L'autel principal
  • Bijoux baroquesdans la nef
  • Cloître
  • Cloître
  • Fontainedans la cour du cloître
  • Cloître
  • Chapelle de TrennbachHaute tombe de l'évêque Urban von Trennbach (1561 - 1598)

L'orgue de la cathédrale de Passau

est le plus grand orgue de cathédrale du monde. Il se compose de cinq œuvres séparées dans l'espace : le grand orgue, les orgues de l'Épître et de l'Évangile sur les galeries ouest, l'orgue de chœur à l'entrée du chœur et l'orgue à distance dans les combles de la nef de la cathédrale. Dans ce dernier, le son pénètre dans l'église par le "Heiliggeistloch". Les cinq œuvres d'orgue peuvent être jouées depuis la console principale de la galerie, une merveille technique en soi.

Au total, l'orgue compte 17774 tuyaux et 233 jeux.

Des concerts d'orgue ont lieu tous les jours de la semaine à 12h00 et tous les jeudis à 19h30.

La cathédrale de Passau
×
Cathédrale de Passau

La cathédrale vue depuis l'église Mariahilf. Cliquez sur l'image, la vue depuis la plate-forme d'observation sur Mariahilfberg peut être agrandie.

Pour en savoir plus sur l'église de

et l'image de Mariahilf qui s'y trouve.

Promenade dans la vieille ville

  • Residenzplatz
  • Fontaine Wittelsbach
  • Steiningergassede la Residenzplatz au Danube
  • Maisons baroquesà la Residenzplatz
  • Place de l'hôtel de ville
  • Hôtel Wilder MannQui peut trouver la petite statue de Népomucène (niche dans la façade)
  • Maison du Bourreauavec la sculpture de Nepomuk
  • Peinture de Marahilf
  • Maison d'enfants Lucas Kern
  • Veste Oberhaus
  • Veste OberhausMusée Oberhaus

Gerhard, Stefan und Babsi in der Barockstadt Passau

La ville vous incite à vous attarder, mais la piste cyclable du Danube vous attend..



symbol de velo symbol de velo

Piste cyclable du Danube