× Home Journeys Ways of St. Jacques Monasteries
Danube cycling
Danube cycling overview
Donaueschingen - Passau
Donaueschingen the young danube Mühlheim Mühlheim - Beuron Beuron - Sigmaringen Sigmaringen Riedlingen Obermarchtal-Ehingen Ulm Lauingen Dillingen Donauwörth Neuburg Ingolstadt Weltenburg Regensburg Straubing Metten monastery Deggendorf Niederaltaich Vilshofen
Passau - Melk Melk - Vienna
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

Benedictine abbey St. Michael in Metten

A few kilometres before Deggendorf, soon after passing under the A3 motorway, a cycle path leads to Metten. The approx. 1 km long detour to the north pays off.
In Metten, after Weltenburg, we encounter another original Bavarian monastery. Its foundation goes back to the 8th century. The monastery was probably settled by the Reichenau. In 792 Charles the Great granted it royal protection and immunity. The task of the monastery was the clearing and colonization in the Bavarian Forest and the Ostmark. Due to the Hungarian invasions and the secularisation of Duke Arnulf in the 10th century the monastery ceased to exist and was replaced by a secular canonical monastery.

Kloster Metten

In 962 Metten came to the Babenbergs, who turned the monastery into a canon monastery. The second founder of the monastery Metten is considered to be the Babenberg duke Jasomirgott. In 1157 he called Benedictine monks to Metten to renew the monastic life.

In 1236 the entire complex was destroyed by fire. The rebuilt church was consecrated in 1264. After the death of the last Babenberger (1246), the monastery was placed under the protection of the Wittelsbach dynasty, who ruled the duchy of Bavaria at that time. The village of Metten now became a Hofmark, where the abbot of the monastery exercised the lower jurisdiction.

After the crisis period of the 30-year war Metten was redesigned in baroque style (church, library, festival hall), especially by Abbot Roman Märkl (1706-29). Today the library presents itself in all its baroque splendor.

library library

The baroque church is particularly characterized by the sculptural stucco decorations and the unusual ceiling frescoes of the main room and the presbytery fresco, which fills most of the ceiling. The high age is the work of the Straubinger Jakob Schöpf, the age picture was painted by Cosmas Damian Asam. On 16 July 1720 Abbot Roman laid the foundation stone for the reconstruction of the nave. The stucco work was done by Franz Josef Holzinger.

St. Michael in Metten

With the secularization in 1803 the monastery was abolished.

In 1830 King Ludwig I rebuilt Metten as the first Benedictine abbey in Bavaria and entrusted the monastery with pastoral care, education and science. At the request of King Ludwig I, the monks of Metten opened a Latin school, which developed into a grammar school and the great task of the monastery, and which is known today beyond the German-speaking world.

bike symbol  bike symbol

Donube cycle route

× Accueil Voyages Monastères Chemins de Saint-Jacques
Cyclisme sur le Danube
Aperçu
Donaueschingen - Passau
Donaueschingen le jeune Danube Mühlheim Mühlheim - Beuron Beuron - Sigmaringen Sigmaringen Riedlingen Obermarchtal-Ehingen Ulm Lauingen Dillingen Donauwörth Neuburg Ingolstadt Weltenburg Regensburg Straubing Abbaye Metten Deggendorf Niederaltaich Vilshofen
Passau - Melk Melk - Vienne
  ☰ Menu Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

Abbaye bénédictine de Saint-Michel à Metten

Quelques kilomètres avant Deggendorf, peu après être passé sous l'autoroute A3, une piste cyclable mène à Metten. Le détour d'environ 1 km vers le nord est payant.

À Metten, après Weltenburg, nous rencontrons un autre monastère bavarois original. Sa fondation remonte au 8e siècle. Le monastère a probablement été colonisé à partir du Reichenau. Charlemagne lui a accordé la protection royale et l'immunité en 792. La tâche du monastère était de défricher et de coloniser la forêt bavaroise et l'Ostmark. En raison des invasions hongroises et de la sécularisation du duc Arnulf au 10e siècle, le monastère a disparu et a été remplacé par un canonicat séculier.

Kloster Metten

En 962, Metten est passé sous la domination des Babenberg, qui ont transformé le monastère en un monastère canonique. Le deuxième fondateur du monastère de Metten est considéré comme le duc de Babenberg, Jasomirgott, qui, en 1157, a convoqué des moines bénédictins à Metten pour renouveler la vie monastique.

En 1236, l'ensemble du complexe a été détruit par un incendie. L'église reconstruite a été consacrée en 1264. Après la mort du dernier Babenberger (1246), le monastère est passé sous la protection de la famille Wittelsbach, qui régnait alors sur le duché de Bavière. Le village de Metten devient alors une place de justice, dans laquelle l'abbé du monastère exerce une juridiction inférieure.

Après la période de crise de la guerre de 30 ans, Metten a été remodelée en style baroque (église, bibliothèque, salle des fêtes), notamment par l'abbé Roman Märkl (1706-29). Aujourd'hui, la bibliothèque se présente dans toute sa splendeur baroque.

bibliothèque bibliothèque

L'église baroque se distingue particulièrement par les décorations sculpturales en stuc et les fresques fantaisistes du plafond de la salle principale et de la fresque du presbytère, qui remplit la majeure partie du plafond. Le maître-autel est l'œuvre de Jakob Schöpf de Straubing, le retable a été peint par Cosmas Damian Asam. Le 16 juillet 1720, l'abbé Roman pose la première pierre de la transformation de la nef. Les stucs ont été réalisés par Franz Josef Holzinger.

St. Michael à Metten

Avec la sécularisation en 1803, le monastère a été dissous.

En 1830, le roi Louis Ier rétablit Metten comme première abbaye bénédictine de Bavière et confie au monastère la pastorale, l'éducation et la science. À la demande du roi Louis Ier, les moines de Metten ont ouvert une école latine, qui est devenue un lycée et la grande mission du monastère, et qui est aujourd'hui connue au-delà du monde germanophone.

symbol de velo symbol de velo

Piste cyclable du Danube