× Home Journeys Ways of St. James
Danube cycling
Danube cycling overview
Donaueschingen - Passau
Donaueschingen the Young Danube Mühlheim Mühlheim - Beuron Beuron - Sigmaringen Sigmaringen Riedlingen Obermarchtal-Ehingen Ulm Lauingen Dillingen Donauwörth Neuburg Ingolstadt Weltenburg Regensburg   Schottenkirche St. Jakob   St. Ulrich Straubing Kloster Metten Deggendorf Niederaltaich Vilshofen
Passau - Melk Melk - Vienna
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

Straubing

can look back on a long history, Celts and Romans already settled here. The Roman fort "Sorviodurum" bears witness to this. Finds are exhibited in the Gaeubodenmuseum. Today the medieval town complex presents itself with magnificent patrician houses and Gothic contemporary witnesses.

Straubing Marktplatz mit Turm

City square with Trinity Column and City Tower


Straubing Rathaus

The city tower rises from the green house on the city square (which is called Theresienplatz here).

On a plaque it says: City tower built 1316 to about 1400th Madonna (1675).

The town hall is on the right side of the house with the (new) gothic gables.


Straubing Barockhäuser

This is how the beautifully dressed up city presents itself in its baroque splendour. The medieval houses were destroyed in the great fire of 1780. But there are still enough witnesses of the past, as Straubing was once the proud capital of the Wittelsbach duchy "Straubing-Holland" 1353 - 1425.  see Wikipedia


Jakobsbasilika

I was very impressed by the St. Jacob Basilica. Unfortunately, the gothic splendid building suffered badly during the city fire and therefore it has baroque elements today, such as the onion tower and classicistic elements. The interior of the church is worth seeing. The Gothic windows are largely preserved. One of them (Moses window) was designed by Albrecht Dürer. The altar was designed by Michael Wohlgemut in 1486. He was the teacher of Albrecht Dürer. After many baroque and classicistic alterations, it presents itself today in a gothic form with the original shrine and figures. In the side chapels you will find various works of art such as a painting by Hans Holbein.


Straubing Jakobsbasilika Altar

Neo-gothic altar with real gothic core

Moses Fenster

Moses Window


Hans Holbein d. Ältere: Madonna mit Kind

Madonna mit Kind v. Hans Holbein d. Ä.

In a side chapel on the left side I noticed this picture.

Holbein's Madonna was painted in 1502, and a certain similarity to the famous Mariahilf painting by Lukas Cranach (1537) cannot be denied.

Was Lukas Cranach inspired here?


The end of my stay in Straubing was a visit to the Romanesque

St. Peter's Church

Around 1180 the Augsburg Cathedral Chapter built a three-nave pillar basilica in the old settlement centre of Straubing, which stands on the remains of a Roman fort and Carolingian-Ottoman church buildings. St. Peter's has two valuable Romanesque tympanums, contains a Romanesque Christ (around 1200) and a moving Pietá (around 1340).

The walled cemetery with tombs from the 14th to the 19th century is one of the most important and beautiful cemetery complexes in the German-speaking world.

1 / 3
Straubing Peterskirche
Straubing St. Peter
2 / 3
Towers
south and north tower are romanesque up to the upper floor
3 / 3
Towers
St Peter Tor

The more simple portal is only single stepped. In the tympanum relief a basilisk fights against a lion. The basilisk with its poisonous breath was considered a snake monster, the lion was the symbol of power.


romanisches Tor
×
Tor

The double-stepped west portal with columns is elaborately decorated with fine ornamentation. In the tympanum field there is a relief group depicting the fight of a knight against a man-eating dragon.


Finger For a larger view of the tympanum click on the picture above!


In the area of the Peterskirche there is the famous Totentanzkapelle and the Agnes Bernauer Kapelle with its gravestone.

Famous names that belong to Straubing:

Agnes Bernauer

Agnes Bernauer

She was the mistress and perhaps the first wife of the Bavarian Duke Albrecht III. Because of this improper relationship Albrecht came into conflict with his father Ernst, who had Agnes Bernauer drowned as a witch in 1435 near Straubing in the Danube.

Every four years the Agnes Bernauer Festival takes place in Straubing, where the story is staged by amateur actors.

Agnes Bernauer Torte

At Kaffee Krönner in Straubing there is an Agnes Bernauer Torte.


Fraunhofer

Joseph von Fraunhofer

(* 6 March 1787 in Straubing; † 7 June 1826 in Munich) was an optician and physicist. He founded the scientific telescope construction at the beginning of the 19th century. One type of lens, the Fraunhofer lens, was named after him.
Thanks to his innovative way of thinking, Joseph von Fraunhofer became the role model and namesake of today's Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, which in turn became famous for the MP3 format for digital music recording.


bike symbol  bike symbol

Danube cycle route

Romanik Logo

× Accueil Voyages Monastères Chemins de Saint-Jacques
Cyclisme sur le Danube
Aperçu
Donaueschingen - Passau
Donaueschingen le jeune Danube Mühlheim Mühlheim - Beuron Beuron - Sigmaringen Sigmaringen Riedlingen Obermarchtal-Ehingen Ulm Lauingen Dillingen Donauwörth Neuburg Ingolstadt Weltenburg Regensburg Straubing Abbaye Metten Deggendorf Niederaltaich Vilshofen
Passau - Melk Melk - Vienne
  ☰ Sélection Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag

Straubing

peut se prévaloir d'une longue histoire ; les Celtes et les Romains s'y sont déjà installés. Le fort romain "Sorviodurum" en témoigne. Les découvertes sont exposées au musée de Gäuboden. Aujourd'hui, la ville médiévale se présente avec de splendides maisons patriciennes et des témoins gothiques.

Place du marché de Straubing avec tour

Place de la ville avec la colonne de la Trinité et la tour de la ville


Mairie de Straubing

La tour de la ville s'élève de la maison verte sur la place de la ville (qui s'appelle ici Theresienplatz).

Une plaque indique : Tour de la ville construite de 1316 à environ 1400. Madone (1675).

À droite, la maison avec les pignons gothiques (neufs) est la mairie.


Maison baroque Straubing

C'est ainsi que la ville, joliment embellie, se présente dans sa splendeur baroque. Les maisons médiévales ont été détruites lors du grand incendie de la ville en 1780. Cependant, il y a encore suffisamment de témoins d'un passé plus ancien, car Straubing était autrefois la fière capitale du duché de Wittelsbach "Straubing-Holland" 1353 - 1425. voir Wikipedia


Basilique de Jacques

J'ai été très impressionné par la Basilique St. James. Le magnifique bâtiment gothique a malheureusement beaucoup souffert de l'incendie de la ville et présente donc aujourd'hui des éléments baroques, comme le dôme en oignon, et des éléments classicistes. L'intérieur de l'église vaut la peine d'être vu. La plupart des fenêtres gothiques ont été préservées. L'une d'entre elles (la fenêtre de Moïse) a été conçue par Albrecht Dürer. L'autel a été conçu par Michael Wohlgemut en 1486. Il était le professeur d'Albrecht Dürer. Après de nombreuses modifications baroques et classicistes, il se présente aujourd'hui sous une forme gothique avec le sanctuaire et les figures d'origine. Dans les chapelles latérales, vous trouverez diverses œuvres d'art, comme une peinture de Hans Holbein.


Autel de la basilique de Jacques de Straubing

Autel néo-gothique avec noyau gothique authentique

Fenêtre de Moïse

Fenêtre de Moïse


Hans Holbein l'Ancien : Madone avec enfant

Madone avec enfant par Hans Holbein l'Ancien.

J'ai remarqué cette peinture dans une chapelle latérale sur la gauche.

La Madone de Holbein a été peinte en 1502 et présente une certaine ressemblance avec le célèbre tableau Mariahilf de Lukas Cranach (1537).

Lukas Cranach s'est-il inspiré de cet endroit ?


 Mon séjour à Straubing s'est terminé par une visite de l'église romane

Saint-Pierre de Straubing

Vers 1180, le chapitre de la cathédrale d'Augsbourg a construit une basilique à trois nefs dans l'ancien centre de Straubing, qui se trouve sur les vestiges d'un fort romain et de bâtiments religieux carolingiens et ottomans. L'église Saint-Pierre possède deux tympans romans de grande valeur, contient un Christ roman (vers 1200) et une Pietá mobile (vers 1340) à l'intérieur.

Le cimetière entouré de murs, avec des pierres tombales datant du 14e au 19e siècle, est l'un des plus importants et des plus beaux cimetières du monde germanophone.

1 / 3
Église Saint-Pierre de Straubing
Église Saint-Pierre de Straubing
2 / 3
Tours
Les tours sud et nord sont romanes jusqu'à l'étage supérieur.
3 / 3
Tours
Porte St Pierre

Le portail sud est plus simple et à un étape. Dans le relief du tympan, un basilic combat un lion. Le basilic, avec son souffle venimeux, était considéré comme un monstre serpent, le lion était le symbole du pouvoir.


romanisches Tor
×
Porte

Le portail ouest à piliers et à double étage est très élaboré et finement décoré. Dans le champ du tympan se trouve un groupe en relief montrant le combat d'un chevalier contre un dragon dévoreur d'hommes.


Finger Cliquez sur l'image ci-dessus pour obtenir une vue plus grande du tympan !


Dans les environs de l'église Saint-Pierre se trouvent la célèbre chapelle de la danse des morts et la chapelle Agnès Bernauer avec sa dalle funéraire.

Des noms célèbres qui appartiennent à Straubing :

Agnes Bernauer

Agnes Bernauer

Elle était la maîtresse et peut-être aussi la première épouse du duc de Bavière Albrecht III. Ce mariage, qui n'était pas conforme à son statut, a mis Albrecht en conflit avec son père Ernst, qui avait fait noyer Agnès Bernauer comme sorcière dans le Danube près de Straubing en 1435.

Tous les quatre ans, le festival Agnes Bernauer a lieu à Straubing, où l'histoire est mise en scène par des acteurs amateurs.

Agnes Bernauer Torte

Il y a un gâteau Agnes Bernauer au Kaffee Krönner à Straubing.


Fraunhofer

Joseph von Fraunhofer

( 6 mars 1787 à Straubing ; † 7 juin 1826 à Munich) était un opticien et un physicien. Il a fondé la construction de télescopes scientifiques au début du 19e siècle. Un type de lentille, la lentille de Fraunhofer, porte son nom.

Grâce à son esprit novateur, Joseph von Fraunhofer est devenu le modèle et l'homonyme de l'actuelle Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, qui est devenue célèbre grâce au format MP3 pour l'enregistrement de musique numérique.


symbol velo symbol velo

Piste cyclable du Danube

Romanik Logo