× Home Journeys Ways of St. James Monasteries
Danube cycling
Danube cycling overview
Donaueschingen - Passau
Donaueschingen The Young Danube Mühlheim Mühlheim - Beuron Beuron - Sigmaringen Sigmaringen Riedlingen Obermarchtal-Ehingen Ulm Lauingen Dillingen Donauwörth Neuburg Ingolstadt Weltenburg Regensburg Straubing Kloster Metten Deggendorf Niederaltaich Vilshofen
Passau - Melk Melk - Vienna
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag
Gerhard at the Danube source

Here I am standing at the source of the Danube, the starting point of my bicycle tour, the beginning of the Danube cycle path.


Danube source

The source of the Danube is located in the park of the Fürstenberg castle.


Fürstenberg castle

When in 1723 Prince Josef Wilhelm Ernst zu Fürstenberg moved his residence from Stühlingen to Donaueschingen, Donaueschingen became the "capital" of the Principality of Fürstenberg. But Donaueschingen is "city" only since 1810.


One more deep breath and off we go to Vienna! On the Prinz-Fritzi Allee I cycle lonely and alone slightly downhill through the park of the castle. I have no reserved accommodation. The most necessary luggage including rain gear is in the saddlebags.

Soon the first yellow sign "Donauradweg" appears. The whole way is excellently marked.

Very soon we come to the confluence of

Brigach and Breg in co, they're making the Danube go.

The Danube is the second longest river in Europe after the Volga. Its length, measured from the confluence of the Brigach, Breg and the Danube source in Donaueschingen, is 2845 kilometres; from the Breg source in Furtwangen it is 2888 kilometres until the river flows into the Black Sea.

biker symbol right

Danube cylce route

× Accueil Voyages Monastères Chemins de Saint-Jacques
Cyclisme sur le Danube
Aperçu de la piste cyclable du Danube
Donaueschingen - Passau
Donaueschingen le jeune Danube Mühlheim Mühlheim - Beuron Beuron - Sigmaringen Sigmaringen Riedlingen Obermarchtal-Ehingen Ulm Lauingen Dillingen Donauwörth Neuburg Ingolstadt Weltenburg Regensburg Straubing Abbaye Metten Deggendorf Niederaltaich Vilshofen
Passau - Melk Melk - Vienne
  ☰ Sélection Flagge Deutsch Drapeau français British flag
Donauquelle

Me voici à la source du Danube, le point de départ de ma randonnée cycliste, le début de la piste cyclable du Danube.


Donauquelle

La source du Danube se trouve dans le parc du château de Fürstenberg.


Fürstenbergsches Schloss in Donaueschingen

Lorsque le prince Josef Wilhelm Ernst zu Fürstenberg a déplacé sa résidence de Stühlingen à Donaueschingen en 1723, Donaueschingen est devenue la "capitale" de la principauté de Fürstenberg. Cependant, Donaueschingen n'est une "ville" que depuis 1810.

Je prends une autre grande respiration et je pars pour Vienne ! Sur la Prinz-Fritzi Allee, je pédale, seul et solitaire, en légère descente à travers le parc du palais. Je n'ai pas réservé de logement à l'avance. Les bagages les plus nécessaires, y compris les vêtements de pluie, se trouvent dans les sacoches de la selle.

Le premier panneau jaune "Donauradweg" apparaît bientôt. L'ensemble du chemin est parfaitement balisé.

Très vite, la confluence de

Brigach et Breg, ils donnent naissance au Danube.

Le Danube est le deuxième plus long fleuve d'Europe après la Volga. Sa longueur, mesurée à partir du confluent des rivières Brigach et Breg et de la source du Danube à Donaueschingen, est de 2845 kilomètres ; en comptant à partir de la source de la Breg à Furtwangen, elle est de 2888 kilomètres jusqu'à ce que le fleuve se jette dans la mer Noire.

Cycliste à droite

Piste cyclable du Danube