× Home Journeys   Countries and cities Ways of St. Jacques
Danube cycle path
Danube cycling overview Donaueschingen Passau
Melk - Vienna
Melk Wachau   Castle Ruin Aggstein   Schönbühel Monestary Dürnstein Krems Traismauer Ahrenberger Kellergasse Atzenbrugg Tulln Greifenstein Klosterneuburg entrance to vienna Vienna
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

Along the Schubert Cycle Path

Atzenbrugg is located about 40km (25 miles) west of Vienna on the edge of the Tullnerfeld on the river Perschling. The Kuenringer "Azzo", has built the first bridge over the Perschling in the Middle Ages at the time of the Carolingians. In the 13th century one finds a noble family of the "Atzenbrugger". In the 14th century, the castle and landed property pass into the possession of the Klosterneuburg monastery.

Schloss Atzenbrugg

From 1820 until the year of his death in 1828, Franz Schubert stayed for a long time every summer in the Perschlingschloss at Atzenbrugg. His friend, the poet and music lover Franz von Schober, took him to his uncle Josef Dorfel (village judge of the abbey estate) in Atzenbrugg. Among the Schubertians were the painters Leopold Kupelwieser and Moritz Schwind, Anselm and Josef Hüttenbrenner, the comedy poet and peasant poet Bauernfeld, the opera baritone Vogl, the young Ernst von Feuchtersleben, the poet-painter Johann Mayerhofer and the music-lover Josef von Spaun.

Schubertiade

The Schubert Cycle Path, as an alternative to the Danube Cycle Path, leads through the villages of Heiligeneich and Schloss Aumühle, to which the Schubertians made excursions.

Schubert was certainly inspired to many melodies during his stays in the summer months. He composed for his friends under the shady lime trees or in the garden cottage belonging to the castle (today the Schubert cottage), and the "Schubertiaden" took place in the castle.

Schubert's "Atzenbrugger German Dances" were created here. In the renovated banqueting hall of the castle "Schubertiaden" take place again and in the museum in the castle you can see in 9 rooms approx. 540 exhibits that remind us of the life and work of Franz Schubert and his friends: pictures, documents, family trees, busts, death mask, first prints of Schubert's compositions, facsimile of Schubert's diary, guest lists, original testimonies, coins, medals, newspaper reports 1889, letters, documents, family photos from the circle of friends, special stamps, Biedermeier guitar, Schubert's lock of hair, Biedermeier dress.....

Schloss Atzenbrugg

Our ladies are standing in front of Atzenbrugg Castle, set up for a photo and not for a party game.

Erinnerung an Atzenbrugg, Moritz v. Schwind

The Schubertian Moritz von Schwind painted "Parlour game, memory of Atzenbrugg" after 1860. Things must have been quite cheerful then. The painting is now in the Belvedere Gallery in Vienna.

Gesellschaftsspiel in Atzenbrugg, L. Kuppelwieser

Another Schubertian, Leopold Kuppelwieser, saw the "Gesellschaftsspiel in Atzenbrugg" (Charade in Atzenbrugg) in 1821 with a somewhat more serious Schubert at the piano. This painting is in the Museum of the City of Vienna on Karlsplatz.

See also:


Atzenbrugger Dances arranged for string quartet
(electronic music)

Atzenbrugger Dances arranged for string quartet
Fahrradsymbol Fahrradsymbol

Danube cycle path

Am Schubert Radweg

Atzenbrugg liegt ca. 40km westlich von Wien am Rande des Tullnerfelds an der Perschling. Der Kuenringer "Azzo", hat im Mittelalter zur Zeit der Karolinger die erste Brücke über die Perschling geschlagen. Im 13. Jahrhundert findet man ein adeliges Geschlecht der "Atzenbrugger". Im 14. Jh. gehen Schloss und Grundbesitz in den Besitz des Stiftes Klosterneuburg über.

Schloss Atzenbrugg

Von 1820 an bis zum Todesjahr 1828 weilte Franz Schubert jeden Sommer längere Zeit im Perschlingschloss zu Atzenbrugg. Sein Freund, der Dichter und Musikliebhaber Franz von Schober nahm ihn zu seinem Onkel Josef Dorfel (Dorfrichter der stiftlichen Herrschaft) nach Atzenbrugg mit. Im Kreis der Schubertianer waren die Maler Leopold Kupelwieser und Moritz Schwind, Anselm und Josef Hüttenbrenner, der Lustspieldichter und Bauerndichter Bauernfeld, der Opernbariton Vogl, der junge Ernst von Feuchtersleben, der dichtende Maler Johann Mayerhofer und der musikbegeisterte Josef von Spaun.

Schubertiade

Der Schubert Radweg, als Variante zum Donauradweg führt über die Orte Heiligeneich und Schloss Aumühle, zu denen die Schubertianer Ausflüge unternahmen.

Schubert ist während der Aufenthalte in den Sommermonaten sicher zu vielen Melodien inspiriert worden. Unter den schattigen Linden oder im zum Schloss gehörenden Garten-Häuschen (heute Schubert-Häuschen) komponierte er für seine Freunde, und im Schloss fanden die "Schubertiaden" statt.


Hier entstanden Schuberts "Atzenbrugger deutsche Tänze". Im renovierten Festsaal des Schlosses finden jetzt wieder "Schubertiaden" statt und im Museum im Schloss sieht man in 9 Räumen ca. 540 Exponate, die an das Leben und Werk Franz Schuberts und seiner Freunde erinnern: Bilder, Urkunden, Stammbäume, Büsten, Totenmaske, Erstdrucke von Kompositionen Schuberts, Faksimile vom Tagebuch Schuberts, Gästelisten, Original-Zeugnisse, Münzen, Medaillen, Zeitungsberichte 1889, Briefe, Dokumente, Familienfotos aus dem Freundeskreis, Sonderbriefmarken, Biedermeiergitarre, Haarlocke Schuberts, Biedermeierkleid.....

Schloss Atzenbrugg

Da stehen unsere Damen vor dem Schloss Atzenbrugg, aufgestellt für ein Foto und nicht für ein Gesellschaftsspiel.

Erinnerung an Atzenbrugg, Moritz v. Schwind

So malte der Schubertianer Moritz von Schwind nach 1860 "Gesellschaftsspiel, Erinnerung an Atzenbrugg". Da muss es ja recht heiter zugegangen sein. Das Bild ist jetzt im der Galerie im Belvedere in Wien.

Gesellschaftsspiel in Atzenbrugg, L. Kuppelwieser

Ein anderer Schubertianer, Leopold Kuppelwieser, sah 1821 das "Gesellschaftsspiel in Atzenbrugg" mit einem etwas ernstern Schubert am Klavier. Dieses Bild ist im Museum der Stadt Wien am Karlsplatz.

Siehe auch:


Atzenbrugger Tänze arrangiert für Streichquartett
(elektronische Musik)

Atzenbrugger Tänze arrangiert für Streichquartett
Fahrradsymbol

Donauradweg