• TP_Krems_970_1
  • TP_Krems_970_2
  • TP_Krems_970_3

Krems

× Home Journeys   Countries and cities nbsp; Ways of St James
Danube cycling
Danube cycling overview Donaueschingen Passau
Melk - Vienna
Melk Wachau   Castle Ruin Aggstein   Schönbühel Monastery Dürnstein Krems Krems - Körnermarkt   Göttweig   Sankt Pölten Traismauer Ahrenberger Kellergasse Atzenbrugg Tulln Greifenstein Klosterneuburg Entrance to Vienna Vienna
Interesting things History / Stories
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

By bike you can cycle along the Steiner Landstrasse past many old houses and even the Stein prison. On the other side of the Danube you see the monastery

Krems

Nepomuksäule

At the town hall square in Stein stands a column of John Nepomuk.

So Egon Schiele saw Stein with the town hall square from the other bank of the Danube:


Steinertor

Through the Steiner Tor you enter the old town of Krems. The gate is the landmark of Krems and the only one of the four former city gates that has been preserved. The main tower from the late 15th century bears a series of inscriptions on the outside, including the motto AEIOU (All the earth is subject to Austria) in memory of Frederick III. Three coats of arms dating from 1756 adorn the entrance to the city, on the left that one awarded by Emperor Frederick III and still valid today, which shows the crowned double eagle on a black background, on the right the coat of arms of Ladislaus Posthumus, and in the centre the coat of arms of Maria Theresa.

obere Landstrasse, Einkaufstrasse und Fussgängerzone

The pedestrian zone begins behind the gate. From here on: push the bicycle.

First mentioned in a document in 995, Krems became a town in 1130, received a mint and was extended and fortified several times. Remains of this are preserved, such as the gothic stone gate in the core. The Gozzoburg on the high market, built around 1257, is another 13th century building, as is the Dominican monastery on the

founded in 1236 with leading-gothic cloister and 1263 - 1265 completed church. Now it houses the town museum. Other late medieval buildings are the Piarist Church and the Bürgerspital.
 

City arms of Krems


Obere Landstrasse, Fussgängerzone Babsi in front of the gothic church in the Bürgerspital

 


Trinity Column

On top of the Trinity Column is the 'Holy Trinity', the centre of which is a Maria Immaculata. On the pedestal are the figures of saints: St. Vitus (patron saint of the city), St. John Nepomuk (patron against water hazards) and St. Charles Borromeo (patron saint against plague).

The monument was renovated in 2007/2008. The St. Nepomuk from Stein and the one from

were included in my


Our first Danube bicycle tour went from Krems to

the capital of Lower Austria, the other bike tours went on to Vienna.


Fahrradsymbol Fahrradsymbol

Danube cycle route

× Home Reisen Jakobswege
Donauradwandern
Donauradweg Übersicht Donaueschingen Passau
Melk - Wien
Melk Wachau   Burgruine Aggstein   Kloster Schönbühel Dürnstein Krems Krems - Körnermarkt   Göttweig   Sankt Pölten Traismauer Ahrenberger Kellergasse Atzenbrugg Tulln Greifenstein Klosterneuburg Einfahrt Wien Wien
☰            

Mit dem Rad führt man sehr schön durch die Steiner Landstrasse an vielen alten Häusern vorbei und sogar an der Strafvollzugsanstalt Stein. Auf der anderen Donauseite grüsst das Stift

Am Rathausplatz in Stein steht eine Johannes Nepomuk Säule.

So sah Egon Schiele Stein mit dem Rathausplatz vom anderen Donauufer:


Durch das Steiner Tor kommt man in die Altstadt von Krems Das Tor ist das Wahrzeichen von Krems und das einzig erhaltene der vier ehemaligen Stadttore. Der Hauptturm aus dem späten 15. Jahrhundert trägt an der Aussenseite eine Reihe von Inschriften, darunter in Erinnerung an Friedrich III. den Wahlspruch AEIOU (Alles Erdreich ist Österreich untertan). Drei Wappen aus 1756 zieren die Stadteinfahrt, links jenes durch Kaiser Friedrich III. verliehene und bis heute gültige, das den gekrönten Doppeladler auf schwarzem Grund zeigt, rechts das Wappen von Ladislaus Posthumus, in der Mitte das Wappen Maria Theresias.

Hinter dem Tor beginnt die Fussgängerzone ist. Ab hier heisst es: Rad schieben.

obere Landstrasse, Einkaufstrasse und Fussgängerzone

Das urkundlich 995 erstmals genannte Krems wurde 1130 Stadt, erhielt eine Münzstätte und wurde mehrmals erweitert und befestigt. Davon sind Reste, wie das im Kern gotische Steinertor erhalten. Die um 1257 erbaute Gozzoburg auf dem hohen Markt ist ein weiteres Bauwerk des 13. Jahrhunderts, ebenso das 1236 gegründete Dominikanerkloster am

mit fühgotischem Kreuzgang und 1263 - 1265 vollendeter Kirche. Jetzt beherbergt es das Stadtmuseum. Andere spätmittelalterliche Bauten sind die Piaristenkirche und das Bürgerspital.

Stadtwappen Krems


Obere Landstrasse, Fussgängerzone Babsi vor der gotischen Kirche im Bürgerspital

 


Dreifaltigkeitssäule

Oben auf der Dreifaltigkeitssäule thront die 'Heiligste Dreifaltigkeit', den Mittelpunkt bildet eine Maria Immaculata. Auf dem Sockel stehen die Figuren von Heiligen: der hl. Veit (Stadtpatron), der hl. Johannes Nepomuk (Patron gegen Wassergefahr) und der hl. Karl Borromäus (Pestpatron).

Das Denkmal ist in den Jahren 2007/2008 renoviert worden. Der hl. Nepomuk, der in Stein und der vom

wurden aufgenommen in meine


Unsere erste Donauradwanderung ging von Krems nach

der Hauptstadt Niederösterreichs, die anderen Radtouren gingen weiter nach Wien.


Fahrradsymbol

Donauradweg