× Home Journeys   Countries and cities Ways of St James
Danube cycling
Danube cycling overview Donaueschingen
Passau - Vienna
Passau Engelszell Schlögener Schlinge Aschach Wilhering Linz Sankt Florian Enns Sankt Pantaleon Wallsee-Mitterkirchen Baumgartenberg Burg Clam Grein Strudengau Persenbeug Ybbs Ybbs - Pöchlarn Pöchlarn Melk Wachau   Castle Ruin Aggstein   Schönbühel Monastery Dürnstein   Stift Dürnstein Krems Traismauer Ahrenberger Kellergasse Atzenbrugg Tulln Greifenstein Klosterneuburg Entrance Vienna Vienna
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

During the 11th century the Kuenringers came to Austria from the Bavarian-Saxon area. Asso von Kuenring acquired the area around today's Dürnstein, his grandson Hadmar I. built a first castle on the rock above the Danube, of which only ruins remain today. In 1192/93 the English King Richard I. Lionheart was imprisoned in the castle of the Kuenringers by order of the Babenberger Leopold V. A share of Richard's ransom money, which went to the Kuenringers, enabled the castle and town of Dürnstein to be expanded and flourished in the 13th and 14th centuries.

The Dürnstein monastery was settled by Augustinian canons in 1410. In the course of the 15th century they extended Dürnstein to a Gothic monastery complex. 300 years after the foundation of the monastery, Hieronymus Übelbacher was elected provost. The building was in poor condition, so he decided to baroque it.

Dürnstein, Turm der Stiftskirche

Most striking is the blue and white tower of the collegiate church, which has been restored to its original colouring. With its striking colours and the noble material that makes it look ceramic, it stands as an architectural signal in the landscape.

1 / 6
Dürnstein
Dürnstein
2 / 6
Dürnstein
Dürnstein
3 / 6
4 / 6
unteres Stadttor
Lower city gate
5 / 6
kleiner Nepomuk
small Nepomuk
6 / 6

Through the narrow main 'street' of Dürnstein you are only allowed to push the bike.


city wall of Dürnstein

The town wall of Dürnstein is preserved. The alley in front of it is funny called "Anzuggasse" (pull on alley). It leads from the bank of the Danube up to the town and here the horses had to pull on.


Kunigundenkapelle

The Kunigundenkirche is the oldest church in Dürnstein, was formerly a parish church and consecrated to St. Kunigunde - wife of Emperor Heinrich II. The church was built around 1200 and demolished in 1783. Only the tower and the sacristy remained.


Alkane

View of the Danube from the balcony of the monastery Dürnstein


bicycle symbol bicycle symbol

Danube cycle route

× Home Reisen Jakobswege
Donauradwandern
Donauradweg Übersicht Donaueschingen
Passau - Wien
Passau Engelszell Schlögener Schlinge Aschach Wilhering Linz Sankt Florian Enns Sankt Pantaleon Wallsee-Mitterkirchen Baumgartenberg Burg Clam Grein Strudengau Persenbeug Ybbs MariaTaferl Pöchlarn Melk Wachau   Burgruine Aggstein   Kloster Schönbühel Dürnstein   Stift Dürnstein Krems Traismauer Ahrenberger Kellergasse Atzenbrugg Tulln Greifenstein Klosterneuburg Einfahrt Wien Wien
☰            

Während des 11. Jahrhunderts kamen die Kuenringer aus dem bayrisch-sächsischen Raum nach Österreich. Asso von Kuenring erwarb das Gebiet um das heutige Dürnstein, sein Enkel Hadmar I. baute eine erste Burg auf dem über der Donau gelegenen Felsen, von der heute nur noch Ruinen übrig sind. 1192/93 wurde der englische König Richard I. Löwenherz im Auftrag des Babenbergers Leopold V. auf der Burg der Kuenringer gefangen gehalten. Ein Anteil aus dem Lösegeld Richards, der den Kuenringern zufiel, ermöglichte im 13. und 14. Jahrhundert Ausbau und Aufschwung von Burg und Ort Dürnstein.

Das Kloster Dürnstein wurde 1410 von Augustiner-Chorherren besiedelt. Im Laufe des 15. Jahrhunderts bauten sie Dürnstein zu einer gotischen Klosteranlage aus. 300 Jahre nach der Gründung des Klosters wurde Hieronymus Übelbacher zum Probst gewählt. Das Gebäude war in schlechtem Zustand, und so beschloss er, es zu barockisieren.

Am auffälligsten ist der blau-weiße Turm der Stiftskirche, der in seiner ursprünglichen Farbgebung wiederhergestellt wurde. Durch die markanten Farben und das edle Material, das ihn keramisch wirken lässt, steht er als Architektursignal in der Landschaft.

1 / 6
Dürnstein
2 / 6
Dürnstein
3 / 6
4 / 6
Unteres Stadttor
5 / 6
kleiner Nepomuk
6 / 6

Durch die enge Haupt-'Strasse' von Dürnstein darf man das Fahrrad nur schieben.


Die Stadtmauer von Dürnstein ist erhalten. Die Gasse davor heisst witzigerweise "Anzuggasse". Sie führt vom Donauufer hinauf in die Stadt und hier mussten die Pferde anziehen.


Die Kunigundenkirche ist die älteste Kirche in Dürnstein, war ehemals Pfarrkirche und der Hl. Kunigunde - Gattin Kaiser Heinrich II. - geweiht. Die Kirche wurde um 1200 erbaut und 1783 abgerissen. Nur der Turm und die Sakristei blieben erhalten.


Blick von Donaubalkon des Stifts Dürnstein auf die Donau


Fahrradsymbol

Donauradweg