× Home Journeys Ways of St. Jacques
Mariahilf picture
The Mariahilf picture collection of Mariahilf pictures Mariahilf church in Vienna
Danube cycling
Danube cycling overview Donaueschingen Ulm Vilshofen
Passau - Melk
Passau Engelszell Schlögener Schlinge Aschach Wilhering Linz Sankt Florian Enns Sankt Pantaleon Wallsee-Mitterkirchen Baumgartenberg Burg Clam Grein Strudengau Persenbeug Ybbs Ybbs - Pöchlarn Pöchlarn Melk
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

The church Mariahilf stands on the Mariahilfberg above the city of Passau.

Mariahilf Kirche
×
Mariahilf Kirche 770Pixel

The sanctuary was built between 1624 and 1627 by Francesco Garbanino. The striking spire helmets were not put on until 1665. The Pauline monastery adjoins the church.

In 1611 the reigning Archbishop of Passau, Prince-Bishop Archduke Leopold V of Austria, the brother of the pious Catholic Emperor Ferdinand II, was on a diplomatic mission in Dresden. The Protestant Elector offered the state visit to choose a guest gift from his picture gallery. Although there were far more valuable paintings, Archduke Leopold V immediately decided on the "Mary and Child" painting and brought it to his residence. The picture of Our Lady with the Child tenderly embracing her was created by Lucas Cranach the Elder around 1537.

The picture found the affection of the Passau cathedral dean Marquard Freiherr von Schwendi. He therefore had an enlarged copy (130 cm) made and hung it in a wooden chapel in his garden at the foot of today's Mariahilfberg. After a series of visions of the Virgin Mary, he decided in 1622 to move the chapel with the picture up the mountain and open it to all the faithful. Because of the extremely large number of prayers and pilgrims he had to start building a church as early as 1624 (until 1627). Its master builder was the Passau master Francesco Garbanino, apparently from the circle of Ticino artists who brought Baroque art to Bavaria at that time. This new church soon became a popular pilgrimage destination. From 1631 the church and the directly adjacent hospice were looked after by the Capuchins of the Passau monastery. They made Mariahilf a pilgrimage centre for Central and South-Eastern Europe, especially after the successful liberation of Vienna from the Turks in 1683 under the invocation of Mary.

However, Archduke Leopold took the original Cranach painting with him to Innsbruck, where it is still venerated in Innsbruck Cathedral today.

The expression "Mariahilf" is an essential part of the veneration of the Mother of God, which was particularly flourishing in the Baroque period. Hundreds of other Mariahilf pilgrimage churches were established, such as Amberg/Upper Palatinate, Innsbruck, Vienna and Munich.

The Mariahilf church

  • Interior viewThe saint on the right wall is John Nepomuk
  • The altar with the Mariahilfbild

The Passau Mariahilfbild

Gnadenbild Mariahilf Passau
×
Mariahilf Kirche 770Pixel

Thoughts on the Mariahilf painting by Lucas Cranach

The pilgrimage stairs

from the year 1628 is roofed over and comprises 321 steps.


1 / 3
Stiege0
pilgrimage stairs
2 / 3
Stiege1
all over Votive pictures
3 / 3
Stiege2
mostly Mariahilf pictures

bike symbol bike symbol

Danube cycle route

× Home Reisen Jakobswege
Donauradwandern
Donauradweg Übersicht Donaueschingen Ulm Vilshofen
Passau - Melk
Passau Engelszell Schlögener Schlinge Aschach Wilhering Linz Sankt Florian Enns Sankt Pantaleon Wallsee-Mitterkirchen Baumgartenberg Burg Clam Grein Strudengau Persenbeug Ybbs Ybbs - Pöchlarn Pöchlarn Melk
  ☰ Auswahl

Auf dem Mariahilfberg über der Stadt Passau steht die Kirche Mariahilf.

Mariahilf Kirche
×
Mariahilf Kirche 770Pixel

Die Wallfahrtskirche wurde 1624 - 1627 von Francesco Garbanino erbaut. Die auffällig­en Turmhelme wurden erst 1665 aufge­setzt. An die Kirche schliesst das Paulinerkloster an.

Im Jahre 1611 war der regierende Erzbischof von Passau, Fürstbischof Erzherzog Leopold V. von Öster­reich, der Bruder des fromm-katholischen Kaiser Ferdi­nand II., in diplo­matischer Mission in Dresden. Der prote­stant­ische Kurfürst bot dem Staatsbesuch an, sich aus seiner Gemäldegalerie ein Gastgeschenk auszu­wählen. Obwohl es weit wertvollere Bilder gab, entschied sich Erzherzog Leopold V., sofort für das "Maria und Kind"- Bild und brachte es in seine Residenz­stadt. Das Bild der Gottesmutter mit dem sie zärtlich umarmenden Kind war von Lucas Cranach d. Ä. um 1537 geschaffen worden.

Das Bild fand die Zuneigung des Passauer Domdekans Marquard Freiherrn von Schwendi. Er liess sich daher eine ver­größerte Kopie (130 cm) fertigen und hängte sie in einer Holzkapelle in seinem Garten am Fuße des heutigen Mariahilf­berges auf. Nach einer Reihe von Marienvisionen entschloss er sich 1622, die Kapelle mit dem Bild auf den Berg hinauf zu verlegen und diese für alle Gläubigen zu öffnen. Wegen des überaus großen Andrangs der Beter und Wall­fahrer musste er schon 1624 daran gehen, eine Kirche zu bauen (bis 1627). Ihr Baumeister war der Passauer Meister Fran­cesco Garbanino, offenbar aus dem Kreis der Tessiner Kün­stler, die damals die Barockkunst nach Bayern brach­ten. Schnell wurde diese neue Kirche ein beliebtes Wallfahrtsziel. Ab 1631 wurde die Kirche und das unmittelbar benach­barte Hospiz von den Kapuzinern des Passauer Klosters betreut. Sie machten Mariahilf zu einem Wallfahrtszentrum für Mittel- und Südost­europa, besonders nach der unter der Anrufung Mariens geglückten Befreiung Wiens von den Türken 1683.

Das Cranachsche Originalgemälde aber nahm Erzherzog Leopold nach Innsbruck mit, wo es bis heute im Innsbrucker Dom verehrt wird.

Der Ausdruck "Mariahilf" ist ein wesentlicher Teil der in der Barockzeit besonders blühenden Verehrung der Gottes­mutter. Hunderte von weiteren Mariahilf-Wallfahrtskirchen entstanden, wie z. B.  Amberg/ Oberpfalz, Innsbruck, Wien und München.

Die Mariahilfkirche

  • InnenansichtDer Heilige rechts an der Wand ist Johannes Nepomuk
  • Der Altar mit dem Mariahilfbild

Das Passauer Mariahilfbild

Gnadenbild Mariahilf Passau
×
Mariahilf Kirche 770Pixel

Gedanken zum Mariahilbild von Lucas Cranach


Die Wallfahrtsstiege

aus dem Jahre 1628 ist überdacht und umfasst 321 Stufen.


1 / 3
Wallfahrtsstiege
2 / 3
überall Votivbilder
3 / 3
meistens Mariahilfbilder

Fahrradsymbol Fahrradsymbol

Donauradweg