× Home Journeys Ways of St. Jacques Monasteries
Danube Cycling
Danube cycling overview
Donaueschingen - Passau
Donaueschingen

.....

Ulm Lauingen Dillingen Donauwörth Neuburg Ingolstadt Weltenburg Regensburg Straubing Metten monastery Deggendorf Niederaltaich Vilshofen Passau.htm Engelszell

.....

Linz Ybbs Melk Klosterneuburg
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

The once so rich and powerful monastery invites you to visit and stay. It suffered severely from the abolition in 1803 and a fire in 1813. Parts have been demolished and only recently partially added to. The monastery church St. Mauritius still dominates the surroundings like a cathedral. Its two towers rise seriously and powerfully above the Danube lowlands and herald the fame of the abbey. Even today, with its Ecumenical Institute, the Byzantine Deanery and the temporary monastery, it continues to give impulses whose influence reaches far beyond the Danube region.

Klosterkirche Niederalteich

In 731 (or 741) the Bavarian Duke Odilo founded a monastery on the Danube, which he called Altach and placed under the protection of the soldier Saint Mauritius. The Agilolfinger called monks from Reichenau to build the monastery in the marshland of the mouth of the Isar. The name Altach (meaning old water) indicates that at that time, the place was surrounded by an old arm of the Danube like an island. In Carolingian times the abbey with its clearings penetrated deep into the forests on the edge of the Bohemian basin. Salt and wine made it prosperous - salt from Reichenhall and wine from the Wachau. During the time of the Hungarian storms Altach, like all other monasteries, suffered great hardship and was transformed into a secular canonical monastery. Its restoration as a Benedictine monastery and its rise to Europe-wide renown is associated with the name of the holy abbot Gotthard (996 - 1022), who later became bishop of Hildesheim. Switzerland's mightiest Alpine pass is named after him. The abbey played an important role in the founding of important monasteries such as Kremsmünster. In the 12th century, Altach was given the name Niederaltaich to distinguish it from its nearby daughter monastery Oberalteich. A special fame of the monastery is its historiography. It has three highlights: the "Großer Altacher Jahrbücher" of the 11th century, the annals of Abbot Hermann in the 13th century and the scholarly historiography in the 18th century. Under Abbot Joscio Hamberger (1700-1739) the baroque new construction of the monastery complex began.

Secularisation inflicted lasting wounds. After a fire in 1813 several buildings were demolished. It was not until 1918 that the monks of Metten re-founded the monastery and settled there.

Sakristei

A view into the baroque sacristy is only possible with a guided tour.

The monks of the Abbey of St. Mauritius and St. Nicholas of Niederaltaich today live as one community in two traditions and celebrate monastic services in parallel according to the Roman and Byzantine rites.

Fahrradsymbol Fahrradsymbol

Danube cycle route

× Home Reisen Jakobswege Klöster
Donauradwandern
Donauradweg Übersicht
Donaueschingen - Passau
Donaueschingen die junge Donau Mühlheim Mühlheim - Beuron Beuron - Sigmaringen Sigmaringen Riedlingen Obermarchtal-Ehingen Ulm Lauingen Dillingen Donauwörth Neuburg Ingolstadt Weltenburg Regensburg Straubing Kloster Metten Deggendorf Niederaltaich Vilshofen
Passau - Melk Melk - Wien
☰            

Das einstmals so reiche und mächtige Kloster lädt zur Besichtigung und zum Verweilen ein. Es hat unter der Aufhebung 1803 und einem Brand 1813 schwer gelitten. Teile wurden abgebrochen und erst in jüngster Zeit teilweise ergänzt. Die Klosterkirche St. Mauritius allerdings beherrscht noch immer wie ein Dom die Um­gebung. Ihre beiden Türme ragen ernst und mächtig über der Donauniederung hervor und künden vom Ruhm der Abtei. Auch heute gibt sie mit ihrem Ökumenischen Institut, der Byzantinischen Dekanie und dem ,,Kloster auf Zeit“ Impulse, deren Ausstrahlung weit über den Donauraum hinaus­reichen.

Klosterkirche Niederalteich

Im Jahre 731 (oder 741) gründete der Bayernherzog Odilo an der Donau ein Kloster, das er Altach nannte und unter den Schutz des burgundischen Soldatenheiligen Mauritius stellte. Der Agilolfinger rief Mönche von der Reichenau, um im Sumpfland der Isarmündung das Kloster zu errichten. Der Name Altach (das heißt Altwasser) weist darauf hin, dass der Ort zu jener Zeit wie eine Insel von einem Altarm der Donau umflossen wurde. In karolingischer Zeit drang die Abtei mit ihren Rodungen tief in die Wälder am Rande des böhmischen Beckens vor. Salz und Wein machten sie wohlhabend — Salz aus Reichenhall und Wein aus der Wachau. In der Zeit der Ungarnstürme litt Altach wie alle anderen Klöster große Not und wurde in ein weltliches Kanonikerstift verwandelt. Die Wiederherstellung als Benediktiner­kloster und der Aufstieg zu europaweitem Ansehen verbindet sich mit dem Namen des heiligen Abtes Gotthard (996 - 1022), der später Bischof von Hildesheim wurde. Der mächtigste Alpenpass der Schweiz ist nach ihm benannt. Die Abtei spielte eine wichtige Rolle bei der Gründung bedeutender Klöster wie z.B. Krems­münster. Im 12. Jahrhundert bürgerte sich für Altach der Name Niederaltaich ein zur besseren Unter­scheidung des nahe gelegenen Tochterklosters Oberalt­eich. Ein besonderer Ruhm des Klosters ist die Geschichtsschreibung. Sie hat drei Höhepunkte zu verzeichnen: die ,,Größeren Altacher Jahrbücher" des 11. Jahrhunderts, die Annalen des Abtes Hermann im 13. Jahrhundert und die gelehrte Historiographie im 18. Jahrhundert. Unter Abt Joscio Hamberger (1700—1739) begann der barocke Neubau der Klosteranlage.

Die Säkularisation schlug bleibende Wunden. Nach einem Brand 1813 wurden mehrer Bauten abge­rissen. Erst 1918 vollzog sich die Neugründung und Besiedelung durch Mettener Mönche.

Ein Blick in die barocke Sakristei ist nur mit einer Führung möglich.

Fahrradsymbol

Donauradweg