× Home Journeys Ways of St. Jacques
Danube Cycling
Danube cycling overview
Donaueschingen - Passau
Donaueschingen the young Danube Mühlheim Mühlheim - Beuron Beuron - Sigmaringen Sigmaringen Riedlingen Obermarchtal-Ehingen Ulm Lauingen Dillingen Donauwörth Neuburg Ingolstadt Weltenburg Regensburg Straubing Metten Monastery Deggendorf Niederaltaich Vilshofen
Passau - Melk Melk - Vienna
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

The Danube cycle path leads past the edge of Deggendorf. It would be a pity not to go to the centre of the village.

The town has been built at a geographically important place. Here there was a natural Danube crossing, which continued the road along the Isar to the north. For the ruling families in Bavaria this was always a reason to be present here. With the extinction of the Babenbergs and the Counts of Bogen (1242), the Wittelsbachs took possession of the former county of Deggendorf. The town was reorganized and planned. Deggendorf was promoted with privileges and privileges until it was granted a town charter in 1316 and 1320. Thus Deggendorf had become a centre of attraction for market and trade for the surrounding area. Around 1330 the Jewish community of Deggendorf was destroyed in a pogrom. The Jews were accused of desecration of hosts. But it was rather about getting rid of heavy debts. The 'desecrated' hosts were found in a well and put into the church. This was the reason for the pilgrimage to the burial church, the so-called "Deggendorf Grace", which took place until 1992.

Deggendorf

The Thirty Years' War resulted in heavy population losses. Two thirds of the inhabitants died of the plague in 1633/34. During the War of the Spanish and Austrian Succession parts of the city were set on fire and destroyed. Although these events left their mark for decades, Deggendorf quickly re-established itself as a functioning town with the help of the resources of the surrounding area. A baroque sign of this resulting urban self-confidence was set with the construction of the Burbkirchenturm in 1722, which art historians describe as one of the most beautiful towers in Bavaria and which gives the town square its unmistakable character.

Deggendorf im Mittelalter

In the 19th century the more than 500 year old town centre was changed. Today, only the layout of the town is still visible, and a 27-metre-long section of the town wall has been preserved.

Altes Rathaus am Stadtplatz (Luitpoldplatz)
Old town hall on the town square (Luitpoldplatz)

Marienbrunnen in Deggendorf
Fountain of Mary (Marienbrunnen) in Deggendorf

 bike symbol bike symbol

Danube Cycle Route

× Home Reisen Jakobswege
Donauradwandern
Donauradweg Übersicht
Donaueschingen - Passau
Donaueschingen die junge Donau Mühlheim Mühlheim - Beuron Beuron - Sigmaringen Sigmaringen Riedlingen Obermarchtal-Ehingen Ulm Lauingen Dillingen Donauwörth Neuburg Ingolstadt Weltenburg Regensburg Straubing Kloster Metten Deggendorf Niederaltaich Vilshofen
Passau - Melk Melk - Wien
☰            

Deggendorf ist an einem geografisch wichtigen Ort errichtet worden. Hier war ein natürlicher Donau­übergang vorhanden, der die Straße entlang der Isar nach Norden fortsetzte. Für die in Bayern herrschen­den Geschlechter war dies immer ein Grund, hier präsent zu sein. Mit dem Aussterben der Babenberger und der Grafen von Bogen (1242), setzten sich die Wittelsbacher in den Besitz der ehemaligen Grafschaft Deggendorf. Die Stadt wurde neu geordnet und geplant angelegt. Mit Privilegien und Vergünstigungen wurde Deggendorf gefördert, bis es 1316 und 1320 mit dem Stadtrecht ausgestattet wurde. Damit war Deggendorf für das Umland zu einem Anziehungs­punkt für Markt und Handel geworden. Um 1330 wurde im Verlauf eines Pogroms die jüdische Gemeinde Deggendorfs vernichtet. Den Juden wurde Hostien­schändung vorgeworfen. Es ging aber eher darum drückende Schulden loszuwerden. Die 'geschändeten' Hostien wurden in einem Brunnen gefunden und in der Kirche ausgesetzt. Das begründete die bis 1992 stattfindende Wallfahrt zur Grabkirche, die so genannte „Deggendorfer Gnad'“.

Deggendorf

Im Dreißigjährigen Krieg waren schwere Bevölkerung­sverluste zu beklagen. Zwei Drittel der Einwohner starben 1633/34 an der Pest. Während des Spanischen und des Österreichischen Erbfolgekriegs wurden Teile der Stadt in Brand gelegt und zerstört. Obwohl diese Ereignisse Jahrzehnte lang ihre Spuren hinterließen, erstand Deggendorf als funktionierende Stadt mit Hilfe der Ressourcen des Umlandes schnell wieder. Ein barockes Zeichen dieses daraus erwachsenen städtischen Selbstbewusstseins wurde mit dem Bau des Grabkirchenturmes 1722 gesetzt, der von Kunsthistorikern als einer der schönsten Türme in Bayern be­schrieben wird und dem Stadtplatz seinen unverwechselbaren Charakter gibt.

Deggendorf im Mittelalter

Im 19. Jahrhundert wurde der über 500 Jahre alte Stadtkern verändert. Heute ist nur noch die Anlage der Stadt erkennbar, und ein 27 m langes Stück der Stadtmauer ist erhalten geblieben.

Altes Rathaus am Stadtplatz (Luitpoldplatz)

Marienbrunnen in Deggendorf

Fahrradsymbol

Donauradweg