× Home Journeys Ways of St. Jacques Monasteries
Danube cycling
Danube cycling overview
Donaueschingen - Passau
Donaueschingen the young danube Mühlheim Mühlheim - Beuron Beuron - Sigmaringen Sigmaringen Riedlingen Obermarchtal-Ehingen Ulm Lauingen Dillingen Donauwörth Neuburg Ingolstadt Weltenburg Regensburg Straubing Metten monastery Deggendorf Niederaltaich Vilshofen
Passau - Melk Melk - Vienna
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

Benedictine abbey St. Michael in Metten

A few kilometres before Deggendorf, soon after passing under the A3 motorway, a cycle path leads to Metten. The approx. 1 km long detour to the north pays off.
In Metten, after Weltenburg, we encounter another original Bavarian monastery. Its foundation goes back to the 8th century. The monastery was probably settled by the Reichenau. In 792 Charles the Great granted it royal protection and immunity. The task of the monastery was the clearing and colonization in the Bavarian Forest and the Ostmark. Due to the Hungarian invasions and the secularisation of Duke Arnulf in the 10th century the monastery ceased to exist and was replaced by a secular canonical monastery.

Kloster Metten

In 962 Metten came to the Babenbergs, who turned the monastery into a canon monastery. The second founder of the monastery Metten is considered to be the Babenberg duke Jasomirgott. In 1157 he called Benedictine monks to Metten to renew the monastic life.

In 1236 the entire complex was destroyed by fire. The rebuilt church was consecrated in 1264. After the death of the last Babenberger (1246), the monastery was placed under the protection of the Wittelsbach dynasty, who ruled the duchy of Bavaria at that time. The village of Metten now became a Hofmark, where the abbot of the monastery exercised the lower jurisdiction.

After the crisis period of the 30-year war Metten was redesigned in baroque style (church, library, festival hall), especially by Abbot Roman Märkl (1706-29). Today the library presents itself in all its baroque splendor.

library library

The baroque church is particularly characterized by the sculptural stucco decorations and the unusual ceiling frescoes of the main room and the presbytery fresco, which fills most of the ceiling. The high age is the work of the Straubinger Jakob Schöpf, the age picture was painted by Cosmas Damian Asam. On 16 July 1720 Abbot Roman laid the foundation stone for the reconstruction of the nave. The stucco work was done by Franz Josef Holzinger.

St. Michael in Metten

With the secularization in 1803 the monastery was abolished.

In 1830 King Ludwig I rebuilt Metten as the first Benedictine abbey in Bavaria and entrusted the monastery with pastoral care, education and science. At the request of King Ludwig I, the monks of Metten opened a Latin school, which developed into a grammar school and the great task of the monastery, and which is known today beyond the German-speaking world.

bike symbol  bike symbol

Donube cycle route

× Home Reisen Jakobswege Klöster
Donauradwandern
Donauradweg Übersicht
Donaueschingen - Passau
Donaueschingen die junge Donau Mühlheim Mühlheim - Beuron Beuron - Sigmaringen Sigmaringen Riedlingen Obermarchtal-Ehingen Ulm Lauingen Dillingen Donauwörth Neuburg Ingolstadt Weltenburg Regensburg Straubing Kloster Metten Deggendorf Niederaltaich Vilshofen
Passau - Melk Melk - Wien
☰            

Benediktinerabtei St. Michael in Metten

Wenige Kilometer vor Deggendorf, bald nach der Unterquerung der Autobahn A3 führt ein Radweg nach Metten. Der ca. 1 km lange Abstecher nach Norden zahlt sich aus.

In Metten begegnen wir nach Weltenburg einem weiteren bayrischen Urkloster. Seine Gründung reicht ins 8. Jh. zurück. Das Kloster wurde wahrscheinlich von der Reichenau besiedelt. 792 verlieh ihm Karl der Große Königsschutz und Immunität. Aufgabe des Klosters war Rodung und Kolonisation im Bayerischen Wald und in der Ostmark. Durch die Ungarneinfälle und die Säkularisation Herzog Arnulfs im 10. Jh. erlosch das Kloster und wurde durch ein weltliches Kanonikerstift ersetzt.

Kloster Metten

Im Jahre 962 kam Metten an die Babenberger, die das Mönchskloster in ein Chorherrenstift ver­wandelten. Als zweiter Gründer des Klosters Metten gilt der Babenberger Herzog Jasomirgott. 1157 berief er Benediktiner Mönche nach Metten, um das klösterliche Leben zu erneuern.

1236 wurde die gesamte Anlage durch Brand zerstört. Die wiederaufgebaute Kirche wurde 1264 geweiht. Nach dem Tod des letzten Babenbergers (1246) unterstellte sich das Kloster dem Schutz der Wittelsbacher, die damals das Herzogtum Bayern regierten. Der Ort Metten wurde nun eine Hofmark, in der der Abt des Klosters die niedere Gerichtsbarkeit ausübte.

Nach der Krisenzeit des 30-jährigen Krieges wurde Metten besonders durch Abt Roman Märkl (1706-29) barock umgestaltet (Kirche, Bibliothek, Festsaal). Die Bibliothek präsentiert sich heute in ihrer ganzen barocken Pracht.

Bibliothek

Die Barockkirche zeichnet sich besonders aus durch die plastischen Stuckdekorationen und die ausgefallen­en Deckenfresken des Hauptraumes und das Presbyteriumsfresko, das den Großteil der Decke ausfüllt. Der Hochalter ist ein Werk des Straubingers Jakob Schöpf, das Alterbild malte Cosmas Damian Asam. Am 16. Juli 1720 legte Abt Roman den Grundstein zum Umbau des Lang­hauses. Die Stuckarbeiten übernahm Franz Josef Holzinger.

St. Michael in Metten

Mit der Säkularisation im Jahre 1803 wurde das Kloster aufgehoben.

1830 errichtete König Ludwig I. Metten wieder als erste Benediktinerabtei in Bayern und betraute das Kloster mit Seelsorge, Erziehung und Wissenschaft. Auf Wunsch König Ludwigs I. er­öffneten die Mettener Mönche eine Lateinschule, die sich zum Gymnasium und zur grossen Aufgabe das Klosters entwickelte und heute über den deutschen Sprachraum hinaus bekannt ist.

Fahrradsymbol

Donauradweg