× Home Journeys Ways of St. James
Danube cycling
Danube cycling overview
Donaueschingen - Passau
Donaueschingen the Young Danube Mühlheim Mühlheim - Beuron Beuron - Sigmaringen Sigmaringen Riedlingen Obermarchtal-Ehingen Ulm Lauingen Dillingen Donauwörth Neuburg Ingolstadt Weltenburg Regensburg   Schottenkirche St. Jakob   St. Ulrich Straubing Kloster Metten Deggendorf Niederaltaich Vilshofen
Passau - Melk Melk - Vienna
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

Straubing

can look back on a long history, Celts and Romans already settled here. The Roman fort "Sorviodurum" bears witness to this. Finds are exhibited in the Gaeubodenmuseum. Today the medieval town complex presents itself with magnificent patrician houses and Gothic contemporary witnesses.

Straubing Marktplatz mit Turm

City square with Trinity Column and City Tower


Straubing Rathaus

The city tower rises from the green house on the city square (which is called Theresienplatz here).

On a plaque it says: City tower built 1316 to about 1400th Madonna (1675).

The town hall is on the right side of the house with the (new) gothic gables.


Straubing Barockhäuser

This is how the beautifully dressed up city presents itself in its baroque splendour. The medieval houses were destroyed in the great fire of 1780. But there are still enough witnesses of the past, as Straubing was once the proud capital of the Wittelsbach duchy "Straubing-Holland" 1353 - 1425.  see Wikipedia


Jakobsbasilika

I was very impressed by the St. Jacob Basilica. Unfortunately, the gothic splendid building suffered badly during the city fire and therefore it has baroque elements today, such as the onion tower and classicistic elements. The interior of the church is worth seeing. The Gothic windows are largely preserved. One of them (Moses window) was designed by Albrecht Dürer. The altar was designed by Michael Wohlgemut in 1486. He was the teacher of Albrecht Dürer. After many baroque and classicistic alterations, it presents itself today in a gothic form with the original shrine and figures. In the side chapels you will find various works of art such as a painting by Hans Holbein.


Straubing Jakobsbasilika Altar

Neo-gothic altar with real gothic core

Moses Fenster

Moses Window


Hans Holbein d. Ältere: Madonna mit Kind

Madonna mit Kind v. Hans Holbein d. Ä.

In a side chapel on the left side I noticed this picture.

Holbein's Madonna was painted in 1502, and a certain similarity to the famous Mariahilf painting by Lukas Cranach (1537) cannot be denied.

Was Lukas Cranach inspired here?


The end of my stay in Straubing was a visit to the Romanesque

St. Peter's Church

Around 1180 the Augsburg Cathedral Chapter built a three-nave pillar basilica in the old settlement centre of Straubing, which stands on the remains of a Roman fort and Carolingian-Ottoman church buildings. St. Peter's has two valuable Romanesque tympanums, contains a Romanesque Christ (around 1200) and a moving Pietá (around 1340).

The walled cemetery with tombs from the 14th to the 19th century is one of the most important and beautiful cemetery complexes in the German-speaking world.

1 / 3
Straubing Peterskirche
Straubing St. Peter
2 / 3
Towers
south and north tower are romanesque up to the upper floor
3 / 3
Towers
St Peter Tor

The more simple portal is only single stepped. In the tympanum relief a basilisk fights against a lion. The basilisk with its poisonous breath was considered a snake monster, the lion was the symbol of power.


romanisches Tor
×
Tor

The double-stepped west portal with columns is elaborately decorated with fine ornamentation. In the tympanum field there is a relief group depicting the fight of a knight against a man-eating dragon.


Finger For a larger view of the tympanum click on the picture above!


In the area of the Peterskirche there is the famous Totentanzkapelle and the Agnes Bernauer Kapelle with its gravestone.

Famous names that belong to Straubing:

Agnes Bernauer

Agnes Bernauer

She was the mistress and perhaps the first wife of the Bavarian Duke Albrecht III. Because of this improper relationship Albrecht came into conflict with his father Ernst, who had Agnes Bernauer drowned as a witch in 1435 near Straubing in the Danube.

Every four years the Agnes Bernauer Festival takes place in Straubing, where the story is staged by amateur actors.

Agnes Bernauer Torte

At Kaffee Krönner in Straubing there is an Agnes Bernauer Torte.


Fraunhofer

Joseph von Fraunhofer

(* 6 March 1787 in Straubing; † 7 June 1826 in Munich) was an optician and physicist. He founded the scientific telescope construction at the beginning of the 19th century. One type of lens, the Fraunhofer lens, was named after him.
Thanks to his innovative way of thinking, Joseph von Fraunhofer became the role model and namesake of today's Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, which in turn became famous for the MP3 format for digital music recording.


bike symbol  bike symbol

Danube cycle route

Romanik Logo

× Home Reisen Jakobswege
Donauradwandern
Donauradweg Übersicht
Donaueschingen - Pasau
Donaueschingen die junge Donau Mühlheim Mühlheim - Beuron Beuron - Sigmaringen Sigmaringen Riedlingen Obermarchtal-Ehingen Ulm Lauingen Dillingen Donauwörth Neuburg Ingolstadt Weltenburg Regensburg   Schottenkirche St. Jakob   St. Ulrich Straubing Kloster Metten Deggendorf Niederaltaich Vilshofen
Passau - Melk Melk - Wien
☰            

Straubing kann auf eine lange Geschichte zurückblicken, Kelten und Römer siedelten schon hier. Das Römerkastell "Sorviodurum" zeugt davon. Funde sind im Gäubodenmuseum ausgestellt. Heute präsen­tiert sich die mittelalterliche Stadtanlage mit prächtigen Patrizierhäusern und gotischen Zeitzeugen.

Straubing Marktplatz mit Turm

Stadtplatz mit Dreifaltigkeitssäule und Stadtturm


Straubing Rathaus

Aus dem grünen Haus am Stadtplatz (der hier Theresienplatz heisst) wächst der Stadtturm empor.

Auf einer Tafel steht: Stadtturm erbaut 1316 bis etwa 1400. Madonna (1675).

Rechts das Haus mit den (neu-) gotischen Giebeln ist das Rathaus.


Straubing Barockhäuser

So präsentiert sich die schön herausgeputzte Stadt in ihrer Barockpracht. Beim grossen Stadtbrand 1780 sind die mittelalterlichen Häuser zerstört worden. Es finden sich aber auch noch genügend Zeugen der früheren Vergangenheit, war doch Straubing einst stolze Hauptstadt des Wittelsbacher Herzogtums "Straubing-Holland" 1353 - 1425. siehe Wikipedia


Sehr beeindruckt hat mich die St. Jakobs Basilika. Der gotische Prachtbau hat leider beim Stadtbrand schwer gelitten und hat deshalb heute barocke Elemente, wie z.B. den Zwiebelturm und klassi­zistische Elemente. Das Innere der Kirche ist sehens­wert. Die gotischen Fenster sind grossteils erhalten. Eines davon (Moses Fenster) hat Albrecht Dürer entworfen. Der Altar wurde 1486 vom Michael Wohlgemut gestaltet. Er war der Lehr­meister von Albrecht Dürer. Nach vielen barocken und klassizistischen Umbauten, präsentiert er sich heute in einer gotischen Form mit dem Original Schrein samt Figuren. In den Seitenkapellen findet man diverse Kunstwerke wie z. B. ein Bild von Hans Holbein.


Straubing Jakobsbasilika Altar

Neugotischer Altar mit echtem gotischen Kern

Moses Fenster

Moses Fester


Hans Holbein d. Ältere: Madonna mit Kind

Madonna mit Kind v. Hans Holbein d. Ä.

In einer Seitenkapelle auf der linken Seite ist mir dieses Bild aufgefallen.

Holbeins Madonna entstand 1502. Eine gewisse Ähnlichkeit mit dem berühmten Mariahilfbild von Lukas Cranach (1537) ist nicht abzustreiten.

Hat sich Lukas Cranach hier inspirieren lassen?


Den Abschluss meines Aufenthalts in Straubing bildete ein Besuch der romanischen St. Peter Kirche.

Um 1180 errichtete das Augsburger Domkapitel im alten Siedlungskern Straubings eine dreischiffige Pfeilerbasilika, die auf Resten eines römischen Kastells und karolingisch-ottonischer Kirchbauten steht. St. Peter besitzt zwei wertvolle romanische Tympanons, birgt im Innern einen romanischen Christus (um 1200) und eine ergreifende Pietá (um 1340).

Der ummauerte Friedhof mit Grabmälern vom 14. bis zum 19. Jahrhundert gehört zu den bedeutendsten und schönsten Friedhofsanlagen im deutschen Sprachraum.

Straubing Peterskirche

Süd- und Nordturm sind bis zum Obergeschoss romanisch.

Das schlichtere Südportal ist nur einfach gestuft. Im Tympanonrelief kämpft ein Basilisk gegen einen Löwen. Der Basilisk mit seinem Gift­hauch galt als Schlangenungeheuer, der Löwe war das Sinnbild der Kraft.


romanisches Tor der Peterskirche in Straubing

Das doppelt gestufte, mit Säulen ausgesetzte Westportal ist mit feinem Dekor aufwändig gestaltet. Im Tympanonfeld befindet sich eine Reliefgruppe, die den Kampf eines Ritters gegen einen menschen­verschlingenden Drachen zeigt.

Für eine grössere Ansicht des Tympanons auf obiges Bild klicken!


Im Areal der Peterskirche befinden sich die berühmte Totentanzkapelle und die Agnes Bernauer Kapelle mit deren Grabplatte.

Berühmte Namen, die zu Straubing gehören:

Agnes Bernauer

Agnes Bernauer: Sie war die Geliebte und vielleicht auch die erste Ehefrau des bayerischen Herzogs Albrecht III. Durch diese nicht standesgemäße Verbindung geriet Albrecht in Konflikt mit seinem Vater Ernst, der Agnes Bernauer 1435 als Hexe bei Straubing in der Donau ertränken liess.

Alle vier Jahre finden in Straubing die Agnes-Bernauer-Festspiele statt, bei denen die Geschichte von Laienschauspielern in Szene gesetzt wird.

Im Kaffee Krönner in Straubing gibt es eine Agnes Bernauer Torte.


Fraunhofer

Joseph von Fraunhofer (* 6. März 1787 in Straubing; † 7. Juni 1826 in München) war Optiker und Physiker. Er begründete am Anfang des 19. Jahrhunderts den wissenschaftlichen Fernrohrbau. Ein Objektivtyp, das Fraunhofer-Objektiv, wurde nach ihm benannt.

Durch seine innovative Denkweise wurde Joseph von Fraunhofer zum Vorbild und Namensgeber der heutigen Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, die wiederum durch das MP3 Format für digitale Musikaufzeichnung berühmt wurde.


Fahrradsymbol

Donauradweg