× Home Journeys Ways of St. James
Danube cycling
Danube cycling overview
Donaueschingen - Passau
Donaueschingen The Young Danube Mühlheim Mühlheim - Beuron Beuron - Sigmaringen Sigmaringen Riedlingen Obermarchtal-Ehingen Ulm Lauingen Dillingen Donauwörth Neuburg Ingolstadt Weltenburg Regensburg Straubing Kloster Metten Deggendorf Niederaltaich Vilshofen
Passau - Melk Melk - Vienna
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

The official Danube cycle route - marked blue on the map below - does not lead into the city at all. But it would be a pity to just pass by here, even if the Reichsstrasse goes uphill. Again we are in a place steeped in history.

Under Otto the Great a bridge over the Danube was built in the course of the preparations for the battle of Lechfeld 955. This was the basis for the development of the existing settlement into a city.

Around the year 1030 Count Mangold I brought a valuable cross relic to Donauwörth as a gift from the Byzantine Emperor Romanus III from Constantinople. The precious cross relic is considered the largest in Germany and is demonstrably a particle of the holy cross found in Jerusalem by St. Empress Helena, mother of Emperor Constantine, around 320.

Kreuzpartikel

Cross particles

Count Mangold I. donated a convent for women to worship the cross particles.

In 1049 the monastery Holy Cross, which was then still integrated into Mangoldstein Castle, was consecrated by Pope Leo IX.

In 1101 the Benedictine monks from St. Blasien took over the monastery. In 1125, the church and monastery were built on the present site. In the years 1696-1698 the monastery, 1717-1720 the Holy Cross Church and 1747 the tower (Romanesque substructure) received their present form.

Kloster Heilig Kreuz in Donauwörth

Monastery Holy Cross

Altar Heilig Kreuz Kirche Donauwörth mit Kreuzpartikel

Altar with the cross particle

1178-1266 the city was directly assigned as an imperial fiefdom to the ruling Staufer family, who pledged it to the Duchy of Bavaria in 1266. The one-headed Staufer eagle remained in the city coat of arms until 1530 and was then replaced by the double-headed imperial eagle.

In 1301 the town became a Free Imperial Town and thus directly subordinated to the Emperor.

In the years 1444-1473 the parish church "Zu unserer Lieben Frau" was built in place of the St. Ulrich's Church which had become too small.

Liebfrauenkirche Donauwörth
Liebfrauenkirche

As a result of the religious turmoil in which the city had supported the Reformation, it came under imperial control in 1607 and was converted into Bavarian pledged property by Duke Maximilian of Bavaria. As a reaction to this occupation, the Protestant estates of the Reich joined together in 1608 to form the Protestant Union. In 1632 the city was conquered by Gustav II Adolf.

After the (illegal) execution of the Empire by the Bavarian Duke Maximilian, Donauwörth, as it is now called, lost not only its independence but also a good half of its inhabitants.
Shortly before the end of the Second World War, the town was severely destroyed in two senseless air raids on 11 and 19 April 1945, especially in the area of the railway station and the Reichsstraße. The reconstruction of the historical Reichsstraße begins in 1946.

Reichstrasse in Donauwörth

Reichsstrasse

Reichsstrasse in Donauwörth

Rieder Tor in Donauwörth

Rieder Tor

Karte von Donauwörth mit Radweg


Fahrradsymbol Fahrradsymbol

Danube cycle path

× Home Reisen Jakobswege
Donauradwandern
Donauradweg Übersicht
Donaueschingen - Pasau
Donaueschingen die junge Donau Mühlheim Mühlheim - Beuron Beuron - Sigmaringen Sigmaringen Riedlingen Obermarchtal-Ehingen Ulm Lauingen Dillingen Donauwörth Neuburg Ingolstadt Weltenburg Regensburg Straubing Kloster Metten Deggendorf Niederaltaich Vilshofen
Passau - Melk Melk - Wien
☰            

Die offizielle Donauradroute - auf der Karte unten blau eingezeichnet - führt gar nicht in die Stadt hinein. Es wäre aber schade, hier einfach vorbei zu fahren, auch wenn die Reichsstrasse bergauf geht. Wiederum befinden wir uns in einem geschichtsträchtigen Ort.

Unter Otto dem Grossen wurde im Zuge der Vorbereitungen zur Schlacht auf dem Lechfeld 955 eine Brücke über die Donau errichtet. Das war die Grundlage für die Entwicklung der bestehenden Siedlung zur Stadt.

Um das Jahr 1030 brachte Graf Mangold I. eine wertvolle Kreuzreliquie als Geschenk des byzantinischen Kaisers Romanus III. aus Konstantinopel nach Donauwörth. Die kostbare Kreuzreliquie gilt als die grösste Deutschlands und ist nachweislich ein Teilchen des von der hl. Kaiserin Helena, Mutter Kaiser Konstantins, um 320 in Jerusalem aufgefundenen heiligen Kreuzes.

Kreuzpartikel

Kreuzpartikel

Zur Verehrung des Kreuzpartikels stiftete Graf Mangold I. ein Frauenkloster.

Im Jahr 1049 wurde das damals noch in die Burg Mangoldstein integrierte Kloster Heilig Kreuz durch Papst Leo IX. geweiht.

Im Jahr 1101 übernahmen die Benediktinermönche aus Sankt Blasien das Kloster. 1125 wurde Kirche und Kloster an heutiger Stelle errichtet. In den Jahren 1696-1698 erhielten das Kloster, 1717-1720 die Heilig Kreuz Kirche und 1747 der Turm (romanischer Unterbau) ihre heutige Form.

Kloster Heilig Kreuz in Donauwörth
Kloster Heilig Kreuz

Altar Heilig Kreuz Kirche Donauwörth mit Kreuzpartikel
Altar mit dem Kreuzpartikel

1178-1266 wurde die Stadt als Reichslehen direkt den herrschenden Staufern zugeordnet, die sie 1266 an das Herzogtum Bayern verpfändeten. Der einköpfige Stauferadler blieb im Stadtwappen bis 1530 vertreten uns wurde dann durch den doppelköpfigen Reichsadler ersetzt.

1301 wurde die Stadt zur Freien Reichsstadt und damit direkt dem Kaiser unterstellt.

In den Jahren 1444-1473 entstand die Stadtpfarrkirche "Zu unserer Lieben Frau" an Stelle der zu klein gewordenen Sankt-Ulrichs-Kirche.

Liebfrauenkirche Donauwörth
Liebfrauenkirche

In der Folge der Religionswirren, in denen die Stadt die Reformation unterstützt hatte, kam sie 1607 unter Reichs­acht und wurde von Herzog Maximilian von Bayern in bayerischen Pfandbesitz umgewandelt. Als Reaktion auf diese Okkupation schlossen sich die protestantischen Reichsstände 1608 zur Protestantischen Union zusammen. 1632 wurde die Stadt von Gustav II. Adolf erobert.

Nach der (illegalen) Reichsexekution durch den bayrischen Herzog Maximilian verlor das zur bayerischen Landstadt degradierte Donauwörth, wie es jetzt genannt wird, nicht nur seine Eigenständigkeit, sondern auch gut die Hälfte seiner Einwohner.

Kurz vor Ende des Zweiten Weltkrieges wird die Stadt in zwei sinnlosen Luftangriffen am 11. und 19. April 1945 vor allem im Bereich des Bahnhofs und der Reichsstraße schwer zerstört. Der Wiederaufbau der historischen Reichsstraße beginnt 1946.

Reichstrasse in Donauwörth

Reichsstrasse

Reichsstrasse in Donauwörth

Rieder Tor in Donauwörth

Rieder Tor

Karte von Donauwörth mit Radweg


Fahrradsymbol

Donauradweg