× Home Journeys Ways of St. James Monasteries
Danube cycling
Danube cycling overview
Donaueschingen - Passau
Donaueschingen The Young Danube Mühlheim Mühlheim - Beuron Beuron - Sigmaringen Sigmaringen Riedlingen Obermarchtal-Ehingen Ulm Lauingen Dillingen Donauwörth Neuburg Ingolstadt Weltenburg Regensburg Straubing Kloster Metten Deggendorf Niederaltaich Vilshofen
Passau - Melk Melk - Vienna
  ☰ Menue Flagge Deutsch British flag

map

After Mühlheim an der Donau, a beautiful section of the Danube cycle path begins, for me the most beautiful. The traffic noise stops, suddenly you are alone with the Danube in the narrow valley.

in the Danube valley

Soon you cross the picturesque village of Fridingen with the Ifflinger Castle (from the 14th century)

Ifflinger castle

Shortly after Fridingen you are alone again with the Danube and silence returns. arrow to top


Then there is a small ascent to overcome and as soon as it goes downhill again, one comes to

Beuron

The legend tells that Count Gerold von Bussen, a loyal follower and standard-bearer, Charlemagne, founded the first Beuron monastery in 777. The first complex was destroyed by the Hungarians. Reconstruction took place in 1077 at the present location in the Danube valley. The first preserved document about the old Beuron monastery dates from 1097, in which Pope Urban confirms the foundation and takes it under papal protection. Beuron was one of the oldest Augustinian monasteries in Germany and belonged to the Lateranensische Augustinerkongregation. From the beginning, the monastery and church were under the protection of St. Martin of Tours and the Virgin Mary.

During the Thirty Years War the monastery was almost completely destroyed. But already in 1694 the canons commissioned Franz Beer to rebuild the east and west wings, and in 1732-1738 they had the church rebuilt by Matthäus Scharpf. In the following decades it was furnished by important artists. Secularisation also abolished Beuron Abbey and transferred it with all its possessions to the princely house of Hohenzollern-Sigmaringen.

Beuron monastery

The abandoned monastery served as a military hospital in times of war, and in peacetime a small part of the rooms were used as official residences. After sixty years, on December 6, 1862, the foundation of Prince Widow Katharina von Hohenzollern enabled a new beginning of monastic life. She bought the monastery and handed it over to the Benedictine monks.

Within a short time the number of monks had grown so much that the baroque monastery complex had to be extended.

Beuron also expanded by founding and resettlement of other monasteries in Germany and abroad.

Together with its daughter monasteries, the Archabbey formed its own association within the entire Benedictine order, the "Benedictine Confederation": the "Beuron Benedictine Congregation". The abbeys of Weingarten and Seckau Abbey in Upper Styria belong to it.

To get calm inside I recommend a visit to the vespers in the monastery church. It takes place daily at 6 pm, on Sunday at 3 pm and is sung in Latin by the monks - a very beautiful, impressive experience.

.

St. Martin, Beuron St. Martin interior view
bike symbol right bike symbol left

Danube cycle path

× Home Reisen Jakobswege Klöster
Donauradwandern
Donauradweg Übersicht
Donaueschingen - Passau
Donaueschingen die junge Donau Mühlheim Mühlheim - Beuron Beuron - Sigmaringen Sigmaringen Riedlingen Obermarchtal-Ehingen Ulm Lauingen Dillingen Donauwörth Neuburg Ingolstadt Weltenburg Regensburg Straubing Kloster Metten Deggendorf Niederaltaich Vilshofen
Passau - Melk Melk - Wien
  ☰ Auswahl

Nach Mühlheim an der Donau beginnt ein wunderschöner Abschnitt am Donauradweg, für mich der schönste. Der Verkehrslärm erlischt, plötzlich bist du mit der Donau alleine im engen Tal.

Schon bald durchquert man die malerische Ortschaft Fridingen mit dem Ifflinger Schloss (aus dem 14.Jh.)

Kurz nach Fridingen bist du wieder mit der Donau alleine und Stille kehrt ein. Pfeil


Dann ist noch eine kleine Steigung zu überwinden und sobald es wieder bergab geht, kommt man nach

Beuron

Die Sage berichtet, Graf Gerold von Bussen, ein treuer Gefolgsmann und Bannerträger, Karls des Großen, habe 777 das erste Kloster Beuron gegründet. Die erste Anlage wurde von den Ungarn zerstört. Der Wiederaufbau erfolgte 1077 am heutigen Platz im Donautal. Die erste erhaltene Urkunde über das alte Kloster Beuron stammt aus dem Jahre 1097. In ihr bestätigt Papst Urban die Gründung und nimmt es in päpstlichen Schutz. Beuron war eines der ältesten Augustiner-Chorherrenstifte Deutschlands und gehörte zur lateranensischen Augustinerkongregation. Kloster und Kirche standen von Anfang an unter dem Schutz des heiligen Martins von Tours und der Gottesmutter.

Im Dreißigjährigen Krieg wurde das Kloster fast völlig zerstört. Doch die Stiftsherren beauftragten bereits 1694 Franz Beer mit dem Wiederaufbau des Ost- und Westflügels, und in den Jahren 1732-1738 liessen sie die Kirche von Matthäus Scharpf neu bauen. Sie wird in den folgenden Jahrzehnten von bedeutenden Künstlern ausgestattet. Die Säkularisation hob auch das Stift Beuron auf und übertrug es mit allen seinen Besitzungen dem fürstlichen Hause von Hohenzollern-Sigmaringen.

Kloster Beuron

Das verlassene Kloster diente in Kriegszeiten als Militärspital, im Frieden verwendete man einen geringen Teil der Räume als Amtswohnungen. Nach sechzig Jahren, am 6. Dezember 1862, ermöglichte die Stiftung der Fürsten­Witwe Katharina von Hohenzollern den Neubeginn klösterlichen Lebens. Sie kaufte das Kloster und übergab es den Benediktiner Mönchen.

In kurzer Zeit war die Anzahl der Mönche so stark angewachsen, dass die barocke Klosteranlage erweitert werden musste.

Beuron weitete sich aber auch aus durch Gründung und Neubesiedlung anderer Klöster in Deutschland und im Aus­land.

Mit den Tochterklöstern bildet die Erzabtei innerhalb des gesamten Benediktinerordens, der "benediktinischen Konföderation", einen eigenen Verband: die "Beuroner Benediktinerkongregation". Zu ihr gehören unter Anderem die Abteien Weingarten und die Abtei Seckau in der Obersteiermark.

Zum innerlich ruhig werden empfehle ich den Besuch der Vesper in der Klosterkirche. Sie findet täglich um 18 Uhr, am Sonntag um 15 Uhr statt und wird von den Mönchen lateinisch gesungen - ein sehr schönes, eindrückliches Erlebnis.


Fahrradsymbol

Donauradweg